Traffic disruptions - Canada Day weekend
Iris Trio

Iris Trio

2023-01-31 20:30 2023-01-31 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Iris Trio

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31474

In-person event

The Iris Trio, together with celebrated Canadian poet, Don McKay (Governor General’s Award, Griffin Poetry Prize) presents the “Blue Chapter” of their multi-year “Project Earth,” including stunning new works by McKay and Juno-nominated composer/jazz pianist Florian Hoefner. Project Earth is the Trio’s response to the triple planetary crisis. Through newly commissioned poetry and genre-crossing chamber music, the project strives to illuminate the impact of...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Tuesday, January 31, 2023
8:30 PM EDT
Iris Trio
Music Folk
  • In-person event

The Iris Trio, together with celebrated Canadian poet, Don McKay (Governor General’s Award, Griffin Poetry Prize) presents the “Blue Chapter” of their multi-year “Project Earth,” including stunning new works by McKay and Juno-nominated composer/jazz pianist Florian Hoefner. Project Earth is the Trio’s response to the triple planetary crisis. Through newly commissioned poetry and genre-crossing chamber music, the project strives to illuminate the impact of human behavior on the environment, addressing issues of climate change, pollution, and biodiversity loss, while recognizing the power of our collective imagination to create meaningful change. Celebrated for their imaginative programming and powerhouse performances, this evening with the Iris Trio (clarinetist Christine Carter, violist Zoë Martin-Doike, and pianist Anna Petrova) will mark the ensemble’s debut at the National Arts Centre.

Christine Carter

Canadian clarinetist Christine Carter has performed at venues across the globe, from Carnegie Hall to the Sydney Opera House. Highlights have included performances at the Mozarthaus in Vienna, German Consulate in New York City, and Palffy Palace in Prague. She has been praised for her “special passion and inspiration” (Augsburger Allgemeine), “seductive tone and effortless fluidity” (The Clarinet), and “golden legato” (Fanfare Magazine). Christine has also performed extensively as an orchestral musician, including engagements with the New World Symphony (Miami), Montreal Symphony Orchestra, Newfoundland Symphony Orchestra, YouTube Symphony Orchestra, and Metropolitan Opera Orchestra (New York), as well as under the batons of some of the world’s finest conductors, such as Lorin Maazel, Michael Tilson Thomas, Kent Nagano, and Fabio Luisi.

Zoë Martin-Doike

Violinist/violist Zoë Martin-Doike is an exciting and versatile artist who engages in a wide variety of musical activities. A passionate chamber musician, Zoë was a founding violinist of the Aizuri Quartet which garnered top prizes at the Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition and held residencies at the Curtis Institute of Music and the Barnes Foundation in Philadelphia while she was a member. Zoë is currently Acting Assistant Principal Viola of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra in New York City, and has also frequently joined the Philadelphia Orchestra for tours of Europe and Asia.

Anna Petrova

Bulgarian pianist, Anna Petrova, praised for her “artistic, clear and enlightened” performances (BBC Magazine), performs extensively as a soloist and chamber musician and is Assistant Professor of Piano at University of Louisville, Kentucky. Recent highlights include her New York debut with conductor Philippe Entremont, a recording of Stravinsky’s Les Noces with the Virginia Symphony Orchestra and conductor JoAnn Falletta (NAXOS, 2016), and solo and chamber music residencies in festivals across North America, Europe and China. Currently, she is working on a two-CD set of the complete piano sonatas of Russian composer, pianist and pedagogue, Samuil Feinberg for NAXOS. Petrova holds a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from Manhattan School of Music and is the Artistic Director of Alberto Jonás International School of Music in Valencia, Spain.

video:
Iris Trio
Menu

Trio Iris

Trio Iris

2023-01-31 20:30 2023-01-31 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Trio Iris

