TOMSON HIGHWAY: KISAAGEETIN*

*(I love you/Je t’aime)

Kisaageetin, We Love You

In the mid 90’s I attended The University College of the Cariboo in Kamloops BC, now called Thompson Rivers University. During my time there I encountered Tomson Highway’s work for the first time in a Canadian literature class, indeed this was the first time I had ever encountered Indigenous Theatre, and my life has never been the same since.

I was tasked with memorizing a monologue from Dry Lips Oughta Move to Kapuskasing and to present it to my class. I had never done anything like that before so I was more than a little nervous standing up in front of my classmates and delivering a monologue. But, I did. In hindsight I went through all of the emotions and anxiety of doing a real play only in miniature. There were rehearsals and then opening night nerves, and then places. I stood in front of those terrifying English majors and MBA’s just getting their credits in and for two whole minutes I connected to Big Joey and that beautiful monologue rolled out of my mouth. Even though I was a rough tool, untrained and inexperienced, something instinctual and magical happened. All the fear solidified into action, all the memorization melted into knowing and clarity then a miracle… applause! And that was it. I was hooked. I was officially bitten by the theatre bug, and its name was Tomson.

In that first encounter with Tomson’s work I recognized my own story in his words. The experiences he was writing about I knew. I knew these characters. It was familiar even though it was so very Cree and I so Salish. It was like he was writing about my home too. With his lyrically flowing text, head butting humour and biting truth. Tomson seduced me down this path I now walk, into the dark, dangerous, delicious world of the Theatre. And for that gift I am forever grateful.

Tomson you are a marvel. You have mastered so many languages and genres, mediums and forms. You are shapeshifter, a trickster, a transformer, an artist. Your work is an illuminated path that you have cut into the wilderness for so many of us lost and looking for home, to find and to follow, and to ultimately cut our own path from, to find our own way through. You are an inspiration for us all to celebrate, and tonight we get that  chance.

I get that chance, to say Kwookstumx. Thank you, Tomson Highway. Kisaageetin. We love you.

In August 1910, the chiefs of the Secwepemc, Nlaka’pamux and the Syilx – in the language of the settlers – the Shuswap, Thompson and Okanagan Nations delivered a document to Prime Minister Wilfrid Laurier upon the occasion of his visit to Kamloops, BC. Referenced as the Laurier Memorial, the document lays out 100 years of interaction between the Interior Salish Nations and those arriving in the territory, the cultural protocols of hosting, the fundamental connection between the land and the wellbeing of the People, and the trail of broken promises alongside a request, a demand to do right by the people of the Interior Salish.

When I arrived in Kamloops in July 1999 to take up my post at Western Canada Theatre, Artistic Director David Ross, Kukpi (Chief) Manny Jules and Kukpi Ron Ignace had already been discussing the creation of a play based on the Laurier Memorial; the broken promises and the calls to action in the 90-year-old document being all too relevant in the current world. WCT and the Secwepemc Cultural Education Society, in collaboration with the City of Kamloops, jointly commissioned Tomson Highway to write the play: Ernestine Shuswap Gets Her Trout premiered on the newly renovated Sagebrush Theatre stage in January 2004. Grand National Chief Phil Fontaine, chiefs and leaders from all 17 Secwepemc Nations, leaders and chiefs from the Nlaka’pamux and Syilx Nations all attended the official opening.

Tomson, in his inimitable way, brought the words of the historical document alive through the characters of four women preparing the feast for the visiting prime minister. It was the first world premiere in which I had a hand. It was personal: I am Syilx – or Okanagan – and was the first to read the role of Annabelle Okanagan. And an afternoon of tea on the deck of my parents’ home where my dad shared his knowledge of the land and the grasses and the food sources from the earth was so beautifully, humorously and accurately captured forever in the play. It was profound. Tomson’s Trickster nature, blending the light and the dark because they are one and the same; positioning the realities of daily existence within the existential experience of daily life disappearing before our eyes; the rhythm and beauty of language, the music and harmony of voices, the joy and tragedy in the circle of life: this is the realm, the art and the wisdom of Tomson Highway. The audience on that night in January of 2004 roared with the laughter of recognition. We hope that is your experience tonight: roaring with laughter in recognition and appreciation of the art and the man. Tomson Highway: Kisaageetin

