Ottawa Jazz Festival

Geoffrey Keezer & Gillian Margot

2024-06-21 21:00 2024-06-21 22:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Geoffrey Keezer & Gillian Margot

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/36830

In-person event

Featuring: PIANO
Geoffrey Keezer VOCALS
Gillian Margot The Grammy-winning pianist Geoffrey Keezer is celebrated internationally for his highly regarded discography, unique compositions, and acclaimed performances in a variety of configurations. Keezer has been a major figure in NYC's jazz piano scene since 1989, when he became the last pianist with the legendary Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers. Keezer has toured and recorded with Ray Brown, Roy Hargrove, Joshua Redman,...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Fri, June 21, 2024
9 PM EDT
Music Jazz Festival events
  • In-person event

Featuring:

PIANO
Geoffrey Keezer

VOCALS
Gillian Margot

The Grammy-winning pianist Geoffrey Keezer is celebrated internationally for his highly regarded discography, unique compositions, and acclaimed performances in a variety of configurations. Keezer has been a major figure in NYC's jazz piano scene since 1989, when he became the last pianist with the legendary Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers. Keezer has toured and recorded with Ray Brown, Roy Hargrove, Joshua Redman, Diana Krall, Art Farmer, Benny Golson, Barbara Hendricks, Wayne Shorter, Dianne Reeves, David Sanborn, Chris Botti, Sting, Joe Locke and Christian McBride. Time Magazine wrote, “Geoffrey has more than enough virtuosity and sheer musical wit and intelligence to weave all of his apparently disparate strands of influence into an original and compelling whole”, and pop icon Sting said “In the universe of piano players that I have been exposed to over the years, Geoffrey has proved himself to be not only a superb technician and improviser, but also above and beyond this, a composer and conceptualist who can maintain the overall line and the DNA of the song in everything he plays. A musician’s musician.”

Gillian Margot is a singer with a rare gift that makes people sit up and listen. She possesses an exquisite voice, a disarmingly wide range and a style that eschews jazz singer clichés in favour of an original, interpretive delivery grounded in a song's lyrical and emotional content. A student of a generation of jazz legends including Oscar Peterson, Freddy Cole, Carol Welsman and Norman Simmons, she has since been invited to perform in major venues worldwide with top- tier talent, including rock icon Sting, jazz trumpeters Chris Botti and Jeremy Pelt, pianist Robert Glasper, famed soprano Kathleen Battle, conductors Wayne Marshall (London Philharmonic) and Jukka-Pekka Saraste (Toronto Symphony Orchestra). Equally at home in the musical worlds of jazz, R&B, chamber, and pop, her voice and music can be also heard in commercials, feature films, and television programs including Jane Goodall’s Wild Chimpanzees (IMAX 2002), New Year (Doublesee 2010), Lethal Weapon (FOX 2016), The Young and The Restless (2016-2019), and One Good Reason (Alone.Calm 2020).

In 2018, Margot collaborated with pianist Geoffrey Keezer on his latest album, On My Way to You (MarKeez). With Margot featured on five of ten tracks, Ted Panken writes that the vocalist and pianist “achieve an uncanny mind-meld on the co-composed ‘You Stay With Me’ — Margot projects her magnificent contralto to equally compelling effect both when conveying her tender, sensuous lyric and then improvising in dialogue with the piano during the latter section. They also co-wrote the percolating ‘Guanajuato’ (named for the Central Mexican city where they performed a duo concert), in which the protagonists engage in a protracted, intuitive musical conversation."

Her 2016 album, titled Black Butterfly (Hipnotic) is an artfully crafted set that showcases her multifaceted musicality and speaks to the singer's passion for diversity. The album blends Great American Songbook standards, intriguing jazz originals, gutbucket blues, contemporary hip-hop flavours and uniquely personal covers of songs by Curtis Mayfield, Joni Mitchell, Nina Simone, and 80’s English rockers Simply Red. Margot’s new album, Power Flower was released on vinyl in March 2021 (CD released October 2020) on Ropeadope Records.

Keezer and Margot have been touring, writing and recording together for several years, including their 2018 album "On My Way to You" (MarKeez). They bring their unique vision of the vocal and piano duet to Canadian festivals this summer, performing familiar jazz standards, beloved pop songs and vibrant original compositions, in a varied and intimate set. Don't miss these two world-class artists in concert together!

