NAC Indigenous Theatre

Launching in 2019

April 20, 2017

A Gathering, Canada Scene and the Indspire Awards

Michelle Bardach, Children of God
Michelle Bardach, Children of God © Matt Barnes
Tiffany Ayalik, Café Daughter
Tiffany Ayalik, Café Daughter © Ed Ellis
Alanna One Spot, Making Treaty 7
Alanna One Spot, Making Treaty 7 © Bert Crowfoot
Louis Riel
Louis Riel
New Indigenous Interim Coordinator Lesley Parlane (right) was in attendance along with NAC President and CEO Peter Herrndorf, and CEO of the National Arts Centre Foundation Jane Watson.
New Indigenous Interim Coordinator Lesley Parlane (right) was in attendance along with NAC President and CEO Peter Herrndorf, and CEO of the National Arts Centre Foundation Jane Watson.

Everything blooms and grows in the spring, and things that have been at work during the dark months of winter burst open with the coming of summer. A lot to share and look forward to.

Canada Scene at the NAC is featuring a lot of Indigenous work between June 15 and 20. During this same period a conversational event, curated by Lindsay Lachance will also be happening.

A Gathering: Experiencing Indigenous Works - Developing Critical Voices

NAC Salon | Thursday, June 15, 1-6 pm & Friday, June 16, 9 am-noon

Five leading Indigenous theatre practitioners: Jill Carter, Sylvia Cloutier, Margo Kane, Muriel Miguel and Monique Mojica, will gather with other leading artists and engaged audiences to discuss and further develop discourses around Indigenous performance criticism. The gathering is curated and facilitated by Lindsay Lachance (Algonquin Anishinaabe), a P.H.D. candidate at UBC with specialization in creation processes of Indigenous dramaturgies.

We hope you will join us for this event taking place on unceded Algonquin territory at the NAC on Thursday, June 15th 2017 from 1pm-6pm, and Friday, June 16th 2017 from 9am-noon in the Salon.


Plans to announce the first Artistic Director are in place for June 2017 

The candidates have completed the penultimate phase of the process Community Engagement. Two members of selections committee traveled to the candidate's’ home communities and shared time and activities with the artists. More information to follow in May’s newsletter.


Canada Scene: June 15-July 23

The festival takes place on unceded Algonquin Territory, in Ottawa, with participation from over a 1000 artists from across Canada. It starts June 15th, 2017 and runs until til July 23rd, 2017. Make sure you mark June 15-20th when the festival focuses on Indigenous works. Here are a few upcoming events to share.

Children of God  by Corey Payette is a gorgeous, powerful musical about an Oji-Cree family whose children were taken away to a residential school in Northern Ontario. The story of Rita, a mother who was never let past the school’s gate, and her kids, Tom and Julia, who never knew she came, pushes toward redemption.

Café Daughter  by Kenneth T. Williams is set in the early 1900s, when a Saskatchewan law intended to protect the morality of white females forbade Chinese restaurant owners from hiring Caucasian women. Based on the life of Chinese-Canadian neuroscientist and Senator Lillian Eva Quan Dyck, Café Daughter maps the hierarchy of racism in Canada, asking questions that any Canadian of mixed heritage might ask: Who am I? Who are my people? Who can I lean on when times are tough? 

Making of Treaty 7: The Making Treaty 7 Cultural Society explores 140 years later, the historical significance of the events at Blackfoot Crossing in 1877. Their mission is to inspire reconciliation among all treaty peoples and to build bridges of understanding across cultures and generations. 

Louis Riel: On April 19, 2017 Interim Facilitator Sarah Garton Stanley attended: “Dialogue On Use Of Indigenous Songs In Canadian Compositions Hosted By COC”. This initiative was led by Professor Dylan Robinson who is a scholar of Stó:lō descent and who holds the Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Arts at Queen’s University, located on the traditional lands of the Haudenosaunee and Anishinabe peoples.

The opera directed by Peter Hinton with several Indigenous participants, including Billy Merasty, Jani Lauzon and Cole Alvis, plays in Ottawa during Canada Scene. 


Indspire Awards 2017

On March 24, 2017, Lesley Parlane attended this year’s Indspire Awards here at the National Arts Centre in Southam Hall.

Representing some of the highest honours the Indigenous community bestows upon its own achievers, the Indspire Awards were created in 1993, in conjunction with the United Nation’s International Decade of the World’s Indigenous Peoples. They promote self-esteem and pride for Indigenous communities and provide outstanding role models for Indigenous youth.

If you have any questions about anything at all please contact: lesley.parlane@nac-cna.ca

‹ Back to timeline
Menu

Théâtre autochtone CNA

20 avril 2017

Un rassemblement, festival Scène Canada et les Prix Indspire

Michelle Bardach, Children of God
Michelle Bardach, Children of God © Matt Barnes
Tiffany Ayalik, Café Daughter
Tiffany Ayalik, Café Daughter © Ed Ellis
Alanna One Spot, Making Treaty 7
Alanna One Spot, Making Treaty 7 © Bert Crowfoot
Louis Riel
Louis Riel
La nouvelle coordonnatrice intérimaire du Théâtre Autochtone, Lesley Parlane (droite), comptait parmi les spectateurs, de même que le président et chef de la direction du CNA, Peter Herrndorf, et la chef de la direction de la Fondation du Centre national des Arts, Jane Watson.
La nouvelle coordonnatrice intérimaire du Théâtre Autochtone, Lesley Parlane (droite), comptait parmi les spectateurs, de même que le président et chef de la direction du CNA, Peter Herrndorf, et la chef de la direction de la Fondation du Centre national des Arts, Jane Watson.

