Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

Mary Halvorson's Code Girl

TD Ottawa Jazz Festival

2022-06-25 21:00 2022-06-25 19:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Mary Halvorson's Code Girl

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31193

In-person event

Code Girl is the latest project of guitarist and composer Mary Halvorson, and her first project for which she has composed both lyrics and music. The band has been described as “...a bold experiment in song form” by The New York Times. Deftly interpreted by Amirtha Kidambi (vocals), Adam O’Farrill (trumpet),  Brian Settles (tenor saxophone), Michael Formanek (bass) and Tomas Fujiwara (drums), the music synthesizes influences of jazz, folk and improvisation to create an...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, June 25, 2022
9 PM EDT
Music Jazz Festival events
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

Code Girl is the latest project of guitarist and composer Mary Halvorson, and her first project for which she has composed both lyrics and music. The band has been described as “...a bold experiment in song form” by The New York Times. Deftly interpreted by Amirtha Kidambi (vocals), Adam O’Farrill (trumpet),  Brian Settles (tenor saxophone), Michael Formanek (bass) and Tomas Fujiwara (drums), the music synthesizes influences of jazz, folk and improvisation to create an original take on songwriting. Code Girl’s debut album was a top ten record in the 2018 annual NPR Jazz Critics Poll.

“Halvorson's music has always had the capacity to surprise, but Code Girl amounts to the most startling move in her solo career.” -Nate Chinen, NPR

“With strong compositions delivered by an excellent ensemble, the album's puzzles remain a treat to continually almost crack.” -Justin Cober-Lake, PopMatters

“(Code Girl) is an album that touches upon various musical traditions in oblique fashion, but it’s most recognizable as yet another major step in Halvorson’s meteoric ascent.” -Peter Margasak, bandcamp daily

***

Guitarist and composer Mary Halvorson has been described as “a singular talent” (Lloyd Sachs, JazzTimes), ”NYC’s least-predictable improviser” (Howard Mandel, City Arts), “one of the most exciting and original guitarists in jazz—or otherwise” (Steve Dollar, Wall Street Journal), and “one of today’s most formidable bandleaders” (Francis Davis, Village Voice). In recent Downbeat Critics Polls Halvorson has been celebrated as guitarist, rising star jazz artist, and rising star composer of the year, and in 2019 she was awarded a MacArthur Fellowship. Halvorson has released a series of critically acclaimed albums on the Firehouse 12 label, from Dragon’s Head (2008), her trio debut featuring bassist John Hébert and drummer Ches Smith, expanding to a quintet with trumpeter Jonathan Finlayson and alto saxophonist Jon Irabagon on Saturn Sings (2010) and Bending Bridges (2012), a septet with tenor saxophonist Ingrid Laubrock and trombonist Jacob Garchik on Illusionary Sea (2014), and finally an octet with pedal steel guitarist Susan Alcorn on Away With You (2016). She also released the solo recording Meltframe (2015), and most recently debuted her song project Code Girl (2018). One of New York City’s most in-demand guitarists, over the past decade Halvorson has worked with such diverse musicians as Tim Berne, Anthony Braxton, Taylor Ho Bynum, John Dieterich, Trevor Dunn, Bill Frisell, Ingrid Laubrock, Jason Moran, Joe Morris, Tom Rainey, Jessica Pavone, Tomeka Reid, Marc Ribot and John Zorn. She is also part of several collaborative projects, most notably the longstanding trio Thumbscrew with Michael Formanek on bass and Tomas Fujiwara on drums.

