Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

Big Band Bash

2024-04-20 20:00 2024-04-20 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/35536

In-person event

The Ottawa Jazz Orchestra, led by bassist Adrian Cho, brings back the big band with two sets of swinging songs that will have you smiling and tapping your toes all evening. 
 
The first set will recall the sounds of the Cotton Club and Harlem speakeasies featuring music by Duke Ellington, Jelly Roll Morton, Louis Armstrong and more. Savour this rarely performed music that will truly transport you back to the golden age of jazz. 
 
The second set will...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
April 20, 2024

April 2024

  1. Apr 20 2024
    Saturday

    4:00pm

    8:00pm

Close schedule
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Diane Nalini
Music Jazz
  • In-person event
  • English
  • ≈ Between 1 hour 30 minutes and 2 hours · With intermission

The Ottawa Jazz Orchestra, led by bassist Adrian Cho, brings back the big band with two sets of swinging songs that will have you smiling and tapping your toes all evening. 
 
The first set will recall the sounds of the Cotton Club and Harlem speakeasies featuring music by Duke Ellington, Jelly Roll Morton, Louis Armstrong and more. Savour this rarely performed music that will truly transport you back to the golden age of jazz. 
 
The second set will have you dancing in your seats as vocalist Diane Nalini and the band perform stellar arrangements penned by such legends as Bill Holman, Billy May, Count Basie, Billy Strayhorn, Nelson Riddle, and Buddy Bregman, for the great jazz vocalists Anita O'Day, Ella Fitzgerald, and Carmen McRae. 
 
Jazz singer and songwriter Diane Nalini started singing at the age of three. Born in Montreal to Belgian and Goan parents, she sings and writes songs in four languages (English, French, Portuguese and Spanish) and has released five wide ranging and warmly received albums. An accomplished songwriter, composer, and lyricist, Diane has written or co-written songs that have been used in major Hollywood releases, indie films, television shows and video games. “She captures jazz at its most sophisticated and joyous level,” writes Elle Magazine Canada. “I just love Diane Nalini’s voice. This is a sassy, ‘ripe plum in the Italian sun’ kind of voice… She has such sweet and effortless pitch, it’s beautiful.” (Katie Malloch, CBC radio’s Jazzbeat and Tonic). 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Apr 15
Apr 16
Apr 17
Apr 18
Apr 19
Apr 20
  • 4:00 pm
  • 8:00 pm
Apr 21
© Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
© Diane Nalini

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

Soirée Big Band

2024-04-20 20:00 2024-04-20 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/35536

Événement en personne

Mené par le bassiste Adrian Cho, l’Orchestre de jazz d’Ottawa ramène le big band lors de deux spectacles entraînants qui vous mettront le sourire aux lèvres et vous feront taper du pied toute la soirée.
  
Le premier spectacle, qui rappelle la musique du Cotton Club et des bars clandestins de Harlem, présente des morceaux de Duke Ellington, Jelly Roll Morton, Louis Armstrong, et bien...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
20 avril 2024

avril 2024

  1. avr 20 2024
    samedi

    16 h 00

    20 h 00

Fermer
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Diane Nalini
Musique Jazz
  • Événement en personne
  • Anglais
  • ≈ Entre 1 heure 30 minutes et 2 heures · Avec entracte

Mené par le bassiste Adrian Cho, l’Orchestre de jazz d’Ottawa ramène le big band lors de deux spectacles entraînants qui vous mettront le sourire aux lèvres et vous feront taper du pied toute la soirée.
  
Le premier spectacle, qui rappelle la musique du Cotton Club et des bars clandestins de Harlem, présente des morceaux de Duke Ellington, Jelly Roll Morton, Louis Armstrong, et bien d’autres. Savourez cette musique rarement jouée qui vous transportera véritablement dans l’âge d’or du jazz.
  
Le deuxième spectacle vous fera danser sur vos sièges : la chanteuse Diane Nalini et le reste du groupe interpréteront des arrangements exceptionnels écrits par des compositeurs légendaires comme Bill Holman, Billy May, Count Basie, Billy Strayhorn, Nelson Riddle et Buddy Bregman, pour de grandes chanteuses de jazz comme Anita O’Day, Ella Fitzgerald et Carmen McRae. 
 
La chanteuse et compositrice de jazz Diane Nalini a commencé à chanter à l’âge de trois ans. Née à Montréal de parents d’origine belge et goanaise, elle peut chanter et écrire des chansons dans quatre langues (anglais, français, portugais et espagnol) et a publié cinq albums éclectiques, qui ont remporté un vif succès. Auteure-compositrice et parolière accomplie, Diane Nalini a écrit et coécrit des chansons utilisées pour de grosses productions hollywoodiennes, des films indépendants, des émissions de télévision et des jeux vidéo. Selon Elle Canada, « [e]lle restitue les aspects les plus sophistiqués et les plus joyeux du jazz ». Autre critique élogieuse : « J’adore la voix de Diane Nalini. C’est une voix pleine d’assurance, qui évoque des prunes bien mûres sous le soleil d’Italie… Elle est si douce et si fluide; c’est magnifique. » (Katie Malloch, des émissions Jazz Beat et Tonic sur CBC Radio).

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
avr 15
avr 16
avr 17
avr 18
avr 19
avr 20
  • 16 h 00
  • 20 h 00
avr 21
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Diane Nalini