Today at 10 a.m., watch our livestream morning session of The Republic of Inclusion

How The Light Gets In

Soir de Semaine

Ellen Hamilton

Jay Gilday

The Jerry Cans

"Ring the bells that still can ring, Forget your perfect offering. There is a crack in everything; that's how the light gets in."
-
Leonard Cohen, Anthem

Hosted by Paul Kennedy (CBC Radio, Ideas), this unique celebration takes the audience on a sensory experience from traditional Inuit throat singing to contemporary pop, from legends told in the comfort of an igloo on a winter night to the science of mysterious forces that move objects through deep space.

The evening features readings by celebrated Dene singersongwriter Leela Gilday and Inuk actor and writer Tiffany Ayalik, interspersed with the infectiously danceable ska, reggae, franco-rock of Soir de Semaine; the contemporary stylings of Dene singersongwriter Paul Andrew; the soaring voice and powerful guitar of Jay Gilday; original soundscapes by Carmen Braden; the mesmerizing voices of Nunavut’s Madeleine Allakariallak and Ellen Hamilton; and Iqaluit’s favourite party band, The Jerry Cans.

Written by: Peter Skinner

For Northern Scene events at locations outside of the NAC, Live Rush tickets can be purchased at the NAC Box Office and online as per the normal process and in addition at the venue in question up to show time.

Menu

Soir de Semaine

Que la lumière soit

2013-05-03 19:30 2013-05-03 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Que la lumière soit

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/5241

« Faites sonner les cloches qui peuvent encore résonner. Oubliez la perfection; il y a toujours quelque chose qui craque; c’est par là qu’entre la lumière. »
- Leonard Cohen, Anthem

Animée par Paul Kennedy (émission Ideas à CBC radio), cette célébration sans pareille nous entraîne dans un voyage sensoriel entre chants de gorge inuits et pop contemporaine, entre les légendes...

Read more

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada ,395 rue Wellington,Ottawa
vendredi 3 mai 2013
19 h 30 HAE
Cet événement est passé
Soir de Semaine
Ellen Hamilton
Jay Gilday
The Jerry Cans
Musique

« Faites sonner les cloches qui peuvent encore résonner. Oubliez la perfection; il y a toujours quelque chose qui craque; c’est par là qu’entre la lumière. »
- Leonard Cohen, Anthem

Animée par Paul Kennedy (émission Ideas à CBC radio), cette célébration sans pareille nous entraîne dans un voyage sensoriel entre chants de gorge inuits et pop contemporaine, entre les légendes racontées dans le confort d’un igloo et les forces scientifiques et mystérieuses qui déplacent les objets dans l’espace sidéral.

Au menu : des textes lus par la célèbre auteure-interprète dénée Leela Gilday et l’actrice et auteure inuite Tiffany Ayalik, le rock contagieux aux accents ska et reggae du groupe francophone Soir de Semaine, les melodies contemporaines de l’auteurinterprète Paul Andrew, la voix et la guitare puissantes de Jay Gilday, les environnements sonores originaux de Carmen Braden, les voix envoûtantes de Madeleine Allakariallak et Ellen Hamilton, du Nunavut, et le groupe olé olé d’Iqaluit The Jerry Cans.

Textes : Peter Skinner

Vous pouvez vous procurer des billets Buzz en direct pour les spectacles présentés ailleurs qu’au CNA comme d’habitude, à la Billetterie du CNA ou en ligne. Ils sont également vendus sur place jusqu’à l’heure de présentation des spectacles.

Soir de Semaine
Ellen Hamilton
Jay Gilday
The Jerry Cans
Menu