Haley Blais © Steph Verschuren

Haley Blais

with Special Guest Gabrielle Shonk

2024-04-06 20:00 2024-04-06 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Haley Blais

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/35744

In-person event

Haley Blais is a Vancouver-based singer-songwriter who has turned out defiant scream-into-your-pillow pop songs since 2014. Wisecrack (Released September 15, 2023), her sophomore album, was conceived as a conceptual record about the formation of new families amidst the dissolution of her parent’s relationship; Wisecrack is textured and wryly poetic, oscillating somewhere between cherished childhood memories and the creation of a new self. The existential, everyday worries we all...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, April 6, 2024
8 PM EDT
Haley Blais © Steph Verschuren
Haley Blais © Steph Verschuren
Gabrielle Shonk © villedepluie
Gabrielle Shonk © Dragos Chiriac
Family programming Music Pop Rock Children
“Canada's nostalgia pop queen. ” i-D Magazine
  • In-person event

Haley Blais is a Vancouver-based singer-songwriter who has turned out defiant scream-into-your-pillow pop songs since 2014. Wisecrack (Released September 15, 2023), her sophomore album, was conceived as a conceptual record about the formation of new families amidst the dissolution of her parent’s relationship; Wisecrack is textured and wryly poetic, oscillating somewhere between cherished childhood memories and the creation of a new self. The existential, everyday worries we all contain but rarely share are laid bare across eleven songs exquisitely performed with profundity, grace, and humour. Tongue-in-cheek lines like “I want my therapist to think I’m cool” give the melancholic mood a biting edge. “Can I be responsible for things that I did years ago? / I guess it could be good for just a laugh”, Blais sings — that’s Wisecrack in a nutshell. Funny and raw at the same time.

-

How do you come back to yourself? Perhaps it’s important to first understand you have become lost, and admit you’ve veered off path. How then do you begin to piece yourself back together? 

This is the journey Gabrielle Shonk, the JUNO nominated singer and songwriter, takes us on with her sophomore album, Across The Room, released in winter 2023.  

It has been five years since her self-titled debut. For this delicate, brimming sophomore offering, Shonk—now on Arts & Crafts—brings herself fully into view. Across The Room is an eleven-track chronicle of the enormity of heartache and hope that comes with endings and new beginnings. 

video: Haley Blais - Body
Haley Blais - Body
© Haley Blais
© Haley Blais
© Gabrielle Shonk
© Gabrielle Shonk

Haley Blais © Steph Verschuren

Haley Blais

avec Invitée Spéciale Gabrielle Shonk

2024-04-06 20:00 2024-04-06 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Haley Blais

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/35744

Événement en personne

Établie à Vancouver, Haley Blais est une auteure-compositrice-interprète qui, depuis 2014, nous livre des chansons pop mutines et percutantes. Paru en septembre 2023, Wisecrack est un album concept sur la formation de nouvelles familles après une séparation. Ce deuxième album est étoffé et ironiquement poétique, jonglant entre tendres souvenirs d’enfance et désir de se construire. Haley Blais met en lumière...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 6 avril 2024
20 h HAE
Haley Blais © Steph Verschuren
Haley Blais © Steph Verschuren
Gabrielle Shonk © villedepluie
Gabrielle Shonk © Dragos Chiriac
Famille Musique Pop Rock Enfance
« La reine de la pop nostalgique du Canada.  » i-D Magazine
  • Événement en personne

Établie à Vancouver, Haley Blais est une auteure-compositrice-interprète qui, depuis 2014, nous livre des chansons pop mutines et percutantes. Paru en septembre 2023, Wisecrack est un album concept sur la formation de nouvelles familles après une séparation. Ce deuxième album est étoffé et ironiquement poétique, jonglant entre tendres souvenirs d’enfance et désir de se construire. Haley Blais met en lumière avec humour, désinvolture et authenticité les questionnements existentiels, trop souvent passés sous silence, qui rythment notre quotidien. « Je veux que mon thérapeute pense que je suis cool », chante-t-elle sur un ton pince-sans-rire dans une de ses 11 chansons mélancoliques à l’ironie mordante. « Suis-je obligée de répondre de mes actes passés? / Je pense que ça en ferait une bonne blague ». En bref, Wisecrack est un album à la fois brut et amusant.

-

Comment se retrouver? Peut-être faudrait-il commencer par admettre qu’on s’est égaré, qu’on s’est écarté du chemin. Et ensuite, comment entamer le travail de reconstruction?

Voilà toutes les questions que pose Gabrielle Shonk dans Across The Room, son deuxième album à la fois foisonnant et délicat paru l’hiver dernier.

Cela faisait cinq ans qu’on était sans nouvelles de l’auteure-compositrice-interprète finaliste aux JUNO. Maintenant sous étiquette Arts & Crafts, Garielle Shonk se donne pleinement à voir. En 11 chansons, elle évoque les complexités des peines d’amour et l’espoir qui surgit à la fin d’une histoire ou au début d’une nouvelle.

video: Haley Blais - Body
Haley Blais - Body
Haley Blais © Steph Verschuren
Haley Blais © Steph Verschuren
Gabrielle Shonk © villedepluie
Gabrielle Shonk © Dragos Chiriac