GEORGE

GEORGE

TD Ottawa Jazz Festival

2022-06-29 19:00 2022-06-29 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: GEORGE

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31222

In-person event

GEORGE
From the Greek name Georgios, which was derived from the Greek word georgos meaning “farmer, earthworker”, itself derived from the elements γῆ
(ge) meaning “earth” and ergon meaning “work”. George Washington Carver, George Foreman, George Clooney, George Floyd,
George Wein, Georgia (the state and the country), Georgia O’Keefe, Saint
George, George Saunders, George Michael, George Carlin, George Clinton,
...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Wednesday, June 29, 2022
7 PM EDT
This event has passed
GEORGE
Music Jazz
  • In-person event

GEORGE
From the Greek name Georgios, which was derived from the Greek word georgos meaning “farmer, earthworker”, itself derived from the elements γῆ
(ge) meaning “earth” and ergon meaning “work”.

George Washington Carver, George Foreman, George Clooney, George Floyd,
George Wein, Georgia (the state and the country), Georgia O’Keefe, Saint
George, George Saunders, George Michael, George Carlin, George Clinton,
George Frideric Handel, George Orwell, George the magazine, etc…

GEORGE is:
Anna Webber – tenor sax/flute
Aurora Nealand – voice/sax/keyboards
Chiquita Magic – keyboards/voice
John Hollenbeck – drums/composition

John Hollenbeck formed GEORGE during the Covid pandemic. He brought together three great musicians/people whom he loved and admired for a long time! Even though most of the members had never met each other, John was confident from knowing them himself, that this group would immediately be, as one of the members calls it, “tight” (which means “very cool” in case you were wondering).

Their group sound is firmly planted outside any categories or labels, so good luck with that! They remotely recorded a literal “Proof of Concept” in March 2021 and finally met in person in January 2022 in Montreal, Canada where they recorded “Letters to George”, which will be released on Flexatonic Records in the spring of 2022. They will tour the US and Canada in the spring/summer of 2022 and in thenear future, other locations on planet Earth.

Anna Webber is a flutist, saxophonist, and composer whose interests and work live in theaesthetic overlap between avant-garde jazz and new classical music. She was recently named a 2021 Berlin Prize Fellow and was voted the top “Rising Star” flutist in the 2020 Downbeat Critic’s Poll.

Aurora Nealand is most recognized for her performance on saxophones, clarinet and vocals and has been at the forefront of the revival of New Orleans with her band, the Royal Roses. Nealand is also the leader/frontman of New Orleans premier rockabilly band Rory Danger and the Danger Dangers, and performs frequently with her solo project, The Monocle. In 2010 and2011 she appeared frequently as herself in the HBO TV series, Treme.

Isis Paola Giraldo AKA Chiquita Magic is a latinx artist/producer hailing from Colombia and based in Canada. She uses microtonal synthesizers, her voice, and a drum machine to create a unique sound that can be described as futuristic electro pop with elements of EDM, hip hop, cumbia, funk, reggaeton, choirs & jazz.

Genre-crossing composer/percussionist John Hollenbeck, renowned in both the jazz and newmusic worlds, has gained widespread recognition as the driving force behind the unclassifiable Claudia Quintet and the ambitious John Hollenbeck Large Ensemble, groups with roots in jazz, world music, and contemporary composition. He has earned six GRAMMY nominations and has worked with many of the world's leading musicians in jazz including Bob Brookmeyer, Fred Hersch, Tony Malaby, and is well known in new-music circles for his long-time collaboration with Meredith Monk.

GEORGE
Menu

GEORGE

GEORGE

Festival de jazz d’Ottawa TD

2022-06-29 19:00 2022-06-29 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : GEORGE

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31222

Événement en personne

John Hollenbeck – batterie et composition
Anna Webber – saxophone ténor et flûte
Aurora Nealand – voix, saxophone et claviers
Chiquita Magic – claviers et voix George
Du nom grec Georgios, issu du mot grec georgos signifiant « agriculteur, terrassier », lui-même dérivé des éléments γῆ (ge) signifiant « terre » et ergon signifiant...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mercredi 29 juin 2022
19 h HAE
GEORGE
Musique Jazz
  • Événement en personne

John Hollenbeck – batterie et composition
Anna Webber – saxophone ténor et flûte
Aurora Nealand – voix, saxophone et claviers
Chiquita Magic – claviers et voix

George
Du nom grec Georgios, issu du mot grec georgos signifiant « agriculteur, terrassier », lui-même dérivé des éléments γῆ (ge) signifiant « terre » et ergon signifiant « travail ».

George Washington Carver, George Foreman, George Clooney, George Floyd, George Wein, Georgia (l’État et le pays), Georgia O’Keefe, Saint-George, George Saunders, George Michael, George Carlin, George Clinton, George Frideric Händel, George Orwell, le magazine George, etc.

John Hollenbeck forme George pendant la pandémie de COVID. Il réunit trois grands musiciens qu’il aimait et admirait depuis longtemps! Même si la plupart des membres ne s’étaient jamais rencontrés, John est persuadé, pour les avoir connus lui-même, que ce groupe serait immédiatement, comme l’un des membres l’appelle, « tissé serré » (ce qui signifie « très cool » au cas où vous vous poseriez la question).

Le son du groupe défie fermement toute catégorie ou étiquette, alors bonne chance avec ça! Les membres enregistrent littéralement à distance une « preuve de conception » en mars 2021 et se rencontrent finalement en personne en janvier 2022 à Montréal, pour y enregistrer Letters to George, qui est lancé sur Flexatonic Records au printemps 2022. Ils feront une tournée aux États-Unis et au Canada au printemps et à l’été 2022 et, dans un avenir proche, dans d’autres endroits de la planète Terre.

Les intérêts et le travail de la flûtiste, saxophoniste et compositrice Anna Webber se situent dans le chevauchement esthétique entre le jazz d’avant-garde et la nouvelle musique classique. Récemment, elle a reçu la bourse du prix Berlin 2021 et est élue étoile montante de la flûte dans le cadre du sondage des critiques de DownBeat en 2020.

Aurora Nealand est surtout reconnue pour ses performances aux saxophones, à la clarinette et au chant. Elle est à l’avant-garde du renouveau de la Nouvelle-Orléans avec son groupe, les Royal Roses. Elle est également le leader du premier groupe de rockabilly de la Nouvelle-Orléans, Rory Danger and the Danger Dangers, et se produit fréquemment avec son projet solo, The Monocle. En 2010 et 2011, elle a joué son propre rôle dans la série télévisée de HBO, Treme.

Isis Paola Giraldo, c.-à-d. Chiquita Magic, est une artiste et productrice latino-américaine originaire de Colombie et établie au Canada. Elle utilise des synthétiseurs microtonaux, sa voix et une batterie électronique pour créer un son unique que l’on peut décrire comme de l’electro-pop futuriste avec des éléments d’EDM, de hip-hop, de cumbia, de funk, de reggaeton, de chœurs et de jazz.

Le compositeur et percussionniste John Hollenbeck, réputé dans le monde du jazz et de la musique nouvelle, est largement reconnu comme la force motrice de l’inclassable Claudia Quintet et de l’ambitieux John Hollenbeck Large Ensemble, des groupes qui puisent leurs racines dans le jazz, la musique du monde et la composition contemporaine. Il a été finaliste six fois aux Grammy et a travaillé avec de nombreux musiciens de jazz de premier plan, dont Bob Brookmeyer, Fred Hersch et Tony Malaby, et est bien connu dans le milieu des musiques nouvelles pour sa collaboration de longue date avec Meredith Monk.

GEORGE
Menu