Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
Dr. Jillian Horton

Dr. Nancy F. Olivieri in conversation with Dr. Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine & #Life

2022-05-24 19:00 2022-05-24 20:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Dr. Nancy F. Olivieri in conversation with Dr. Jillian Horton

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31212

Facebook Live event

The Price of Advocacy: sowing moral courage in medicine. Nancy F. Olivieri, MD, MA, MFA, FRCP(C) is a Professor of Pediatrics, Medicine, and Public Health Sciences at the University of Toronto.  With a background in internal medicine, hematology, and molecular biology, Dr. Olivieri has worked in thalassemia, a blood disease primarily of children of emerging countries, for over 30 years, including in Asia through Hemoglobal®, a charity she founded to improve worldwide care for these...

Read more

Tuesday, May 24, 2022
7 PM EDT
Facebook Live
Dr. Jillian Horton
Talks
  • Facebook Live event
  • English

The Price of Advocacy: sowing moral courage in medicine.

Nancy F. Olivieri, MD, MA, MFA, FRCP(C) is a Professor of Pediatrics, Medicine, and Public Health Sciences at the University of Toronto. 

With a background in internal medicine, hematology, and molecular biology, Dr. Olivieri has worked in thalassemia, a blood disease primarily of children of emerging countries, for over 30 years, including in Asia through Hemoglobal®, a charity she founded to improve worldwide care for these children.

In 2003, Dr. Olivieri completed a Masters in Medical Ethics and Law at Kings’ College, UK with a thesis examining ethical resistance in medical research.  She created and continues to teach a course, Health and Pharmaceuticals, to undergraduate and graduate students, about the influences of the pharmaceutical industry in research and medicine. 

In 2021 Dr. Olivieri completed a Masters of Fine Art in Creative Non-fiction at King’s College, Halifax. Her book - What They Knew: A True Story of Drugs, Death and Deception -- is still in preparation.  It is not the only book on this conflict: John Le Carré wrote a thriller, The Constant Gardener, based on this scandal, observing that “compared to reality, [his fiction] was as tame as a holiday postcard.”

Jillian Horton, M.D., is an award-winning medical educator, writer, musician and podcaster. A former Associate Dean at the University of Manitoba, she has cared for thousands of patients in an inner-city hospital, and now works to provide care to people living with addiction.  She is the winner of the prestigious 2020 AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism award, recognizing her as a national thought leader in medical education and the delivery of compassionate and humane care. As a teacher of mindfulness, she is sought after by doctors at all stages of their careers, and she leads the development of national programming in physician health for Joule, a subsidiary of the Canadian Medical Association. Her writing about medicine appears frequently in the LA Times, the Globe and Mail, and the Toronto Star, and her first book, We Are All Perfectly Fine, now a national best seller, was released by HarperCollins Canada in Feb 2021.
 

*You can find all previous Arts, Medicine & #Life talks as podcasts here.

Dr. Jillian Horton
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa
Dre Jillian Horton

Dre Nancy F. Olivieri en conversation avec Dre Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine & #Life

2022-05-24 19:00 2022-05-24 20:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Dre Nancy F. Olivieri en conversation avec Dre Jillian Horton

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31212

Événement Facebook Live

The Price of Advocacy: sowing moral courage in medicine. Nancy F. Olivieri, MD, MA, MFA, FRCP(C), est professeur de pédiatrie, de médecine et de sciences de la santé publique à l'Université de Toronto.  Forte d'une formation en médecine interne, en hématologie et en biologie moléculaire, la Dre Olivieri travaille depuis plus de 30 ans dans le domaine de la thalassémie, une maladie du sang qui touche principalement les...

Read more

mardi 24 mai 2022
19 h HAE
Facebook Live
Dre Jillian Horton
Causeries
  • Événement Facebook Live
  • Anglais

The Price of Advocacy: sowing moral courage in medicine.

Nancy F. Olivieri, MD, MA, MFA, FRCP(C), est professeur de pédiatrie, de médecine et de sciences de la santé publique à l'Université de Toronto. 

Forte d'une formation en médecine interne, en hématologie et en biologie moléculaire, la Dre Olivieri travaille depuis plus de 30 ans dans le domaine de la thalassémie, une maladie du sang qui touche principalement les enfants des pays émergents, notamment en Asie par l'entremise d'Hemoglobal®, un organisme de bienfaisance qu'elle a fondé pour améliorer la prise en charge de ces enfants dans le monde entier.

En 2003, Dre Olivieri a obtenu une maîtrise en éthique médicale et en droit au Kings' College, au Royaume-Uni, avec une thèse portant sur la résistance éthique dans la recherche médicale.  Elle a créé et continue d'enseigner un cours, intitulé "Santé et produits pharmaceutiques", à des étudiants de premier et deuxième cycles, sur les influences de l'industrie pharmaceutique dans la recherche et la médecine. 

En 2021, Dre Olivieri a obtenu une maîtrise des beaux-arts en non-fiction créative au King's College de Halifax. Son livre - What They Knew : A True Story of Drugs, Death and Deception - est toujours en préparation.  Ce n'est pas le seul livre sur ce conflit : John Le Carré a écrit un thriller, The Constant Gardener, basé sur ce scandale, en observant que "comparé à la réalité, [sa fiction] était aussi insipide qu'une carte postale de vacances".

Dre JILLIAN HORTON est une éducatrice médicale, autrice, musicienne, et baladodiffuseuse primée. Ancienne doyenne associée de l’Université du Manitoba, elle a soigné des milliers de patients dans un hôpital du centre-ville et fournit maintenant des soins aux personnes vivant avec une dépendance. En 2020, elle reçoit le prestigieux prix AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism Award, qui la reconnaît comme chef de file nationale en éducation médicale et en soins prodigués avec bienveillance et compassion. Comme enseignante de méditation axée sur la pleine conscience, elle est consultée par des médecins à toutes les étapes de leurs carrières, et dirige l’élaboration de la programmation nationale en santé des médecins pour Joule, une filiale de l’Association médicale canadienne. Ses textes sur la médecine sont souvent publiés dans le LA Times, le Globe and Mail et le Toronto Star, et son premier livre, We Are All Perfectly Fine, maintenant un best-seller national, a été publié par HarperCollins Canada en février 2021.

*Vous pouvez trouver tous les balados précédents sur Arts, Medicine & #Life ici (en anglais seulement).

Dre Jillian Horton
Menu