Show List

All songs and plays composed and written by Tomson Highway

1.    Taansi (from Rose) with Ensemble 
2.    White Boys Fall in Love (from Rose) with Ensemble 
3.   “Kisaageetin” Means “I Love You” (from Rose) with Ensemble 
4.   Van Scene from The Rez Sisters 
5.   Taansi, Neechimoos (Hello, Darling) (from Cree Country) with Ensemble 
6.   The Lunch (from-a-work-in-progress) with Ensemble 
7.   Monologue from Dry Lips Oughta Move to Kapuskasing 
8.   When Children Sleep (from Rose) with Ensemble 
9.   Rio in High January (from Rose) with Ensemble 
10. Theme from The Sage, The Dancer and the Fool  
11. The Flight (from Chief Salamoo Cook Comes to Town)
12. Thank You Song (from Rose) with Ensemble 

Director’s Notes

What an honor to be invited to take part in such a joyous occasion. I’m just tickled by you, Tomson Highway! 70 and full of life, with an imagination as big as your heart. It is a great pleasure to be invited into your home and into your creative world once again. I cherish our time by the shores of Sharbot Lake, in the taverns of Peterborough, to Scotland, and to the depths of Bear Lake. Chi miigwetch for your generosity and openness to play, taking us all on a glorious ride. You’re a practiced magician who can bring such a beautiful ensemble together in the blink of an eye. And what a beautiful group of people you have brought together.

Tonight, friends and family and friendly strangers will experience potent emotions that will ignite a social closeness. A medicine that is needed more than ever, reminding me of a quote by the infamous Gabrielle Roy, “Could we ever know each other in the slightest without the arts?”.

Kisaageetin, Tomson. Kwayas kita-gaagi-tee-aan ig’wa kiskaata mitooni ateek ooskaata eesi-naag’waa-g’wow.

Patti Shaughnessy


Credits

Indigenous Theatre Team
Artistic Director: Kevin Loring
Managing Director: Lori Marchand
Producer: Samantha MacDonald
Associate Producer: Sage Nokomis Wright
Indigenous Cultural Resident: Mairi Brascoupé
Education Coordinator: Kerry Corbiere
Technical Director: Spike Lyne
Communications Strategist: Danyka Ouellet
Marketing Strategist: Jenna Spagnoli
Senior Marketing Manager: Bridget Mooney
Associate Producer #ReconcileThis: Paula Chinkiwsky

Babs Aper Theatre Team
Head Carpenter: Charles Martin
Head Properties: Michel Sanscartier
Head Electrician: Eric Tessier
Assistant Electrician: Martin Racette
Head Flyman: Al Griffore
Head Sound: Doug Millar

Projectionists, Wardrobe Mistresses, Masters and Attendants are members of International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees Local 471.

NAC Indigenous Theatre is a member of the Professional Association of Canadian Theatres and engages professional Artists who are members of Canadian Actors’ Equity Association under the terms of the jointly negotiated Canadian Theatre Agreement.

Menu

TOMSON HIGHWAY: KISAAGEETIN*

*(I love you/Je t’aime)

Kisaageetin, Nous t’aimons

Au milieu des années 1990, j’ai fréquenté l’University College of the Cariboo à Kamloops, en Colombie-Britannique, aujourd’hui appelé Thompson Rivers University. C’est là que j’ai découvert l’oeuvre de Tomson Highway, dans un cours de littérature canadienne. En fait, c’était la première fois que je découvrais le théâtre autochtone, et ma vie n’a plus été la même.

On m’avait demandé de mémoriser un monologue tiré de Dry Lips Oughta Move to Kapuskasing et de le présenter à ma classe. Je n’avais jamais rien fait de tel auparavant, aussi est-ce avec la plus grande nervosité que je me suis tenu devant mes camarades de classe pour prononcer un monologue. Mais je l’ai fait. En y repensant, je me dis que j’ai alors vécu toutes les émotions et l’anxiété d’une vraie pièce de théâtre, mais en condensé. Il y a eu les répétitions, puis le trac de la première, et j’ai fini par prendre ma place. Je me suis tenu devant ces terrifiants étudiants en anglais et ces MBA qui venaient d’obtenir leurs crédits, et pendant deux minutes entières, je me suis connecté à Big Joey, et ce magnifique monologue est sorti de ma bouche. Même si j’étais un outil brut, non formé et inexpérimenté, quelque chose d’instinctif et de magique s’est produit. La peur s’est muée en action, tous les efforts de mémorisation se sont traduits en connaissance et en clarté, puis le miracle est arrivé : on m’applaudissait! Ça y était. J’étais accro. J’étais officiellement mordu par le virus du théâtre, et il s’appelait Tomson.