Amirtha Kidambi is a vocalist, composer and improviser, playing in groups including the Early Music inspired dark folk band Seaven Teares, the analog percussion and light ensemble Ashcan Orchestra, and Darius Jones’ vocal quartet Elizabeth-Caroline Unit. As an improviser and collaborator, she has played with Matana Roberts, Daniel Carter, Darius Jones, Trevor Dunn, Jaimie Branch, Brandon Lopez, and many innovators in the New York scene. Recent projects and upcoming collaborations include the premiere of AACM founder and legendary composer/pianist Muhal Richard Abrams’ Dialogue Social, Darius Jones’ The Oversoul Manual at Carnegie Hall, a premiere of electronic composer Ben Vida’s work Slipping Control for voice and electronics with Tyondai Braxton at the Borderline Festival in Athens, Greece, the premiere of the late Robert Ashley’s final opera CRASH, and a commission from the Jerome Foundation for her own quartet Elder Ones (Matt Nelson, Brandon Lopez, Max Jaffe) at Roulette, followed by a residency at EMPAC to record the group’s debut album, with a November 2016 release planned. Amirtha is a 2016-2017 Asian Cultural Council Fellow, and will travel to India for intensive study in Carnatic vocal music.

Brooklyn-bred Adam O’Farrill has emerged as a “rising star as a player and composer” (PopMatters) and “a blazing young trumpet talent” (The New York Times). Beginning his career in his teenage years performing with his father, the pianist and composer Arturo O’Farrill, Adam has gone on to work with a wide range of artists such as Mary Halvorson, Rudresh Mahanthappa, Mulatu Astatke, Brasstracks, Kambui Olujimi, Samora Pinderhughes, Sarah Kay, and Anna Webber. His most recent album, 2018’s El Maquech (Biophilia Records) received critical acclaim, including the Wall Street Journal, who wrote that “the band presents rambunctious music that is equally rustic and modern,” as well as receiving Best of the Year mentions from The Boston Globe and the NPR Jazz Critics Poll. In both 2019 and 2021, O’Farrill won the Downbeat Critics Poll for Rising Star Trumpeter. Adam has been recognized and awarded for his composing as well, receiving commissions and grants from The Jazz Gallery, The Shifting Foundation, Metropolis Ensemble, and ASCAP.

Saxophonist and composer Brian Settles has established himself as a rising force with a long-term artistic vision. Settles blends the outwardly engaging with the deeply personal, reconciling his intimate command of the jazz lineage with a commitment to his own experimental voice. He performs regularly and has recorded with some of modern jazz’s leading groups, including Jonathan Finlayson Sextet and Quartet, Chad Taylor Trio, Michael Formanek’s Ensemble Kolossus, and bands led by Jason Moran and Joe Chambers; Settles has also accompanied the likes of Gil Scott-Heron and Tomas Stanko.

One marker of bassist Michael Formanek's creativity and versatility is the range of distinguished musicians of several generations he's worked with. While still a teenager in the 1970s he toured with drummer Tony Williams and saxophonist Joe Henderson; starting in the '80s he played long stints with Stan Getz, Gerry Mulligan, Fred Hersch and Freddie Hubbard. The bassist has played a pivotal role on New York's creative jazz scene going back to the '90s when he notably led his own quintet and played in Tim Berne's barnstorming quartet Bloodcount. Nowadays Formanek's in the co-op Thumbscrew with Brooklyn guitarist Mary Halvorson and drummer Tomas Fujiwara. Formanek is also a composer and leader of various bands. His principal recording and international touring vehicle is his acclaimed quartet with Tim Berne on alto saxophone, Craig Taborn on piano and Gerald Cleaver on drums, which records for ECM; 2010's The Rub and Spare Change and 2012's Small Places both earned coveted five-star raves in Downbeat. Formanek writes, and the quartet plays, compositions of great rhythmic sophistication that unfold in a natural sounding way – challenging music the players make sound like lyrical free expression.  His occasional groups include the 18-piece all-star Ensemble Kolossus, roping in many New York improvisers he works with. Ensemble Kolossus recorded their first CD of all Formanek originals, The Distance, for the prestigious ECM label that was released in February of 2016, and received a five-star review in Downbeat.

