Arctic Imagination - Talks Series

SPHERE / Jesse Wente & Svend Hardenberg

2022-09-22 10:00 2022-09-22 11:15 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Arctic Imagination - Talks Series

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31350

In-person event

In English / ​Live translation in French  Co-hosted by the Royal Danish Library and the NAC Orchestra as part of the SPHERE Festival, Arctic Imagination is a not-to-be-missed speaker series pressing discussions on the transformation of the Arctic as the ice disappears — and the implications of climate change for geopolitics and human civilization as we know it.  Speakers: Jesse Wente ​Jesse is best known for more than two decades spent as a columnist for...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, September 22, 2022
10 AM EDT
This event has passed
Talks Festival events
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • ≈ 1h15 · No intermission

In English / ​Live translation in French 

Co-hosted by the Royal Danish Library and the NAC Orchestra as part of the SPHERE Festival, Arctic Imagination is a not-to-be-missed speaker series pressing discussions on the transformation of the Arctic as the ice disappears — and the implications of climate change for geopolitics and human civilization as we know it. 

Speakers:

Jesse Wente

​Jesse is best known for more than two decades spent as a columnist for CBC Radio’s Metro Morning. In 2018, Jesse was named the founding director of the Indigenous Screen Office and in summer 2020 he was appointed Chair of the Canada Council for the Arts. Jesse received the Arbor Award from the University of Toronto in 2021 for his volunteer contributions. His first book “Unreconciled: Family, Truth and Indigenous Resistance” is a national bestseller. Born and raised in Toronto, his family comes from Chicago and Genaabaajing Anishinaabek and he is a member of the Serpent River First Nation.

Svend Hardenberg 

Svend Hardenberg is a businessman and entrepreneur, who entered unexpected Netflix stardom as a leading role in Borgen, a highly successful Danish TV series that deals with themes of climate crisis. Hardenberg has previously served as Permanent Secretary at the Premier’s Office, Government of Greenland. 

Host: Kevin Loring

Menu

Arctic Imagination - Conférences

SPHÈRE / Jesse Wente & Svend Hardenberg

2022-09-22 10:00 2022-09-22 11:15 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Arctic Imagination - Conférences

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31350

Événement en personne

En anglais / Traduction simultanée en français Arctic Imagination est une série de conférences à ne pas manquer, présentée par la Bibliothèque royale du Danemark et l'Orchestre du CNA dans le cadre du Festival SPHÈRE, visant a raviver plusieurs discussions pressantes concernant la transformation de l’Arctique – qui voit sa glace disparaître – et les conséquences des changements...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 22 septembre 2022
10 h HAE
Cet événement est passé
Causeries Festival
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • ≈ 1h15 · Sans entracte

En anglais / Traduction simultanée en français

Arctic Imagination est une série de conférences à ne pas manquer, présentée par la Bibliothèque royale du Danemark et l'Orchestre du CNA dans le cadre du Festival SPHÈRE, visant a raviver plusieurs discussions pressantes concernant la transformation de l’Arctique – qui voit sa glace disparaître – et les conséquences des changements climatiques sur la géopolitique mondiale et l’humanité en général. 

Pannélistes:

Jesse Wente

Jesse est surtout connu pour plus de deux décennies passées en tant que chroniqueur pour l'émission Metro Morning de CBC Radio. En 2018, Jesse a été nommé directeur fondateur de l'Indigenous Screen Office et à l'été 2020, il a été nommé président du Conseil des Arts du Canada. Jesse a reçu le prix Arbor de l'Université de Toronto en 2021 pour ses contributions bénévoles. Son premier livre "Unreconciled : Family, Truth and Indigenous Resistance" est un best-seller national. Né et élevé à Toronto, sa famille est originaire de Chicago et Genaabaajing Anishinaabek et il est membre de la Première Nation de Serpent River.

Svend Hardenberg 

Svend Hardenberg est un homme d'affaires et entrepreneur, qui est entré dans la célébrité inattendue de Netflix en tant que rôle principal dans Borgen, une série télévisée danoise à succès qui traite des thèmes de la crise climatique. Hardenberg a précédemment occupé le poste de secrétaire permanent au bureau du premier ministre du gouvernement du Groenland.

Animateur: Kevin Loring

Artistes

  • Président du conseil d’administration du Conseil des arts du Canada & co-directeur exécutif, Bureau de l’écran autochtone. Auteur de ''UNRECONCILED'' Jesse Wente
  • Homme d'affaires, entrepreneur, ancien secrétaire permanent au bureau du premier ministre, gouvernement du Groenland Svend Hardenberg
  • Animateur Kevin Loring