Au printemps, tout bourgeonne et pousse; les projets sur lesquels nous avons travaillé pendant les sombres mois d’hiver voient le jour avec l’arrivée de l’été – beaucoup de choses à partager et à attendre avec impatience.

Entre les 15 et 20 juin, le festival Scène Canada du CNA met en lumière beaucoup d’œuvres autochtones. Au cours de cette même période, un événement de discussion dirigé par Lindsay Lachance aura également lieu.

Rassemblement : L’expérience des œuvres autochtones – Développer un discours critique

Salon du CNA | Le jeudi 15 juin de 13 h à 18 h et le vendredi 16 juin de 9 h à 12 h

Cinq grands noms du théâtre autochtone, Jill Carter, Sylvia Cloutier, Margo Kane, Muriel Miguel et Monique Mojica, se réuniront avec d’autres artistes de premier plan et un auditoire intéressé afin de discuter et de développer davantage le discours utilisé dans le cadre des critiques de pièces autochtones. Ce rassemblement sera dirigé et animé par Lindsay Lachance (algonquine anishinaabe), candidate au doctorat avec spécialisation en processus de création de dramaturgie autochtone à la UBC.

Nous espérons que vous prendrez part à cet événement qui aura lieu sur un territoire algonquin qui n’a pas été cédé, soit au Salon du CNA, le jeudi 15 juin de 13 h à 18 h, et le vendredi 16 juin de 9 h à 12 h.


L’annonce du premier directeur artistique est prévue en juin 2017

Les candidats ont terminé l’avant-dernière phase du processus, soit l’engagement communautaire. Deux membres du comité de sélection se sont déplacés dans la communauté d’origine des candidats afin de passer du temps avec les artistes et de prendre part à des activités avec eux. Le bulletin du mois de mai présentera de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet.


Scène Canada : le 15 juin au 23 juillet

Plus de 1000 artistes des quatre coins du pays participeront au festival, qui aura lieu à Ottawa, sur un territoire algonquin qui n’a pas été cédé. Ce festival sera lancé le 15 juin 2017 et prendra fin le 23 juillet 2017. Assurez-vous d’inscrire la période du 15 au 20 juin à vos calendriers – le festival mettra alors pleins feux sur les œuvres autochtones. Voici quelques événements à venir à ne pas manquer.

Children of God est une superbe et puissante pièce musicale de Corey Payette centrée sur une famille oji-crie dont les enfants ont été placés de force dans un pensionnat autochtone du nord de l’Ontario. Le drame de Rita, une mère qui n’a jamais été autorisée à franchir la porte du pensionnat, et de ses enfants, Tom et Julia, qui n’ont jamais su qu’elle était venue leur rendre visite, se déploie jusqu’à la rédemption finale. 

Café Daughter, de Kenneth T. Williams, se déroule en Saskatchewan dans les années 50 à 70. Dre Dyck est Chinoise et Crie, fait qui efface l’héritage culturel de sa mère. S’inspirant de la vie de la sénatrice et neuroscientifique sino-canadienne Lillian Eva Quan Dyck, Café Daughter établit la hiérarchie du racisme au Canada par des questions que tout Canadien d’origine mixte pourrait se poser : Qui suis-je? Qui est mon peuple? Sur qui puis-je m’appuyer lorsque les temps sont durs?

Making of Treaty 7 La Making Treaty 7 Cultural Society explore, 140 ans plus tard, la signification historique des événements de 1877 à Blackfoot Crossing. Sa mission est d’inspirer la réconciliation entre les groupes signataires du Traité et de construire des ponts entre les cultures et les générations. 

Louis Riel : Le 19 avril 2017, Sarah Garton Stanley, facilitatrice par intérim, a participé à l’événement Dialogue On Use Of Indigenous Songs In Canadian Compositions, animé par la COC. Cette initiative a été dirigée par le professeur Dylan Robinson, un universitaire de descendance Stó:lō titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les arts autochtones de la Queen’s University, située dans les terres traditionnelles des nations haudenosaunee et anishinaabe.

L’Opéra, dirigé par Peter Hinton, présente de nombreux participants autochtones, dont Billy Merasty, Jani Lauzon et Cole Alvis; les prestations auront lieu à Ottawa pendant le festival Scène Canada. 


Prix Indspire 2017

Le 24 mars 2017, Lesley Parlane a assisté à la remise des prix Indspire qui a eu lieu ici, dans la salle Southam du Centre national des Arts.

Les prix Indspire sont l’une des plus hautes distinctions remises par la communauté autochtone à ses membres; ils ont été créés en 1993, dans le contexte de la Décennie internationale des populations autochtones des Nations Unies. Ils encouragent l’estime de soi et la fierté chez les membres des communautés autochtones, et présentent des modèles de rôle aux jeunes autochtones.

Si vous avez des questions sur quoi que ce soit, communiquez avec : lesley.parlane@nac-cna.ca

‹ Retour aux mises à jour
Menu