Tomas Fujiwara is a Brooklyn-based drummer, composer, and band leader. Described as “a ubiquitous presence in the New York scene…an artist whose urbane writing is equal to his impressively nuanced drumming” (Point of Departure), Tomas is an active player in some of the most exciting music of the current generation, with his bands Triple Double, 7 Poets Trio, and Tomas Fujiwara & The Hook Up; the collective trio Thumbscrew (with Mary Halvorson and Michael Formanek); and a diversity of creative work with Anthony Braxton, John Zorn, Mary Halvorson, Matana Roberts, Joe Morris, Taylor Ho Bynum, Nicole Mitchell, Ben Goldberg, Tomeka Reid, Amir ElSaffar, Benoit Delbecq, and many others. “Drummer Tomas Fujiwara works with rhythm as a pliable substance, solid but ever shifting. His style is forward-driving but rarely blunt or aggressive, and never random. He has a way of spreading out the center of a pulse while setting up a rigorous scaffolding of restraint…A conception of the drum set as a full-canvas instrument, almost orchestral in its scope.” (New York Times).

video:
  • vocals Amirtha Kidambi - vocals
  • trumpet Adam O’Farrill
  • tenor saxophone Brian Settles
  • guitar Mary Halvorson
  • bass Michael Formanek
  • drums Tomas Fujiwara
Menu

Code Girl de Mary Halvorson

Festival de jazz d’Ottawa TD

2022-06-25 21:00 2022-06-25 19:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Code Girl de Mary Halvorson

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31193

Événement en personne

Code Girl, le plus récent album de la guitariste et compositrice Mary Halvorson est son premier projet pour lequel elle écrit à la fois les paroles et compose la musique. Le New York Times décrit le groupe comme « ...une expérience audacieuse dans la forme des chansons ». Habilement interprétée par Amirtha Kidambi (voix), Adam O’Farrill (trompette), Brian Settles (saxophone ténor), Michael Formanek (contrebasse)...

Read more

Studio Azrieli ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 25 juin 2022
21 h HAE
Musique Jazz Festival
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Code Girl, le plus récent album de la guitariste et compositrice Mary Halvorson est son premier projet pour lequel elle écrit à la fois les paroles et compose la musique. Le New York Times décrit le groupe comme « ...une expérience audacieuse dans la forme des chansons ». Habilement interprétée par Amirtha Kidambi (voix), Adam O’Farrill (trompette), Brian Settles (saxophone ténor), Michael Formanek (contrebasse) et Tomas Fujiwara (batterie), la musique synthétise les influences du jazz, du folk et de l’improvisation pour créer une approche originale de l’écriture de chansons. L’album Code Girl se retrouve parmi les dix meilleurs disques du sondage annuel des critiques de jazz de NPR en 2018.

« La musique d’Halvorson a toujours eu la capacité de surprendre, mais Code Girl équivaut au geste le plus saisissant de sa carrière solo. » - Nate Chinen, NPR

« Avec des compositions fortes livrées par un excellent ensemble, c’est tout un plaisir d’arriver à presque dénouer les intrigues de l’album. » - Justin Cober-Lake, PopMatters

« L’album Code Girl touche à diverses traditions musicales de manière oblique, mais il est surtout reconnaissable comme une nouvelle étape majeure dans l’ascension fulgurante de Halvorson. » - Peter Margasak, bandcamp daily

