Company Wang Ramirez

Borderline

It’s such an honour to bring to Ottawa a vast world of dance, shaped by some of the most gifted and innovative artists working across a broad spectrum of styles and influences. As we continue to search out the best and brightest dance companies to present to you, our wonderfully receptive and enthusiastic audience, we invite you to explore the new and the familiar on this extraordinary journey of life in motion! 

Honji Wang and Sébastien Ramirez are fearless: no challenge seems too big for them as they tackle brave and thrilling themes through multiple dance forms. And they are everywhere – creating in France and Germany, touring around the world, and collaborating with a myriad of fantastic international artists. There’s no stopping these clever and ambitious talents and we’re very excited to welcome them back to the NAC! 

Enjoy the show! 
 

FUN FACTS! 

Sébastien’s inspiration for integrating rigging in this piece came from his friends who work as stunt actors in the cinema industry.

Sébastien and Honji are both polyglots. Between the two of them they speak English, French, Spanish, German and Korean.


Company Wang Ramirez

Since the creation of Company Wang Ramirez, Honji Wang and Sébastien Ramirez have produced and choreographed highly celebrated dance-theatre pieces, winning awards such as the New York Bessie Award and the nomination for the Rolex Mentor & Protégée Arts Initiative Program.

Acclaimed internationally, the company receives support from important co-producers and is invited in major theatres and festivals, such as Théâtre de la Ville, La Villette and Théâtre National de Chaillot (Paris), Sadler’s Wells (London), Apollo Theater (New York), Mercat de les Flors (Barcelona), amongst others.

Wang and Ramirez developed a conceptual dance performance for the opening celebration of the arts space MADE in Berlin.

In 2015, they contributed to the creation phase in New York City and choreographed for the live show of Madonna’s Rebel Heart Tour 2015/2016. 

In 2016, Sadler’s Wells invited them to direct and perform a dance work inspired by Nitin Sawhney’s album Dystopian Dream.

Wang Ramirez never ceases to deepen its quest to find new choreographic languages with a means of expression built on technical virtuosity, poetry, humour and the questioning of human identities.

The duo is currently developing strong artistic collaborations with artists from a variety of fields.

Borderline

Borderline marks a turning point in Sébastien Ramirez and Honji Wang’s research and choreographic language. The dance expands in a dialogue between technique and the art of rigging, while the reflection on human relationships now includes the reality of living together in our democracies. Social boundaries are evoked by the interplay of physical forces on the stage as well as through testimonies – collected from the dancers’ friends and relatives, or from the media, and broadcast in voice over. 

The rigging element allows to approach weightlessness and to create a timeless poetics. In the interaction with the rigger, the body becomes the object of a ’weight game’ of balance and freedom. Attached to cables, the five dancers bring to light and transpose the desire of freedom inherent in all forms of dance, especially hip-hop. With a wealth of experience in levitation, hip-hop discovers new ways to thwart gravity in its virtuosity of footwork. 

The gestures and the costumes create images that reflect Greek and Korean traditions, animality, as well as our own desires and angst. Between the promise of freedom and the violence of keeping our bodies on the ground, is a space allowing the invention of a new gestural approach. With great fluidity, the piece displays accents of acrobatics, visual poetry and the urban universe. It extends to the ground where the gravitational borderlines shift horizontally, in a mobile scenography that continues to evolve throughout the performance. 


Menu

50% de rabais sur les abonnements - 2 jours seulement - Ne manquez pas ça! (Compte à rebours :
)

Company Wang Ramirez

Borderline

C’est pour moi un privilège d’accueillir à Ottawa des artistes talentueux et inventifs du monde de la danse qui s’inspirent de sources variées et embrassent toute une gamme de styles différents. Nous sommes constamment à l’affût des compagnies les plus brillantes et innovantes pour les présenter à notre public si réceptif et enthousiaste. Nous vous invitons à explorer l’inconnu et le familier dans ce voyage extraordinaire au coeur de la vie en mouvement!

