Music for a Sunday Afternoon


Carrefour Composer Program

Launched in 2017, under the direction of Alexander Shelley, the Carrefour Composer Program is a two-year professional development opportunity for emerging, culturally diverse or Indigenous composers with the NAC Orchestra. A joint initiative with the Canada Council for the Arts, Carrefour supports the advancement of unique voices in orchestral composition in Canada through two commissions (chamber/orchestral), collaborative projects, new media initiatives, and rehearsals and performances.

Ian Cusson and Remy Siu were announced as the two inaugural Carrefour composers, and are currently in year two of their residency.


John Corigliano

Three Irish Folksong Settings for Voice and Flute

Born in New York City, February 16, 1938
Now living there

John Corigliano enjoys one of the highest profiles of any living composer in the world today. His expressive musical language, coupled with a broad imagination and a flair for tapping into the wellsprings of human response, have brought him innumerable honours and awards. As a single example, in March 2000, he received an Oscar for his third film score, The Red Violin, which was partly filmed in Montreal.

Corigliano wrote the Three Irish Folksong Settings in 1988 to poems by Padraic Colum, Anonymous and William Butler Yeats. Tenor Robert White and flutist Lisa Hansen first performed them in New York’s Town Hall on June 18 of that year. 

In these songs, Corigliano has skillfully blended the individually distinctive timbres of flute and voice, creating two equal, independent yet closely intertwined musical lines. The flute introduces each song, weaves gentle arabesques around the voice, and at times even provides harmonic support. Robert White, who has recorded these songs, calls them “gorgeously expressive. The voice sticks to the traditional melody, out of which grows the filigree lines of the flute. The more ‘inner’ quality of the flute adds a deeper level of personal expressivity without drawing attention away from the timeless eloquence of the old air.”

Program notes by Robert Markow

Harry Freedman

Toccata for Soprano and Flute

Born in Lodz, Poland, April 5, 1922
Died in Toronto, September 16, 2005

Harry Freedman was one of Canada’s most distinguished composers, a reputation he held for several decades before his death at the age of 83. Freedman was born in Poland and arrived in Canada at the age of three. His vast and eclectic catalogue of more than two hundred works embraces ballet scores, vocal and choral music to texts by Canadian figures, film scores (including Lies My Father Told Me and Act of the Heart) and many orchestral works. It is in the latter category that we find the majority of Freedman’s most successful scores, due certainly in part to his 24-year career as oboist and English horn player in the Toronto Symphony (1946–1970). After retiring from that orchestra, Freedman devoted himself entirely to composition and became one of the few composers anywhere who could afford this luxury without the added commitments of performing and/or teaching.

Freedman wrote the Toccata for Soprano and Flute in 1968 at the request of his wife, soprano Mary Morrison. “I decided to write something that was sheer fun but that also displayed the pure, instrumental quality of Mary’s voice and how beautifully it blends with the flute,” wrote the composer. “Musically it is full of tricks, with the singer using syllables and vocalizing rather than singing words.”

Program notes by Robert Markow

Ian Cusson

Where There’s a Wall for mezzo-soprano and sextet

Born in Midland, Ontario, August 24, 1981
Now living in Toronto

Where There’s a Wall is the first of Cusson’s two commissions for the National Arts Centre Orchestra as part of his Carrefour Composer residency, which runs from 2017 to 2019. The song cycle is written for mezzo-soprano and six instrumentalists. The poems Cusson chose reflect Joy Kogawa’s experience in an internment camp during the Second World War. All except the early poem “Invasion” come from the collection Woman in the Woods (1985). “On the surface they don’t seem to share any common ground with my Métis history,” says the composer, “but deep down they do share something with my key interests as a composer: themes of displacement, dislocation, and fear of outsiders – all of which are surprisingly common themes of the Métis experience. 

“Each song uses a particular formal structure as an organizing system (theme and variations, fugue, rondo, etc.) The entire work develops a series of motifs that derive from a deconstruction of the Japanese folk song ‘Sakura.’ Most of this material is buried within the texture of the work, but it is a central thread that runs through the cycle. 

“The narrative journey begins with a refugee invasion as seen from the perspective of the one being invaded, and who fears the coming of outsiders with their ‘feeble outstretched palms / To our apple trees and parlours.’ The work then turns to the perspective of the displaced, who, like birds, are ‘flung from our nests… and ordered to fly or die.’ There is then a song of mourning over the loss of language and the realization that this language can no longer be passed on to the next generation (‘grief poem’ – another Indigenous theme!). 

