Copenhagen

By Michael Frayn

2022-03-03 20:00 2021-11-07 23:59 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Copenhagen

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29290

Video on-demand

This streamed recording will be available to watch as of 8:00pm EST on Thursday March 3rd, until 11:59 pm EST on Saturday, March 5th. Limited availability. Winner of the Tony Award for Best Play, Drama Desk Award and New York Drama Critics Award for Best Play in 2000. The Tony Award-winning Copenhagen is an explosive re-imagining of the mysterious wartime meeting between two scientists to discuss the atomic bomb.

It is 1941. Nations race to perfect The Bomb, and two Nobel...

Read more

Online
Thursday, March 3, 2022
8 PM EDT
Video on-demand

≈ 2 hours and 15 minutes · No intermission

But why?

This is the play’s opening entreaty and an invitation to all of us: historians, actors, writers, audiences. Why. Why do people do the things they do?

Michael Frayn’s response to why finds its allegory in Werner Heisenberg’s Uncertainty Principle, which essentially states that you cannot know with precise certainty where a particle will land until the moment it is observed, and further,  that the act of observation also changes the particle you are observing. All you can predict is a range of probabilities – places where the particle is more likely to land than others. Superimposing this principle on to the realm of human behaviour, Frayn posits that people’s intentions are just as unknowable as the positions of tiny particles within an atom.

For actors, finding the intention of the character they will inhabit propels them into a thoughtful collection of evidence both before and during rehearsals – and for historical characters, this deep dive is a nearly endless pursuit. Actors want to know what triggers their characters, what inspires them to act, or what sometimes prevents them from acting when the situation demands it.

Prior to the advent of quantum mechanics, causality, the logic of cause and effect, was the central tenet of all science. But the new revelations of quantum mechanics changed the world as we know it. Suddenly it was possible for something to be in two realms at the same time. Suddenly it was possible to calculate that a particle could land within a range of imprecision. Through this lens, we can begin to understand that people will sometimes do the unpredictable without ever fully knowing why.

The uncertainty of human motivation is the great mystery theatre artists rigorously strive to unravel in bringing their characters to light. Frayn has given these brilliant actors you see before you a quantum playground to test these theories with their iconic characters. I hope this play cracks open the thrilling possibilities of uncertainty for you too.

Music credits

Last updated: November 4, 2021

All songs written by Jason "Chilly Gonzales" Beck (PRS/SOCAN)
All songs from Solo Piano & Solo Piano II Published by EMI Publishing Ltd.
All songs from Solo Piano III Published by Gentle Threat Ltd.
Performed by Chilly Gonzales
Courtesy of Gentle Threat Ltd.

ENGLISH THEATRE

Managing Director: DAVID ABEL
Marketing Strategist: MONICA BRADFORD-LEA
ASL Interpreter Consultant: CARMELLE CACHERO
Marketing Strategist: BAR CLEMENT (on leave)
Communications Strategist: SEAN FITZPATRICK
Artistic Director: JILLIAN KEILEY
Senior Producer: ALEXANDRA LUNNEY
Senior Marketing Manager: BRIDGET MOONEY
Associate Producer, Artistic Projects: JUDI PEARL
Company Manager: SAMIRA ROSE  

Production

Head Property Master: MICHAEL CALUORI 
Assistant Scenic Carpenter: CHAD DESJARDINS 
Assistant to the Production Director: ERIN FINN 
Head Scenic Painter: DANIEL McMANUS 
Assistant Scenic Painter: TILLIE MORGAN 
Alternate Technical Director: CYNTHIA SHAW 
Scheduler: STÉFANIE SÉGUIN 
Technical Director: CRYSTAL L. SPICER 
Head Scenic Carpenter: DAVID STROBER 
Head Wardrobe Supervisor: MARIE SHARPE

 

Theatre Stage Staff

Head Flyman: ALEX GRIFFORE 
Head Carpenter: CHARLES MARTIN 
Head Sound Engineer: DOUG MILLAR 
Assistant Electrician: MARTIN RACETTE 
Property Master: MICHEL SANSCARTIER 
Head Electrician: ÉRIC TESSIER 

The National Arts Centre is a member of the Professional Association of Canadian Theatres and engages, under the terms of the Canadian Theatre Agreement, professional artists who are members of Canadian Actors’ Equity Association.

Menu

Copenhagen

De Michael Frayn

2022-03-03 20:00 2021-11-07 23:59 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Copenhagen

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29290

Vidéo sur demande

Cette performance pourra être regardée à partir de 20h00 HNE le 3 mars, jusqu'à 23h59 HNE le  5 mars. Disponibilité limitée. La pièce Copenhagen, lauréate d’un Tony, réinvente de façon explosive une mystérieuse rencontre entre deux scientifiques durant la guerre pour discuter de la bombe atomique. Nous sommes en 1941, à l’époque de la course à la bombe. Deux Prix Nobel se...

