Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

A Dash of Dameron and a Measure of Milt

2025-03-15 16:00 2025-03-15 18:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/37021

In-person event

Pianist Tadd Dameron was one of the most influential and innovative composers in jazz during the swing and bebop eras. Although he wrote music for many other bands including those led by Count Basie, Artie Shaw, and Dizzy Gillespie, it is the magical music that Dameron wrote for his own orchestra, which featured unique instrumentation including French horn, that you’ll hear in this programme. Montreal vibraphonist François Stevenson will join the Ottawa Jazz...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
March 15, 2025

March 2025

  1. Mar 15 2025
    Saturday

    4:00pm

    8:00pm

Close schedule
François playing the vibraphone
François Stevenson
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Music Jazz
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
  • In-person event
  • English

Pianist Tadd Dameron was one of the most influential and innovative composers in jazz during the swing and bebop eras. Although he wrote music for many other bands including those led by Count Basie, Artie Shaw, and Dizzy Gillespie, it is the magical music that Dameron wrote for his own orchestra, which featured unique instrumentation including French horn, that you’ll hear in this programme.

Montreal vibraphonist François Stevenson will join the Ottawa Jazz Orchestra, as part of a 15-piece ensemble, to perform Dameron’s music in the second half of the programme while the first half will pay tribute to vibraphonist Milt Jackson with Stevenson performing in smaller ensembles with OJO musicians.

Don’t miss this sumptuous musical feast with a dash of Dameron and a measure of Milt!

There are no program notes for this event.
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Mar 10
Mar 11
Mar 12
Mar 13
Mar 14
Mar 15
  • 4:00 pm
  • 8:00 pm
Mar 16

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

A Dash of Dameron and a Measure of Milt

2025-03-15 16:00 2025-03-15 18:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/37021

Événement en personne

Le pianiste Tadd Dameron a été l'un des compositeurs les plus influents et les plus novateurs du jazz à l'époque du swing et du bebop. Bien qu'il ait écrit de la musique pour de nombreux autres groupes, notamment ceux dirigés par Count Basie, Artie Shaw et Dizzy Gillespie, c'est la musique magique que Dameron a écrite pour son propre orchestre, qui comprenait une instrumentation unique incluant le cor français, que vous...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
15 mars 2025

mars 2025

  1. mar 15 2025
    samedi

    16 h 00

    20 h 00

Fermer
François jouant du vibraphone
François Stevenson
The Orchestra playing on stage
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Musique Jazz
The Orchestra playing on stage
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
  • Événement en personne
  • Anglais

Le pianiste Tadd Dameron a été l'un des compositeurs les plus influents et les plus novateurs du jazz à l'époque du swing et du bebop. Bien qu'il ait écrit de la musique pour de nombreux autres groupes, notamment ceux dirigés par Count Basie, Artie Shaw et Dizzy Gillespie, c'est la musique magique que Dameron a écrite pour son propre orchestre, qui comprenait une instrumentation unique incluant le cor français, que vous entendrez dans ce programme.


Le vibraphoniste montréalais François Stevenson se joindra à l'Ottawa Jazz Orchestra, au sein d'un ensemble de 15 musiciens, pour interpréter la musique de Dameron dans la seconde partie du programme, tandis que la première partie rendra hommage au vibraphoniste Milt Jackson, Stevenson se produisant dans de petits ensembles avec les musiciens de l'OJO.


Ne manquez pas ce somptueux festin musical avec une pincée de Dameron et une mesure de Milt !

Aucune note de programme n’est disponible pour cet événement.
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
mar 10
mar 11
mar 12
mar 13
mar 14
mar 15
  • 16 h 00
  • 20 h 00
mar 16