Festival de Jazz d'Ottawa

Geoffrey Keezer et Gillian Margot

2024-06-21 21:00 2024-06-21 22:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Geoffrey Keezer et Gillian Margot

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/36830

Événement en personne

Avec : PIANO
Geoffrey Keezer VOIX
Gillian Margot Le pianiste primé aux GRAMMY Geoffrey Keezer est mondialement reconnu pour son illustre discographie, ses compositions uniques et ses concerts largement applaudis dans toutes sortes de configurations. Il est une figure incontournable de la scène piano jazz de New York depuis 1989, date à laquelle il est devenu le dernier pianiste du légendaire ensemble Art Blakey et les Jazz Messengers. Il...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
ven 21 juin 2024
21 h HAE
Musique Jazz Festival
  • Événement en personne

Avec :

PIANO
Geoffrey Keezer

VOIX
Gillian Margot

Le pianiste primé aux GRAMMY Geoffrey Keezer est mondialement reconnu pour son illustre discographie, ses compositions uniques et ses concerts largement applaudis dans toutes sortes de configurations. Il est une figure incontournable de la scène piano jazz de New York depuis 1989, date à laquelle il est devenu le dernier pianiste du légendaire ensemble Art Blakey et les Jazz Messengers. Il s’est produit en tournée et a enregistré avec Ray Brown, Roy Hargrove, Joshua Redman, Diana Krall, Art Farmer, Benny Golson, Barbara Hendricks, Wayne Shorter, Dianne Reeves, David Sanborn, Chris Botti, Sting, Joe Locke et Christian McBride. Time Magazine a écrit à son sujet : « Geoffrey a plus de virtuosité, de pure vivacité musicale et d’intelligence qu’il n’en faut pour tisser toutes ses influences en apparence décousues et en faire un tout original et captivant ». L’icône de la pop Sting est tout aussi élogieux : « Dans le monde des pianistes que j’ai fréquenté au fil des années, Geoffrey a prouvé qu’il était non seulement un superbe technicien et improvisateur, mais au-delà de ça, un compositeur et conceptualiste capable de conserver le fil conducteur et l’ADN d’un morceau dans tout ce qu’il joue. Un musicien qui plaît aux musiciens. »

Gillian Margot a un rare don : quand elle chante, les gens s’assoient et écoutent avec attention. Elle a une voix exceptionnelle, une tessiture impressionnante et un style qui fait fi des clichés du chant jazz au profit d’une interprétation originale puisant dans l’aspect lyrique et émotionnel des chansons. Celle qui a appris aux côtés d’une génération de légendes du jazz comme Oscar Peterson, Freddy Cole, Carol Welsman et Norman Simmons a été invitée à se produire sur de grandes scènes du monde entier avec des talents de renom, dont l’icône rock Sting, les trompettistes de jazz Chris Botti et Jeremy Pelt, le pianiste Robert Glasper, la célèbre soprano Kathleen Battle ou encore les chefs d’orchestre Wayne Marshall (Orchestre philharmonique de Londres) et Jukka-Pekka Saraste (Orchestre symphonique de Toronto). Aussi à l’aise dans l’univers du jazz que du R&B, de la musique de chambre ou de la pop, elle prête également sa voix et sa musique à des publicités, des longs-métrages et des émissions de télévision : Jane Goodall’s Wild Chimpanzees (IMAX; 2002), New Year (Doublesee, 2010), Lethal Weapon (FOX, 2016), The Young and The Restless (2016–2019), One Good Reason (Alone.Calm, 2020), entre autres.

En 2018, Gillian Margot a collaboré au dernier album du pianiste Geoffrey Keezer, On My Way to You (MarKeez), sur lequel on retrouve la voix de la chanteuse dans 5 des 10 titres. Selon Ted Panken, les deux artistes « parviennent à une extraordinaire fusion de l’esprit dans You Stay With Me, morceau qu’ils ont composé ensemble — Gillian Margot projette sa magnifique voix de contralto avec un résultat tout aussi captivant, qu’il s’agisse d’interpréter des paroles tendres et sensuelles ou d’improviser ensuite un dialogue avec le piano dans la dernière partie. Ils ont également composé à quatre mains Guanajuato (d’après la ville du centre du Mexique où ils s’étaient produits en duo), titre tout en distillation dans lequel les protagonistes entament une longue conversation musicale intuitive. »

Son album de 2016, intitulé Black Butterfly (Hipnotic), est un projet artistique conçu avec soin qui illustre les multiples facettes de sa musicalité et témoigne de la passion de la chanteuse pour la diversité. Il mêle des standards du Grand répertoire américain de la chanson, des compositions intrigantes de jazz, du blues profond, des morceaux contemporains aux sonorités hip-hop et des reprises très personnelles de chansons de Curtis Mayfield, Joni Mitchell, Nina Simone et du groupe de rock anglais des années 80 Simply Red. Le nouvel album de Gillian Margot, Power Flower, est sorti en vinyle en mars 2021 (sortie CD en octobre 2020) sur l’étiquette Ropeadope Records.

Geoffrey Keezer et Gillian Margot se produisent en tournée, écrivent et enregistrent ensemble depuis plusieurs années, notamment dans le cadre de leur album sorti en 2018, On My Way to You (MarKeez). Cet été, ils partagent leur vision unique du duo piano-voix dans les festivals canadiens en interprétant des classiques connus du jazz, des grands succès de la pop et des compositions originales pleines de vie, dans un concert éclectique et intime. Ne manquez pas le passage de ces deux artistes de renommée internationale!