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31474

Événement en personne

The Iris Trio Bio Pour Blue Chapter, volet de son projet pluriannuel Project Earth, le Iris Trio s’est entouré du célèbre poète canadien Don McKay (lauréat d’un prix du Gouverneur général et du prix de poésie Griffin) et de Florian Hoefner, compositeur et pianiste de jazz finaliste aux prix JUNO. Project Earth est la réponse du trio à la triple crise planétaire. Par la poésie et...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mardi 31 janvier 2023
20 h 30 HAE
Trio Iris
Musique Folk
  • Événement en personne

The Iris Trio Bio

Pour Blue Chapter, volet de son projet pluriannuel Project Earth, le Iris Trio s’est entouré du célèbre poète canadien Don McKay (lauréat d’un prix du Gouverneur général et du prix de poésie Griffin) et de Florian Hoefner, compositeur et pianiste de jazz finaliste aux prix JUNO. Project Earth est la réponse du trio à la triple crise planétaire. Par la poésie et la musique de chambre à la croisée du genre, le projet vise à mettre en avant les effets des activités humaines sur l’environnement, l’enjeu climatique, la pollution et le recul de la biodiversité, mais aussi la force du collectif pour faire réellement changer les choses. Fort d’une imagination débordante et de prestations survoltées, le Iris Trio (composé de la clarinettiste Christine Carter, de l’altiste Zoë Martin-Doike et de la pianiste Anna Petrova) s’apprête à faire ses débuts sur la scène du Centre national des Arts.

Christine Carter

Clarinettiste canadienne, Christine Carter s’est produite dans les salles du monde entier, du Carnegie Hall à l’Opéra de Sydney. Parmi les moments forts de sa carrière figurent ses prestations à la Maison de Mozart à Vienne, au consulat d’Allemagne à New York et au Palais Palffy à Prague. Elle a été saluée pour « la diversité de son inspiration et sa passion » (Augsburger Allgemeine), « son timbre chaleureux et sa fluidité naturelle » (The Clarinet) et « son legato d’une grande beauté » (Fanfare Magazine). Aussi musicienne d’orchestre, Christine Carter a joué avec l’Orchestre symphonique New World (Miami), l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, l’Orchestre symphonique de Terre-Neuve, l’Orchestre symphonique de YouTube et l’Orchestre du Metropolitan Opera (New York), sous la baguette de Lorin Maazel, Michael Tilson Thomas, Kent Nagano et Fabio Luisi, quelques-uns des plus grands chefs d’orchestre.

Zoë Martin-Doike

Zoë Martin-Doike est une pétillante artiste polyvalente qui poursuit une carrière musicale diversifiée comme violoniste et altiste. Musicienne passionnée par la musique de chambre, Zoë Martin-Doike est la violoniste fondatrice de l’Aizuri Quartet, plusieurs fois primé au Concours international de quatuor à cordes du Wigmore Hall. Avec l’ensemble, elle a été invitée en résidence à l’Institut de musique Curtis et à la Barnes Foundation à Philadelphie. Elle est actuellement assistante alto solo par intérim avec l’Orchestre du Metropolitan Opera à New York, et elle se joint régulièrement à l’Orchestre de Philadelphie pour des tournées en Europe et en Asie.

Anna Petrova

Pianiste bulgare, Anna Petrova est reconnue pour ses prestations « artistiques, limpides et éclairées » (BBC Magazine). Soliste et chambriste très sollicitée, Anna Petrova est également professeure adjointe de piano à l’Université de Louisville, au Kentucky. Parmi ses plus récents faits d’armes, mentionnons ses débuts à New York avec le chef d’orchestre Philippe Entremont, un enregistrement de l’œuvre Les Noces de Stravinsky avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Virginie et la cheffe d’orchestre JoAnn Falletta (NAXOS, 2016), et des résidences à titre de pianiste soliste et chambriste dans différents festivals en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Chine. Elle travaille présentement à l’enregistrement d’un disque double, sous l’étiquette NAXOS, de l’intégrale des Sonates pour piano de Samuil Feinberg, compositeur, pianiste et pédagogue russe. Titulaire d’un doctorat en arts musicaux de la Manhattan School of Music, Anna Petrova est la directrice artistique de l’École internationale de musique Alberto[SN2]  Jonás à Valence, en Espagne.

video:
Trio Iris
Menu