© Joey Senft

Adrian Sutherland

2024-03-22 20:00 2024-03-22 10:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Adrian Sutherland

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/35600

In-person event

Born and raised in Canada’s Far North, Adrian Sutherland is a roots-rocker-with-heart from Attawapiskat First Nation. His melding of rock, roots, folk and blues draws inspiration from his life, the land, and his Cree culture, with songs that ripple far beyond stages. There’s no one quite like him, or music quite like his.  “Precious Diamonds,” Adrian’s second solo album, was produced in Nashville by Colin Linden, and mastered in New Jersey by Greg Calbi...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, March 22, 2024
8 PM EDT
© Joey Senft
untitled-design-22
© Joey Senft
untitled-design-20
© Joey Senft
adrian-sutherland-photo-joey-senft-2
© Joey Senft
Indigenous arts Music Rock Blues Roots music Folk
  • In-person event

Born and raised in Canada’s Far North, Adrian Sutherland is a roots-rocker-with-heart from Attawapiskat First Nation. His melding of rock, roots, folk and blues draws inspiration from his life, the land, and his Cree culture, with songs that ripple far beyond stages. There’s no one quite like him, or music quite like his. 

“Precious Diamonds,” Adrian’s second solo album, was produced in Nashville by Colin Linden, and mastered in New Jersey by Greg Calbi (release date 03.15.24). His debut solo album, “When The Magic Hits”, earned nominations at the 2022 JUNO Awards and 2023 Canadian Folk Music Awards. 

Adrian is a respected cultural leader and traditional knowledge keeper who is fluent in Omushkegowuk Cree. As one of the only professional musicians still living in his isolated First Nation and traditional territory… Adrian carries an authentic and insightful first-hand perspective on many issues, like contaminated water, food insecurity, and mental health.  

At this time of reconciliation, Adrian is hopeful for Canadians to walk together in love and respect.

video: Adrian Sutherland - Notawe (Father)
Adrian Sutherland - Notawe (Father)

© Joey Senft

Adrian Sutherland

2024-03-22 20:00 2024-03-22 10:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Adrian Sutherland

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/35600

Événement en personne

Originaire du Grand Nord canadien, Adrian Sutherland est un rockeur aux accents roots de la Première Nation d’Attawapiskat. Porté par des influences rock, roots, folk et blues, il teinte ses chansons de son vécu, de sa terre natale et de sa culture crie pour faire entendre sa voix au-delà de la scène. Tout comme sa personnalité, sa musique atypique fait de lui un artiste rare dans le paysage musical. Precious Diamonds, son deuxième album...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
vendredi 22 mars 2024
20 h HAE
© Joey Senft
© Joey Senft
© Joey Senft
© Joey Senft
Arts autochtones Musique Rock Blues Roots rock Folk
  • Événement en personne

Originaire du Grand Nord canadien, Adrian Sutherland est un rockeur aux accents roots de la Première Nation d’Attawapiskat. Porté par des influences rock, roots, folk et blues, il teinte ses chansons de son vécu, de sa terre natale et de sa culture crie pour faire entendre sa voix au-delà de la scène. Tout comme sa personnalité, sa musique atypique fait de lui un artiste rare dans le paysage musical.

Precious Diamonds, son deuxième album à paraître le 15 mars 2024, a été produit par Colin Linden, à Nashville, et matricé par Greg Calbi, au New Jersey. Son premier album solo, When The Magic Hits, a été finaliste aux prix JUNO en 2022 et aux Prix de musique folk canadienne en 2023.

Leader culturel respecté et gardien du savoir traditionnel, Adrian Sutherland parle couramment la langue omushkegowuk crie. Contrairement à ses collègues, lui n’a jamais quitté son territoire traditionnel ni sa communauté isolée. Dans ses chansons, il aborde avec justesse et clairvoyance les questions de société, notamment l’eau contaminée, l’insécurité alimentaire et la santé mentale.

En cette période de réconciliation, il caresse l’espoir que tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes marcheront un jour ensemble dans le respect et la bienveillance.

video: Adrian Sutherland - Notawe (Father)
Adrian Sutherland - Notawe (Father)
© Joey Senft
© Joey Senft
© Joey Senft
© Joey Senft