Moccasin Workshop

Two-part workshop with Colleen Nolan

2024-05-29 17:00 2024-06-05 20:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Moccasin Workshop

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/36755

This workshop takes place over two sessions – May 29 and June 5. The Moccasin Workshop offers a unique opportunity for individuals to learn the art of crafting moccasins. This workshop provides participants with hands-on experience in crafting and constructing their own pair of moccasins.  Participants leave with not only a beautiful pair of handmade moccasins but also pride. Whether you're a beginner or an experienced crafter, this workshop is open to all.  This workshop...

Read more

Atelier Shenkman Smith
May 29 - Jun 5, 2024

May 2024

  1. May 29 2024
    Wednesday

    5:00pm

  2. May 30 2024
    Thursday
  3. May 31 2024
    Friday

June 2024

  1. Jun 1 2024
    Saturday
  2. Jun 2 2024
    Sunday
  3. Jun 3 2024
    Monday
  4. Jun 4 2024
    Tuesday
  5. Jun 5 2024
    Wednesday

    5:00pm

Close schedule
Atelier Shenkman Smith
Indigenous arts Workshops
  • English
  • ≈ 3 hours · No intermission

This workshop takes place over two sessions – May 29 and June 5.

The Moccasin Workshop offers a unique opportunity for individuals to learn the art of crafting moccasins. This workshop provides participants with hands-on experience in crafting and constructing their own pair of moccasins.  Participants leave with not only a beautiful pair of handmade moccasins but also pride.

Whether you're a beginner or an experienced crafter, this workshop is open to all.  This workshop provides a fun and welcoming environment, where stories will be told, and laughter will be shared.  Join us for an interactive and engaging session, connecting with others and leaving with a sense of fulfillment and gratitude.

Tickets close one week before the first session. Participants will be contacted regarding their shoe size and materials will be cut to size.

This workshop takes place at 1 Elgin St, in the National Arts Centre’s Atelier Shenkman Smith which is located across from the Box Office. 

About Colleen Nolan

A proud Anishinaabe kwe from Garden River First Nation, Colleen carries the legacy of resilience and spirit passed down by her mother, a Residential School Survivor. Navigating through life's challenges with the teachings of bravery, respect, and humility, Colleen has dedicated herself to empowering others, guiding them to learn, develop, and grow beyond their boundaries though her work with Indigenous entrepreneurs, community members and organizations.

With a deep-seated passion for her work and an unwavering commitment to the success of others, Colleen delivers engaging, enlightening, and energizing training sessions that leave participants motivated, encouraged, and ready to achieve their goals. Her dedication shines through in her recent discovery and pursuit of teaching the art of making moccasins and mitts—a hidden talent unveiled during the Covid-19 pandemic. Since September 2020, Colleen has shared this traditional craft to over 1,000 individuals, igniting a new passion for preserving Indigenous culture through hands-on creativity.

Activity hours

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9

Artists

  • No headshot
    Facilitator Colleen Nolan

Atelier de confection de mocassins

Atelier en deux parties avec Colleen Nolan

2024-05-29 17:00 2024-06-05 20:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Atelier de confection de mocassins

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/36755

Cet atelier en deux parties se déroulera le 29 mai et le 5 juin. Participez à un atelier d’initiation à l’art de la confection de mocassins. Une occasion unique de mettre la main à la pâte et de fabriquer votre propre paire de mocassins. Vous repartirez à la maison avec non seulement une magnifique paire de mocassins faite à la main, mais aussi avec la tête haute et le cœur fier!  Cet atelier interactif et...

Read more

Atelier Shenkman Smith
29 mai - 5 jun 2024

mai 2024

  1. mai 29 2024
    mercredi

    17 h 00

  2. mai 30 2024
    jeudi
  3. mai 31 2024
    vendredi

juin 2024

  1. jun 1 2024
    samedi
  2. jun 2 2024
    dimanche
  3. jun 3 2024
    lundi
  4. jun 4 2024
    mardi
  5. jun 5 2024
    mercredi

    17 h 00

Fermer
Atelier Shenkman Smith
Arts autochtones Ateliers
  • Anglais
  • ≈ 3 heures · Sans entracte

Cet atelier en deux parties se déroulera le 29 mai et le 5 juin.

Participez à un atelier d’initiation à l’art de la confection de mocassins. Une occasion unique de mettre la main à la pâte et de fabriquer votre propre paire de mocassins. Vous repartirez à la maison avec non seulement une magnifique paire de mocassins faite à la main, mais aussi avec la tête haute et le cœur fier! 

Cet atelier interactif et participatif est ouvert à tout le monde, nul besoin d’être déjà habile de ses mains. Venez écouter des histoires, échanger avec les autres et parfaire vos habiletés manuelles dans la joie et la bonne humeur. Vous en retirerez un sentiment d’accomplissement et de gratitude.

La vente de billets se termine une semaine avant la première séance. Nous vous demanderons votre pointure pour préparer le matériel à votre taille.

L’atelier sera offert à l’Atelier Shenkman Smith du Centre national des Arts situé en face de la Billetterie.

À propos de Collen Nolan

Fière Anishinaabekwe de la Première Nation de Garden River, Colleen Nolan est habitée par un esprit de résilience qui lui a été transmis par sa mère, une survivante des pensionnats autochtones. Affrontant les défis de la vie quotidienne avec courage, humilité et respect, elle est animée par l’envie d’aider les autres, de les guider dans leur apprentissage, dans leur épanouissement et dans la réalisation de leurs projets en collaborant avec des entrepreneurs, des organisations et des membres des communautés autochtones.

Motivée par la réussite des autres, cette passionnée propose des formations enrichissantes et stimulantes pour qu’un plus grand nombre en ressorte grandi, motivé et prêt à atteindre ses objectifs. Son dévouement se manifeste de manière éclatante depuis qu’elle enseigne l’art de la confection des mocassins et des mitaines – un talent qu’elle s’est découvert pendant la pandémie de COVID-19. Depuis septembre 2020, déjà plus d’un millier de personnes se sont initiées aux techniques artisanales traditionnelles. Un moyen pour elle de faire de la sensibilisation à la préservation des cultures autochtones par une activité manuelle.

Horaires

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9

Artistes

  • No headshot
    Animatrice Colleen Nolan