The fourth song, ‘Where There’s a Wall,’ considers the many ways we can cross over walls. Barriers made to keep people out are easily breached, one of the means being through language. This setting is a fugue whose subject climbs upward, then downward – ‘over the wall’ as it were. The cycle closes with ‘Offerings,’ which is about the ephemeral things offered to ‘us.’ (I imagine the ‘us’ in the poem refers to the interned, or, perhaps in a more contemporary context, refugees). The things offered are poor gifts, they don’t last. In the end what is left are ‘ashes’ and ‘silence.’ It is a bittersweet note to end on, perhaps one that reflects the state of the world today where internment of children happens in cages, where walls are built to keep people out, and where the fear of ‘the other’ is at an all-time high.”

Program notes by Robert Markow

Beethoven

Septet in E-flat major, Op. 20

Born in Bonn, December 16, 1770
Died in Vienna, March 26, 1827

The Septet was one of the earliest works of Beethoven to achieve popular success, and the first to earn him respect with publishers. Inevitably, it was published in numerous arrangements and transcriptions; even Beethoven himself arranged it for a trio consisting of piano, clarinet or violin, and viola (Op. 38). The Septet was completed early in 1800 when the composer was 29, and was first heard in a private performance at the home of Prince Schwarzenberg in Vienna. The first public performance was given in Vienna’s Burgtheater on April 2.  

Although the Septet was written at a time when Beethoven was suffering ever-increasing anguish over his hearing problem, it exudes a spirit of optimism, youthful energy and good cheer. In character and design it harks back to the serenades and divertimentos so popular during the latter half of the century just ended –  a mixed ensemble of strings and wind instruments playing an extended composition of five or more movements and imbued with a lighthearted, galant spirit.  

The Septet begins with a proud, slow introduction full of abrupt contrasts of texture and dynamics, signifying that this is to be a work on a grand scale. The main Allegro section is in sonata form, though with a twist: the recapitulation unfolds “correctly” as regards return of the home key of E‑flat major, but the themes keep on developing.  

The quiet, meditative Adagio movement explores a wealth of beautiful melodies, and includes extended solo passages for each of the wind instruments.  

The next movement is the shortest but may be the most familiar to many listeners. Beethoven arranged this gracious, lilting minuet from the second movement of his “easy” Piano Sonata in G (Op. 49, No. 2), written before but published after the Septet.  

The “Theme and Variations” (Tema con variazioni) movement uses for its theme a close imitation of a folksong from the Rhineland. Each of the five variations gives prominence to a different combination of instrumental colours.  

The Scherzo exudes good-natured charm and a genial, happy-go-lucky spirit while its central Trio section features the viola in a more relaxed mood.

The finale opens in E-flat minor, with portentous, darkly serious gestures which only serve to set off the bustling gaiety of the Presto that follows, a sonata-form movement of exquisite craftsmanship, genteel humour, and impeccable taste.

Program notes by Robert Markow


Menu

Musique pour un dimanche après-midi


Programme Carrefour pour les compositeurs

Lancé en 2017 sous la direction d’Alexander Shelley, le programme Carrefour offre une occasion de perfectionnement professionnel de deux ans auprès de l’Orchestre du CNA à des compositrices ou compositeurs émergents, de diverses cultures et autochtones. Initiative conjointe du Conseil des arts du Canada et du Centre national des Arts, Carrefour soutient l’avancement de talents uniques dans le domaine de la composition pour orchestre au Canada, par le biais de deux commandes (œuvre de chambre; œuvre orchestrale), de répétitions et de prestations, de projets de collaboration et d’initiatives en nouveaux médias.

Ian Cusson et Remy Siu sont les deux premiers compositeurs à bénéficier du programme; ils en sont à leur deuxième année en résidence au CNA.


John Corigliano

Trois arrangements de chansons traditionnelles irlandaises pour voix et flûte

New York, 16 février 1938
vit présentement à New York

John Corigliano est l’un des compositeurs vivants les plus en vue de notre époque. Son langage musical évocateur, allié à une imagination sans bornes et un instinct sûr pour puiser aux sources de l’âme humaine, lui a attiré d’innombrables honneurs et récompenses. Il a notamment reçu un Oscar pour sa troisième trame sonore de film, celle du Violon rouge (tourné en partie à Montréal).