Lors de ce premier contact avec l’oeuvre de Tomson Highway, j’ai reconnu ma propre histoire dans ses mots. Je connaissais les expériences qu’il racontait. Je connaissais ces personnages. C’était familier, même si c’était très cri et moi très salish. C’était comme s’il parlait aussi de chez moi. Avec sa plume fluide et lyrique, son humour décapant et sa franchise mordante, il m’a entraîné sur ce chemin que je parcours maintenant, dans le monde obscur, périlleux et exquis du théâtre. Et pour ce don, je lui serai toujours reconnaissant.

Tomson, tu es une merveille. Tu as maîtrisé tant de langues et de genres, de moyens et de formes d’expression. Tu es un métamorphe, un illusionniste, un convertisseur, un artiste. Ton oeuvre est un sentier éclairé que tu as tracé à travers la jungle pour tant d’entre nous, perdus et à la recherche d’un foyer, pour que nous le croisions et l’empruntions, et que nous puissions finalement frayer notre propre chemin et trouver une voie qui nous appartienne. Tu es une source d’inspiration qui mérite d’être largement célébrée, et ce soir, nous en avons l’occasion.

J’ai la chance de pouvoir dire Kwookstumx. Merci, Tomson Highway. Kisaagetin. Nous t’aimons.

En août 1910, les chefs des nations Secwepemc, Nlaka’pamux et Syilx – couramment appelées, dans la langue des colons, les nations Shuswap, Thompson et Okanagan – ont remis un document au premier ministre Wilfrid Laurier à l’occasion de sa visite à Kamloops, en Colombie-Britannique. Connu sous le nom de Laurier Memorial, le document expose 100 ans d’interaction entre les nations salish de l’intérieur et les nouveaux arrivants sur le territoire, les protocoles culturels d’accueil, le lien fondamental entre la terre et le bien-être du peuple, ainsi que les promesses non tenues et la demande, l’exigence même, de faire ce qu’il faut pour le peuple salish de l’intérieur.

Quand je suis arrivée à Kamloops, en juillet 1999, pour prendre mes fonctions au Western Canada Theatre (WCT), le directeur artistique David Ross, Kukpi (le chef) Manny Jules et Kukpi Ron Ignace discutaient déjà de la possibilité de créer une pièce de théâtre sur le Laurier Memorial; les promesses non tenues et les appels à l’action contenus dans ce document vieux de 90 ans n’apparaissaient que trop actuels. Le WCT et la Secwepemc Cultural Education Society, en collaboration avec la ville de Kamloops, ont commandé conjointement la pièce à Tomson Highway : Ernestine Shuswap Gets Her Trout a été créée sur la scène fraîchement rénovée du Sagebrush Theatre en janvier 2004. Le grand chef national Phil Fontaine, les chefs et leaders des dix-sept nations Secwepemc, les chefs et leaders des nations Nlaka’pamux et Syilx ont tous assisté à la grande première.

Tomson, à sa manière inimitable, a donné vie aux mots du document historique à travers les personnages de quatre femmes préparant le festin pour la visite du premier ministre. C’était la première fois que je prenais part à une création mondiale. Je me sentais personnellement interpellée : je suis Syilx – Okanagan, si l’on veut – et j’ai été la première à lire le rôle d’Annabelle Okanagan. Et un thé en après-midi sur la terrasse de la maison de mes parents, où mon père nous avait fait profiter de ses connaissances du territoire, des herbes et des sources de nourriture terrestres, a été magnifiquement immortalisé dans la pièce, avec exactitude et humour. L’oeuvre était profonde. La nature illusionniste de Tomson, mêlant la lumière et l’obscurité parce qu’elles sont une seule et même chose, et situant les réalités de la vie courante dans l’expérience existentielle d’une quotidienneté qui disparaît sous nos yeux; le rythme et la beauté du langage, la musique et l’harmonie des voix, la joie et la tragédie qui s’inscrivent dans le cercle de la vie : c’est tout l’univers, l’art et la sagesse de Tomson Highway. En ce soir de janvier 2004, l’auditoire a ri aux éclats de se reconnaître dans la pièce. C’est ce que nous espérons vous faire vivre ce soir : une reconnaissance et une appréciation réjouissante de l’homme et de son art. Kisaageetin, Tomson Highway.

