Al Qahwa

Al Qahwa

2023-08-16 12:00 2023-08-16 13:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Al Qahwa

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/34194

In-person event

Al Qahwa’s latest recording Weyn Allah is being released in June 2023 followed by a summer tour across Canada. Each member of the group contributed to the original material inspired by music from North Africa, Greece, Iran, the Middle East, as well as musical influences from jazz, folk and Irish music thrown into the mix. This is the result of the cultural and musical backgrounds of the members of this group. This concert will showcase uplifting and energetic music with...

Read more

Atrium O’Brien,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa
Wednesday, August 16, 2023
12 PM EDT
This event has passed
Al Qahwa
Music Jazz Global music Folk Summer events
  • In-person event

Al Qahwa’s latest recording Weyn Allah is being released in June 2023 followed by a summer tour across Canada. Each member of the group contributed to the original material inspired by music from North Africa, Greece, Iran, the Middle East, as well as musical influences from jazz, folk and Irish music thrown into the mix. This is the result of the cultural and musical backgrounds of the members of this group.

This concert will showcase uplifting and energetic music with North African and Arabic rhythms and melodies interpreted with the spirit of jazz. Maryem Tollar’s distinct voice has been heard across genres from Bollywood to Canadian TV’s Little Mosque on the Prairie to R. Murray Schafer’s Children's Crusade to Baroque music with Tafelmusik – defying labels and genres. This performance will feature the vocal heavy repertoire from the album Weyn Allah sung by Maryem Tollar and soaring over rich Pan African Arabian grooves by Waleed Abdulhamid and Naghmeh Farahmand, Mediterranean stringwork by Demetri Petsalakis, the sound of the Nile, the Sahara desert and Coltrane’s jazz in Ernie Tollar’s woodwinds, and joyful ecstatic dance by Roula Said. 

© Al Qahwa

Al Qahwa

Al Qahwa

2023-08-16 12:00 2023-08-16 13:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Al Qahwa

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/34194

Événement en personne

À l’aube de la sortie de son nouvel album, Weyn Allah, en juin 2023, Al Qahwa se prépare à envoûter les salles du Canada cet été. Pour cet opus, tous les membres du groupe ont mis la main à la patte. Le résultat? Un album aux colorations jazz, folk et celtiques qui s’inspire de la musique d’Afrique du Nord, de la Grèce, de l’Iran et du Moyen-Orient. Sur scène, le groupe vous fera découvrir...

Read more

Atrium O’Brien ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa
mercredi 16 août 2023
12 h HAE
Al Qahwa
Musique Jazz Musique globale Folk été
  • Événement en personne

À l’aube de la sortie de son nouvel album, Weyn Allah, en juin 2023, Al Qahwa se prépare à envoûter les salles du Canada cet été. Pour cet opus, tous les membres du groupe ont mis la main à la patte. Le résultat? Un album aux colorations jazz, folk et celtiques qui s’inspire de la musique d’Afrique du Nord, de la Grèce, de l’Iran et du Moyen-Orient.

Sur scène, le groupe vous fera découvrir l’énergie et la subtilité des rythmes et des mélodies arabes et d’Afrique du Nord dans un style jazz. Vous reconnaîtrez sans doute la voix si particulière de Maryem Tollar qui se balade entre les genres. On a déjà pu l’entendre dans plusieurs productions de Bollywood, la série canadienne The Little Mosque on the Prairie (La petite mosquée dans la prairie, en VF), l’opéra Children's Crusade de R. Murray Schafer et le groupe de musique baroque Tafelmusik. Pour l’occasion, le groupe viendra défendre sur scène ce nouvel album baigné de cordes aux arrangements méditerranéens, de grooves imparables rappelant le son du Nil et du désert du Sahara et d’instruments à vent dans la digne lignée du jazz de Coltrane, le tout agrémenté des chorégraphies enlevantes de Roula Said. 

Al Qahwa