En 1988, Corigliano a mis en musique une chanson traditionnelle irlandaise et des poèmes d’inspiration folklorique de Padraic Colum et de William Butler Yeats dans Three Irish Folksong Settings. Le ténor Robert White et la flûtiste Lisa Hansen les ont exécutés pour la première fois à la salle de spectacles Town Hall de New York le 18 juin de la même année. 

Dans cette œuvre, le compositeur mêle habilement les timbres caractéristiques de la flûte et de la voix, créant deux lignes musicales égales et distinctes, bien qu’étroitement liées entre elles. La flûte introduit chacun des chants, tissant de délicates arabesques autour de la voix et fournissant même, par moments, un soutien harmonique. Robert White, qui a enregistré ces chants, les qualifie de « magnifiquement évocateurs ». Il ajoute : « la voix colle à la mélodie traditionnelle, d’où partent les lignes de flûte en filigrane. La qualité plus ‘intérieure’ de la flûte ajoute à la profondeur de l’expression personnelle, sans pour autant éclipser l’éloquence intemporelle de l’air ancien. »

Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Harry Freedman

Toccata pour soprano et flûte

Lodz, Pologne, 5 avril 1922
Toronto, 16 septembre 2005

Harry Freedman a été l’un des plus éminents compositeurs du Canada, dont la réputation était bien établie de son vivant. Né en Pologne, il était arrivé au Canada avec sa famille à l’âge de trois ans. Son catalogue vaste et éclectique comporte plus de deux cent œuvres, dont des partitions pour ballet, de la musique vocale et chorale sur des textes d’artistes canadiens, des trames sonores de films (dont Les mensonges que mon père me contait et Actes du cœur) et un grand nombre d’œuvres pour orchestre. C’est dans cette dernière catégorie que se situent la majeure partie de ses grands succès; ses 24 ans de carrière au sein de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto (1946–1970), où il a joué du hautbois et du cor anglais, n’y sont sûrement pas étrangers. Après avoir pris sa retraite de cet ensemble, il s’est consacré entièrement à la composition, devenant ainsi l’un des rares compositeurs à pouvoir profiter de ce luxe sans devoir ajouter à sa charge des tâches d’interprète ou d’enseignant.

Freedman a composé la Toccata pour soprano et flûte en 1968 à la demande de son épouse, la soprano Mary Morrison. « J’ai décidé d’écrire une pièce purement divertissante, mais aussi conçue pour mettre en valeur la pureté et la qualité instrumentale de la voix de Mary, et la façon dont elle s’allie si joliment à la flûte », écrivait le compositeur. « Musicalement, [l’œuvre] regorge d’astuces; la chanteuse utilise ainsi des syllabes pour faire des vocalises, au lieu de chanter les mots. »

Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Ian Cusson

Where There’s a Wall pour mezzo-soprano et sextuor

Midland, Ontario, 24 août 1981
vit présentement à Toronto

Where There’s a Wall est la première de deux pièces commandées à Ian Cusson pour l’Orchestre du Centre national Arts, dans le cadre de sa résidence de compositeur Carrefour, s’échelonnant de 2017 à 2019. L’œuvre est écrite pour mezzo-soprano et six instruments. Les poèmes choisis par Cusson évoquent l’expérience qu’a vécue Joy Kogawa dans un camp d’internement pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale; ils sont tous tirés de son recueil Woman in the Woods (1985), à l’exception du premier, « Invasion ». « À première vue, ils paraissent très éloignés de mon héritage métis », souligne le compositeur, « mais fondamentalement, ils rejoignent mes centres d’intérêt principaux comme compositeur : les thèmes du déplacement forcé, de la dislocation et de la peur des étrangers font étonnamment écho à l’expérience métisse. 

« Chaque chant a sa propre structure (thème et variations, fugue, rondo, etc.), et l’ensemble de l’œuvre développe une série de motifs découlant de la déconstruction de l’air folklorique japonais « Sakura ». Le matériau de ce dernier se fond, pour l’essentiel, dans la trame même de l’œuvre, mais il s’agit d’un fil unificateur qui court du début à la fin du cycle. 