Liste des numéros

Toutes les chansons et pièces ont été composées et écrites par Tomson Highway

1.     « Taansi » (extrait de Rose) avec chœur 
2.     « White Boys Fall in Love » (extrait de Rose) avec chœur 
3.     « “Kisaageetin” Means “I Love You” » (extrait de Rose) avec chœur 
4.     Scène de la fourgonnette tirée de The Rez Sisters 
5.     « Taansi, Neechimoos (Hello, Darling) » (extrait de Cree Country) avec chœur 
6.     « The Lunch » (extrait d’une œuvre en gestation) avec chœur 
7.     Monologue tiré de Dry Lips Oughta Move to Kapuskasing 
8.     « When Children Sleep » (extrait de Rose) avec chœur 
9.     « Rio in High January » (extrait de Rose) avec chœur 
10.  Thème de The Sage, The Dancer and the Fool 
11.  The Flight (extrait de Chief Salamoo Cook Is Coming to Town
12.  « Thank You Song » (extrait de Rose) avec chœur 

Mot de la metteure en scène

Quel honneur d’être invitée à prendre part à ces réjouissances! Tu me titilles, Tomson Highway. Soixante-dix ans et débordant de vie, avec une imagination aussi grande que ton coeur. C’est un réel bonheur d’être invitée une fois de plus dans ta maison et dans ton univers créatif. Je chéris le temps que nous avons passé sur les rives du lac Sharbot, dans les tavernes de Peterborough, en Écosse et au coeur de Bear Lake. Chi miigwetch pour ta générosité, ton ouverture d’esprit et ton sens du jeu, qui nous ont permis de vivre une glorieuse aventure. Tu es un magicien accompli, toi qui peux réunir un si bel ensemble en un clin d’oeil. Et quel beau groupe de personnes tu as rassemblé ici!

Ce soir, parents, amis et enthousiastes vont vivre de puissantes émotions, de nature à susciter une proximité sociale. Un remède plus que jamais nécessaire, qui me rappelle cette citation de la célèbre Gabrielle Roy : « Nous connaîtrions-nous seulement un peu nous-mêmes sans les arts? »

Kisaageetin, Tomson. Kwayas kita-gaagi-tee-aan ig’wa kiskaata mitooni ateek ooskaata eesi-naag’waa-g’wow.

Patti Shaughnessy


Équipe du Théâtre autochtone
Directeur artistique : Kevin Loring
Directrice administrative : Lori Marchand
Productrice : Samantha MacDonald
Productrice associée : Sage Nokomis Wright
Résidente culturelle autochtone : Mairi Brascoupé
Communications: Danyka Ouellet
Marketing: Jenna Spagnoli
Coordonnatrice d’éducation : Kerry Corbiere
Directeur technique : Spike Lyne
Agente supérieure du Marketing: Bridget Mooney
Productrice associée #ReconcileThis: Paula Chinkiwsky

Équipe du Théâtre Babs Asper
Chef menuisier : Charles Martin
Chef accessoiriste : Michel Sanscartier
Chef électricien : Eric Tessier
Électricien adjoint : Martin Racette
Chef cintrier : Al Griffore
Ingénieur du son : Doug Millar

Les projectionnistes, les habilleuses, les chefs et les assistant·e·s sont membres de l’Alliance internationale des employés de scène, Local 471.

Le Théâtre autochtone du CNA est membre de l’Association professionnelle des théâtres canadiens et engage, en vertu de l’Accord sur le théâtre canadien, des artistes professionnels qui sont membres de la Canadian Actors’ Equity Association.

Menu