Read more

En ligne
jeudi 3 mars 2022
20 h HAE
Vidéo sur demande

≈ 2 heures et 15 minutes · Sans entracte

Mais pourquoi?

C’est la demande d’ouverture de la pièce et une invitation à nous tous : historiens, comédiens, écrivains, spectateurs. Pourquoi? Pourquoi les gens font-ils ce qu’ils font?

La réponse de Michael Frayn à la question « pourquoi » trouve son allégorie dans le principe d’incertitude de Werner Heisenberg, qui stipule essentiellement qu’il est impossible de savoir avec une certitude précise où une particule va atterrir jusqu’au moment où elle est observée, et qu’en outre, l’acte d’observation modifie également la particule que vous observez. Tout ce que l’on peut prévoir, c’est une gamme de probabilités, c’est-à-dire des endroits où la particule a plus de chances d’atterrir que d’autres. En superposant ce principe au domaine du comportement humain, Frayn pose que les intentions des gens sont tout aussi inconnaissables que la position des minuscules particules dans un atome.

Pour les comédiens, trouver l’intention du personnage qu’ils vont incarner les propulse dans une collecte réfléchie de preuves avant et pendant les répétitions - et dans le cas des personnages historiques, cette plongée en profondeur est une quête presque sans fin. Les comédiens veulent savoir ce qui déclenche leurs personnages, ce qui les incite à agir, ou ce qui les empêche parfois d’agir lorsque la situation l’exige.

Avant l’avènement de la mécanique quantique, la causalité, c’est-à-dire la logique de cause à effet, était le principe central de toute science. Mais les nouvelles révélations de la mécanique quantique ont changé le monde tel que nous le connaissons. Soudain, il était possible qu’une chose se trouve à deux endroits en même temps. Soudain, il était possible de calculer qu’une particule pouvait atterrir dans une plage d’imprécision. À travers cette lentille, nous pouvons commencer à comprendre que les gens font parfois des choses imprévisibles sans jamais vraiment savoir pourquoi.

L’incertitude de la motivation humaine est le grand mystère que les artistes de théâtre s’efforcent rigoureusement de percer en mettant leurs personnages en lumière. Frayn a donné à ces brillants comédiens que vous voyez devant vous un terrain de jeu quantique pour tester ces théories avec leurs personnages emblématiques. J’espère que cette pièce vous ouvrira, à vous aussi, les portes de l’incertitude.

Musique

Dernière mise à jour: 4 novembre 2021

Musique tirée des albums Solo Piano, Solo Piano II et Solo Piano III de Chilly Gonzales
Courtoisie de Gentle Threat Ltd.

Équipe du Théâtre anglais

Directeur administratif : DAVID ABEL
Stratège  marketing : MONICA BRADFORD-LEA
Interprète-conseil en ASL : CARMELLE CACHERO
Stratège  marketing : BAR CLEMENT (en congé)
Stratège communication : SEAN FITZPATRICK
Directrice artistique : JILLIAN KEILEY
Productrice : ALEXANDRA LUNNEY
Agente supérieure du Marketing : BRIDGET MOONEY
Productrice associée, Projets artistiques et événements spéciaux : JUDI PEARL
Chargée de compagnie : SAMIRA ROSE  

Équipe de production

Chef d’accessoires : MICHAEL CALUORI 
Assistant machiniste scénique : CHAD DESJARDINS 
Agente des Services de production : ERIN FINN 
Chef peintre scénique : DANIEL McMANUS 
Assistant peintre scénique : TILLIE MORGAN 
Directrice technique adjoint : CYNTHIA SHAW 
Responsable du calendrier : STÉFANIE SÉGUIN 
Directrice technique : CRYSTAL L. SPICER 
Chef machiniste scénique : DAVID STROBER 
Chef des costumes : MARIE SHARPE

Équipe du Théâtre Babs Asper

Chef cintrier  : ALEX GRIFFORE 
Chef machiniste : CHARLES MARTIN 
Ingénieur du son : DOUG MILLAR 
Électricien adjoint : MARTIN RACETTE 
Chef accessoiriste : MICHEL SANSCARTIER 
Chef électricien : ÉRIC TESSIER 

Le Centre national des Arts est membre de l’Association professionnelle des théâtres canadiens et engage, en vertu de l’Accord sur le théâtre canadien, des artistes professionnels qui sont membres de la Canadian Actors' Equity Association.

Menu