« Sur le plan narratif, l’œuvre s’ouvre sur une invasion de réfugiés, évoquée du point de vue de ceux qui se sentent envahis, et qui redoutent la venue d’étrangers, « tendant leurs mains tremblantes / vers [leurs] pommiers et [leurs] salons ». On épouse ensuite le point de vue des réfugiés qui, comme des oiseaux, sont « jetés hors du nid […] et forcés de voler / ou mourir ». Le chant qui suit exprime le deuil de la langue perdue, quand on prend conscience qu’on ne pourra pas transmettre sa langue à la prochaine génération (« grief poem » – un autre thème autochtone!). 

Le quatrième chant, « Where There’s a Wall », se penche sur les différentes façons de franchir un mur; il est facile d’ouvrir une brèche dans une barrière qui sépare les gens, et la communication est l’un des moyens privilégiés pour y parvenir; ce morceau est une fugue dont le sujet monte, puis redescend – comme si elle passait par-dessus le mur. Le cycle s’achève avec « Offerings », qui évoque les objets éphémères qu’on nous offre. J’imagine que le nous du poème fait référence aux internés ou peut-être, dans un contexte plus actuel, aux réfugiés. Les choses offertes ont peu de valeur, et ne durent pas. À la fin, il ne reste que des cendres et le silence. C’est une conclusion douce-amère, sans doute, qui évoque l’état du monde aujourd’hui, alors qu’on enferme des enfants dans des cages, que l’on construit des murs pour empêcher les gens d’entrer, et que la peur de l’autre atteint des sommets historiques. »

Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Beethoven

Septuor en mi bémol majeur, op. 20

Bonn, 16 décembre 1770
Vienne, 26 mars 1827

Le Septuor en mi bémol majeur est l’une des premières œuvres de Beethoven qui aient récolté un véritable succès populaire, et la première qui lui ait attiré le respect des éditeurs; elle a donc été publiée dans un grand nombre d’arrangements et de transcriptions; Beethoven lui-même l’arrangea pour un trio formé d’un piano, d’une clarinette ou d’un violon, et d’un alto (opus 38). Le Septuor fut achevé au début de 1800 à la résidence du prince Schwarzenberg à Vienne, alors que le compositeur était âgé de vingt-neuf ans. La première exécution publique eut lieu au Burgtheater de Vienne le 2 avril de la même année.

Bien qu’il ait été écrit dans une période où ses difficultés d’audition rendaient Beethoven de plus en plus anxieux, le Septuor respire l’optimisme, l’énergie de la jeunesse et la joie de vivre. Il rappelle, par son caractère et sa forme, les sérénades et les divertimentos si populaires dans la deuxième moitié du XVIIIe siècle – un ensemble mixte d’instruments à cordes et à vent jouant une longue composition en cinq mouvements ou plus, empreinte de légèreté, dans l’esprit du style galant.  

Le Septuor s’ouvre sur une introduction lente et altière, regorgeant de brusques contrastes de textures et de nuances, annonçant une œuvre d’une ampleur certaine. La section principale de l’Allegro est de forme sonate, qui prend toutefois des libertés avec la tradition : la reprise se déploie dans la tonalité initiale de mi bémol majeur comme on s’y attend, mais le développement des thèmes se poursuit.  

Le calme et méditatif Adagio explore une profusion de mélodies sublimes et comporte de longs passages solo pour chacun des instruments à vent.  

Le mouvement suivant est le plus court, mais probablement le plus connu de maints auditeurs. Beethoven a en effet tiré ce gracieux et mélodieux menuet du deuxième mouvement de sa Sonate « facile » en sol pour piano (opus 49, no 2), écrite avant, mais publiée après le Septuor.  

Le mouvement Tema con variazioni utilise pour thème un air fortement inspiré d’un chant folklorique de la Rhénanie; chacune des cinq variations fait ressortir une combinaison différente de couleurs instrumentales.  

Il se dégage du scherzo un charme affable et un esprit bon enfant, insouciant, et son trio central met l’alto de l’avant dans un climat apaisé.

Le finale débute en mi bémol mineur, avec des accents solennels, sombres et graves qui font contraste avec l’exubérante gaieté du Presto qui suit, un mouvement de forme sonate délicatement ouvragé, empreint d’un humour distingué et d’un goût exquis.

Traduit d’après Robert Markow


Menu