Honji Wang et Sébastien Ramirez n’ont peur de rien : aucun défi ne semble insurmontable à leurs yeux et ils n’hésitent pas à aborder des thèmes audacieux et saisissants à travers de multiples formes de danse. Et ils sont partout à la fois! Ils font des créations en France et en Allemagne et des tournées internationales tout en collaborant avec une myriade d’artistes du monde entier. Rien n’arrête ces talents habiles et ambitieux, et nous sommes ravis de les accueillir à nouveau au CNA. 

Bon spectacle!
 

QUELQUES FAITS INTÉRESSANTS : 

Pour l’utilisation du gréage comme élément du spectacle, Sébastien a tiré son inspiration de ses amis qui travaillent comme cascadeurs dans l’industrie au cinéma.

Sébastien et Honji sont tous deux polyglottes. Ensemble, ils peuvent s’exprimer dans cinq langues (français, anglais, allemand, espagnol
et coréen).


Company Wang Ramirez

Depuis la création de la Compagnie Wang Ramirez, Honji Wang et Sébastien Ramirez ont produit et chorégraphié des pièces de danse-théâtre primées (New York Bessie Award, nomination pour le programme de mentorat artistique de Rolex).

Appréciée d'un public international, la compagnie reçoit le soutien d’importants coproducteurs et est invitée dans des théâtres et festivals de renom tels le Théâtre de la Ville, La Villette et le Théâtre National de Chaillot (Paris), ainsi que Sadler’s Wells (Londres), Apollo Theater (New York) et Mercat de les Flors (Barcelone), entre autres.

Wang et Ramirez ont également développé un spectacle de danse conceptuelle pour la cérémonie d’ouverture de l’espace des arts MADE à Berlin. 

En 2015, ils ont chorégraphié le spectacle de la tournée Rebel Heart Tour de Madonna.

En 2016, Sadler’s Wells fait appel à eux pour chorégraphier un spectacle inspiré de  l’album Dystopian Dream de Nitin Sawhney.

Wang Ramirez ne cesse d’approfondir sa quête d’un langage chorégraphique nouveau. Ses moyens d’expression s’appuient sur une virtuosité technique, mise au service de la poésie, de l’humour
du questionnement sur la vie humaine. 

Actuellement, le duo recherche des collaborations artistiques fortes avec des artistes d’horizons et domaines variés. 

Borderline

Borderline marque un tournant dans les recherches et l’écriture de Sébastien Ramirez et Honji Wang. La danse s’élargit dans un dialogue avec la technique et l’art du gréage, alors que la réflexion sur les relations humaines inclut désormais la réalité du vivre-ensemble dans nos démocraties. Les frontières sociétales sont évoquées à la fois par le jeu des forces physiques sur le plateau et par des témoignages – recueillis par les danseurs auprès de leurs proches ou encore issus des médias – diffusés en voix hors champs. 

Le gréage permet d’approcher l’apesanteur pour créer une poétique intemporelle. Dans l’interaction avec le gréeur, le corps devient l’objet d’un jeu autour du poids, de l’équilibre et de la liberté. Attachés à des câbles, les cinq danseurs révèlent et transposent le désir de liberté inhérent à toute danse, et en particulier au hip-hop. Fort de cette expérience de lévitation, le hip-hop découvre de nouvelles manières de déjouer la gravité dans la virtuosité des pas de danse. 

La gestuelle et les costumes créent des images qui renvoient aux traditions grecques et coréennes, autant qu’à l’animalité, à nos désirs et angoisses. Entre la promesse de liberté et la violence retenant les corps au sol, s’ouvre un espace qui permet l’invention d’une gestuelle nouvelle. D’une grande fluidité, elle arbore des accents d’acrobatie, de poésie visuelle et d’univers urbain. Elle se prolonge au sol où les borderlines gravitationnels basculent à l’horizontale, dans une scénographie mobile qui ne cesse d’évoluer au cours du spectacle. 


Menu