Meryl McMaster - As Immense as the Sky

As Immense as the Sky

SPHERE Festival - Exhibition

2022-09-22 08:00 2022-09-25 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: As Immense as the Sky

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31362

In-person event

Meryl McMaster’s As Immense as the Sky contemplates time and the countless cycles of life that recur around the ancient mistassini (monoliths), sputinas (buttes), wiyacahk (canyons), and ayeakow awacha (dunes) of Turtle Island. With a world view shaped by growing up in the intersection of Western and Indigenous cultures, and moving between awe and fearful apprehension about the natural world and our impact on it, McMaster sought wisdom in the places of ancestral life, coming to see...

Read more

Canal Lobby,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, September 22, 2022
Meryl McMaster - As Immense as the Sky
Indigenous arts Exhibitions & installations Visual Arts Festival events
  • In-person event

Meryl McMaster’s As Immense as the Sky contemplates time and the countless cycles of life that recur around the ancient mistassini (monoliths), sputinas (buttes), wiyacahk (canyons), and ayeakow awacha (dunes) of Turtle Island.

With a world view shaped by growing up in the intersection of Western and Indigenous cultures, and moving between awe and fearful apprehension about the natural world and our impact on it, McMaster sought wisdom in the places of ancestral life, coming to see these landscapes as immense time capsules of buried knowledge.

As Immense as the Sky is about walking these ancient paths, experiencing the diversity of panoramas, and learning about the ancestors’ wisdom. The resulting images blend and collapse into the present the stories of kayas (long ago) with the foreboding whispers of the future.In this series of performative self-portraits, Meryl McMaster examines the overlapping cultures and histories of both her Indigenous and European ancestors.

The pieces “Harbourage for a Song” and “Ordovician Tide I” from McMaster’s collection As Immense as the Sky will be on display at the NAC.

Exhibition hours

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
  1. Sep 22 2022
    Thursday

    8:00am - 10:00pm

  2. Sep 23 2022
    Friday

    8:00am - 10:00pm

  3. Sep 24 2022
    Saturday

    8:00am - 10:00pm

  4. Sep 25 2022
    Sunday

    8:00am - 10:00pm

Meryl McMaster - As Immense as the Sky
Menu

Meryl McMaster - As Immense as the Sky

As Immense as the Sky

Festival SPHÈRE - Exposition

2022-09-22 08:00 2022-09-25 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : As Immense as the Sky

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31362

Événement en personne

L’œuvre As Immense as the Sky de Meryl  McMaster est née de l’observation du temps et des cycles innombrables de la vie qui se renouvellent autour des mistassini (monolithes), des sputinas (buttes), des wiyacahk (canyons) et des ayeakow awacha (dunes) d’antan sur l’île de la Tortue. Issue d’une famille à la croisée des cultures autochtone et occidentale, Meryl McMaster a observé la nature avec une...

Read more

Foyer du canal ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 22 septembre 2022
Meryl McMaster - As Immense as the Sky
Arts autochtones Expositions Arts visuels Festival

Artistes en vedette

  • Événement en personne

L’œuvre As Immense as the Sky de Meryl  McMaster est née de l’observation du temps et des cycles innombrables de la vie qui se renouvellent autour des mistassini (monolithes), des sputinas (buttes), des wiyacahk (canyons) et des ayeakow awacha (dunes) d’antan sur l’île de la Tortue.

Issue d’une famille à la croisée des cultures autochtone et occidentale, Meryl McMaster a observé la nature avec une appréhension mêlée d’admiration et de peur, et notre relation avec elle. Elle est partie en quête de sagesse dans les lieux de vie ancestrale et a fini par voir ces paysages comme d’immenses capsules temporelles fourmillant de savoirs méconnus.

Vivre As Immense as the Sky, c’est parcourir ces routes d’antan, faire l’expérience de cette multitude de paysages et apprendre la sagesse des ancêtres. Les images obtenues sont un mélange et une fracture du temps dans le présent des histoires de kayas (d’un passé lointain), avec les prémonitions murmurées depuis l’avenir. 

Les oeuvres “Harbourage for a Song” et “Ordovician Tide I” de la série As Immense as the Sky seront en montre au CNA.

Horaires

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
  1. sep 22 2022
    jeudi

    8 h 00 - 22 h 00

  2. sep 23 2022
    vendredi

    8 h 00 - 22 h 00

  3. sep 24 2022
    samedi

    8 h 00 - 22 h 00

  4. sep 25 2022
    dimanche

    8 h 00 - 22 h 00

Meryl McMaster - As Immense as the Sky
Menu