La guitariste et compositrice Mary Halvorson a « un talent particulier » (Lloyd Sachs, JazzTimes), est « l’improvisatrice la moins prévisible de New York » (Howard Mandel, City Arts), « l’une des guitaristes les plus passionnantes et les plus originales du jazz, et des autres styles » (Steve Dollar, Wall Street Journal) et « l’une des leaders les plus formidables d’aujourd’hui » (Francis Davis, Village Voice). Dans les récents sondages des critiques de DownBeat, Halvorson constitue la guitariste, la compositrice et l’artiste de jazz la plus en vue de l’année, et en 2019, elle a reçu une bourse MacArthur. Halvorson a lancé une suite d’albums à géométrie variable acclamés par la critique sur l’étiquette Firehouse 12, dont Dragon’s Head (2008), un trio avec le contrebassiste John Hébert et le batteur Ches Smith, Saturn Sings (2010) et Bending Bridges (2012) en quintette avec le trompettiste Jonathan Finlayson et le saxophoniste alto Jon Irabagon, Illusionary Sea (2014) en septuor avec la saxophoniste ténor Ingrid Laubrock et le tromboniste Jacob Garchik et Away With You (2016) en octuor avec la guitariste pedal steel Susan Alcorn. Elle lance également l’album solo Meltframe (2015), et plus récemment son projet de chansons Code Girl (2018). L’une des guitaristes les plus recherchées de New York, Halvorson a travaillé au cours de la dernière décennie avec des musiciens aussi divers que Tim Berne, Anthony Braxton, Taylor Ho Bynum, John Dieterich, Trevor Dunn, Bill Frisell, Ingrid Laubrock, Jason Moran, Joe Morris, Tom Rainey, Jessica Pavone, Tomeka Reid, Marc Ribot et John Zorn. Elle fait également partie de plusieurs projets de collaboration, notamment le trio de longue date Thumbscrew avec le contrebassiste Michael Formanek et le batteur Tomas Fujiwara.

La vocaliste, compositrice et improvisatrice Amirtha Kidambi joue dans le groupe de folk sombre Seaven Teares, inspiré par la musique ancienne, l’ensemble de percussions analogiques et de lumière Ashcan Orchestra ainsi que le quatuor vocal Elizabeth-Caroline Unit de Darius Jones. À titre d’improvisatrice et de collaboratrice, elle joue avec Matana Roberts, Daniel Carter, Darius Jones, Trevor Dunn, Jaimie Branch, Brandon Lopez et de nombreux innovateurs de la scène new‑yorkaise. Parmi les projets récents et les collaborations à venir, citons la première de Dialogue Social du fondateur de l’AACM et compositeur-pianiste légendaire Muhal Richard Abrams, The Oversoul Manual de Darius Jones au Carnegie Hall, la première de l’œuvre Slipping Control pour voix et électronique du compositeur électronique Ben Vida avec Tyondai Braxton au Festival Borderline à Athènes, Grèce, la première du dernier opéra de feu Robert Ashley, CRASH, et une commande de la Jerome Foundation pour son propre quatuor Elder Ones (Matt Nelson, Brandon Lopez, Max Jaffe) à Roulette, suivie d’une résidence à l’EMPAC pour enregistrer le premier album du groupe, avec un lancement prévu en novembre 2016. Amirtha est boursière de 2016-2017 du Conseil culturel asiatique, et se rendra en Inde pour une étude intensive de la musique vocale carnatique.

Originaire de Brooklyn, Adam O’Farrill est une « étoile montante en tant que musicien et compositeur » (PopMatters) et « un jeune trompettiste talentueux » (New York Times). À l’adolescence, il joue avec son père, le pianiste et compositeur Arturo O’Farrill, et travaille ensuite avec une longue brochette d’artistes tels que Mary Halvorson, Rudresh Mahanthappa, Mulatu Astatke, Brasstracks, Kambui Olujimi, Samora Pinderhughes, Sarah Kay et Anna Webber. Son album le plus récent, El Maquech (Biophilia Records) de 2018, est salué par la critique, notamment par le Wall Street Journal, pour qui « le groupe présente une musique turbulente, à la fois rustique et moderne », et est sacré le « meilleur album de l’année » par le Boston Globe et le sondage des critiques de jazz de NPR. En 2019 et 2021, O’Farrill remporte le sondage des critiques de DownBeat dans la catégorie « étoile montante de la trompette ». Adam est également reconnu et récompensé pour ses compositions, et a droit à des commandes et à des subventions du Jazz Gallery, de la Shifting Foundation, du Metropolis Ensemble et de l’ASCAP.

