Psoy Korolenko and Anna Shternshis © Dan Rosenberg

Yiddish Glory

2024-01-25 20:00 2024-01-25 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Yiddish Glory

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/35483

In-person event

In a special concert to mark Holocaust Remembrance Week, the Grammy-Nominated ensemble Yiddish Glory makes its National Arts Centre debut with a new concert program of songs written in Ukraine and Moldova that were thought lost to history.  Led by Canadian Historian Anna Shternshis (University of Toronto), Yiddish Glory resurrects songs collected during World War II by ethnomusicologist Moisei Beregovsky from Holocaust victims and survivors. They tell stories of how Soviet Jews lived and...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, January 25, 2024
8 PM EST
This event has passed
Psoy Korolenko and Anna Shternshis © Dan Rosenberg
Alice Zawadzki © Monika S. Jak
Anna Shternshis © Sascha Osaka, Glatt & Verkehrt
© Monika S. Jakubowska
© Dan Rosenberg
Psoy Korolenko © Sascha Osaka, Glatt & Verkehrt
Music Singer/Songwriter Storytelling Lecture
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 1 hour 40 minutes · With intermission

In a special concert to mark Holocaust Remembrance Week, the Grammy-Nominated ensemble Yiddish Glory makes its National Arts Centre debut with a new concert program of songs written in Ukraine and Moldova that were thought lost to history. 

Led by Canadian Historian Anna Shternshis (University of Toronto), Yiddish Glory resurrects songs collected during World War II by ethnomusicologist Moisei Beregovsky from Holocaust victims and survivors. They tell stories of how Soviet Jews lived and died under the German occupation, used music to document Nazi atrocities, fought in the Red Army, worked in the home front in Central Asia, and made sense of it all through Yiddish music. After World War II, Beregovsky was arrested during Stalin’s anti-Jewish crackdown. He was sent to the gulag, his collection was confiscated, and died thinking it was forever lost. Miraculously, the collection was rediscovered at the Vernadsky National Library in Kyiv, Ukraine, and the songs were brought back to life by Yiddish Glory. 

This special event at the National Arts Centre will feature several Canadian premieres, including songs from Karlovka, a labor camp of Mykolaiv region of Ukraine, where prisoners lived on the premises of pig breeding factory. Another Canadian premier is a piece called “Where is God?”, created in the Bershad ghetto in 1942, in the midst of a cold winter, this angry song curses both God and the humans that abandoned the Jewish people when they needed empathy most.   

This lecture/concert features performances of these previously unknown materials, giving voices to Jewish women, children, and men who never got to tell their stories, but left us their incredible songs. 

Featuring: 
Historian Anna Shternshis (University of Toronto) 
Psoy Korolenko, Vocals (New York) 
Alice Zawadzki, Vocals, Violin (London, UK) 
Robert Horvath, Piano (Toronto)

video: Yiddish Glory Torah and Swastika
Yiddish Glory Torah and Swastika
© Psoy Korolenko et Anna Shternshis
© Alice Zawadzki
© Anna Shternshis
© Psoy Korolenko

Psoy Korolenko et Anna Shternshis © Dan Rosenberg

Yiddish Glory

2024-01-25 20:00 2024-01-25 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Yiddish Glory

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/35483

Événement en personne

À l’occasion d’un concert spécial soulignant la Semaine du souvenir de l’Holocauste, Yiddish Glory se produira pour la première fois au Centre national des Arts. L’ensemble finaliste aux GRAMMY interprétera un nouveau programme de chansons composées en Ukraine et en Moldavie qu’on pensait perdues. Mené par l’historienne canadienne Anna Shternshis (Université de Toronto), Yiddish Glory redonne vie...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 25 janvier 2024
20 h HNE
Cet événement est passé
Psoy Korolenko et Anna Shternshis © Dan Rosenberg
Alice Zawadzki © Monika S. Jak
Anna Shternshis © Sascha Osaka, Glatt & Verkehrt
© Monika S. Jakubowska
© Dan Rosenberg
Psoy Korolenko © Sascha Osaka, Glatt & Verkehrt
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Conte Lecture
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 1 heure 40 minutes · Avec entracte

À l’occasion d’un concert spécial soulignant la Semaine du souvenir de l’Holocauste, Yiddish Glory se produira pour la première fois au Centre national des Arts. L’ensemble finaliste aux GRAMMY interprétera un nouveau programme de chansons composées en Ukraine et en Moldavie qu’on pensait perdues.

Mené par l’historienne canadienne Anna Shternshis (Université de Toronto), Yiddish Glory redonne vie à des chansons recueillies durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale par l’ethnomusicologue Moisei Beregovsky auprès de victimes et survivants de l’Holocauste. Elles racontent les histoires de Juifs soviétiques qui ont vécu et péri sous l’occupation allemande, qui se sont servis de la musique pour documenter les atrocités nazies, qui se sont battus au sein de l’Armée rouge ou encore qui ont travaillé à l’arrière-front en Asie centrale, en tentant de donner un sens à tout cela grâce à la musique yiddish. Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Moisei Beregovsky a été arrêté dans le cadre des mesures antijuives de Staline. On l’a envoyé au goulag, sa collection a été confisquée et il est décédé en pensant qu’elle serait perdue à tout jamais. Par miracle, elle a été redécouverte à la Bibliothèque nationale Vernadsky de Kyiv, en Ukraine, et Yiddish Glory fait aujourd’hui renaître ces chansons.

Plusieurs pièces inédites au Canada résonneront lors de ce concert spécial au Centre national des Arts, dont des chansons de Karlovka, un camp de travail de la région ukrainienne de Mykolaïv dont les prisonniers vivaient dans une usine d’élevage de porcs. Autre première canadienne : la pièce « Where is God? », composée dans le ghetto de Bershad en 1942, en plein cœur de l’hiver. Cette chanson pleine de colère maudit Dieu et toutes les personnes qui ont abandonné la population juive alors qu’elle avait plus que jamais besoin d’empathie.

Cette conférence-concert présente des œuvres jusqu’ici inconnues et donne ainsi une voix à des femmes, des enfants et des hommes juifs qui n’ont jamais pu raconter leur histoire, mais qui nous ont laissé d’incroyables chansons.

Avec :
Anna Shternshis, historienne (Université de Toronto)
Psoy Korolenko, chant (New York)
Alice Zawadzki, chant, violon (Londres, Royaume-Uni)
Robert Horvath, piano (Toronto)

video: Yiddish Glory Torah and Swastika
Yiddish Glory Torah and Swastika
Psoy Korolenko and Anna Shternshis © Dan Rosenberg
Alice Zawadzki © Monika S. Jak
Anna Shternshis © Sascha Osaka, Glatt & Verkehrt
© Monika S. Jakubowska
© Dan Rosenberg
Psoy Korolenko © Sascha Osaka, Glatt & Verkehrt