Le saxophoniste et compositeur Brian Settles s’est imposé comme une force montante dotée d’une vision artistique à long terme. Il allie l’engagement extérieur et le côté profondément personnel, conciliant sa maîtrise intime de la lignée du jazz et son engagement envers sa propre voix expérimentale. Il se produit régulièrement et a enregistré avec certains des groupes les plus importants du jazz moderne, notamment le Jonathan Finlayson Sextet and Quartet, le Chad Taylor Trio, l’Ensemble Kolossus de Michael Formanek et les groupes dirigés par Jason Moran et Joe Chambers. Settles a également accompagné des artistes tels que Gil Scott-Heron et Tomas Stanko.

La créativité et la polyvalence du contrebassiste Michael Formanek se manifestent notamment par l’éventail d’éminents musiciens de diverses générations avec lesquels il a travaillé. Dans les années 1970, alors adolescent, il fait des tournées avec le batteur Tony Williams et le saxophoniste Joe Henderson. À partir des années 1980, il joue de longues périodes avec Stan Getz, Gerry Mulligan, Fred Hersch et Freddie Hubbard. Il occupe un rôle central sur la scène créative du jazz de New York depuis les années 1990, notamment en dirigeant son propre quintette et en jouant dans le quatuor Bloodcount de Tim Berne. Aujourd’hui, Formanek fait partie de la coopérative Thumbscrew avec la guitariste de Brooklyn Mary Halvorson et le batteur Tomas Fujiwara. Formanek est également compositeur et leader de divers groupes. Son principal véhicule d’enregistrement et de tournée internationale est son quatuor acclamé avec Tim Berne au saxophone alto, Craig Taborn au piano et Gerald Cleaver à la batterie, qui enregistre sur ECM The Rub and Spare Change (2010) et Small Places (2012), deux albums qui obtiennent les cinq étoiles convoitées de DownBeat. Formanek écrit, et le quatuor joue, des compositions d’une grande sophistication rythmique qui se déploient de manière naturelle, une musique difficile que les musiciens font sonner comme une expression libre et lyrique. Parmi ses groupes occasionnels, notons l’Ensemble Kolossus, ensemble de 18 musiciens, auquel participent de nombreux collègues improvisateurs new-yorkais. L’Ensemble Kolossus enregistre The Distance, son premier CD de pièces originales de Formanek, sur la prestigieuse étiquette ECM. Cet album lancé en février 2016 a droit aux cinq étoiles de DownBeat.

Le batteur, compositeur et leader de Brooklyn Tomas Fujiwara est « omniprésent sur la scène new-yorkaise... un artiste dont l’écriture urbaine est égale à son jeu de batterie impressionnant et nuancé » (Point of Departure). Acteur actif de la musique la plus passionnante de la génération actuelle, il a formé les groupes Triple Double, 7 Poets Trio et Tomas Fujiwara & The Hook Up, le trio collectif Thumbscrew (avec Mary Halvorson et Michael Formanek) et une diversité d’œuvres créatives avec Anthony Braxton, John Zorn, Mary Halvorson, Matana Roberts, Joe Morris, Taylor Ho Bynum, Nicole Mitchell, Ben Goldberg, Tomeka Reid, Amir ElSaffar, Benoit Delbecq, etc. « Le batteur Tomas Fujiwara travaille le rythme comme une substance malléable, solide, mais toujours en mouvement. Son style progresse, mais est rarement brutal ou agressif, et jamais aléatoire. Il a une façon d’étendre le centre d’une pulsation tout en mettant en place un échafaudage rigoureux de retenue... Il voit dans sa batterie un instrument à part entière, avec une portée presque orchestrale. » - New York Times

video:
  • voix Amirtha Kidambi - vocals
  • trompette Adam O’Farrill
  • saxophone tenor Brian Settles
  • guitare Mary Halvorson
  • basse Michael Formanek
  • batterie Tomas Fujiwara
Menu