Tigran Hamasyan © Davide Monteleone

Tigran Hamasyan

2022-11-18 20:00 2022-11-18 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Tigran Hamasyan

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31127

In-person event

If there’s a downside to the new versions of Great American Songbook tunes released by singers and jazz instrumentalists each year, it’s the shared sense that the songs themselves are hallowed. Untouchable. As though anyone covering “Laura” or “Body and Soul” signed a non-aggression pact, vowing to tread lightly through the essential elements of the songs. What transpires on StandArt, Tigran Hamasyan’s first collection of songs associated with the Great...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, November 18, 2022
8 PM EDT
Tigran Hamasyan © Davide Monteleone
Music Jazz
  • In-person event

If there’s a downside to the new versions of Great American Songbook tunes released by singers and jazz instrumentalists each year, it’s the shared sense that the songs themselves are hallowed. Untouchable. As though anyone covering “Laura” or “Body and Soul” signed a non-aggression pact, vowing to tread lightly through the essential elements of the songs.

What transpires on StandArt, Tigran Hamasyan’s first collection of songs associated with the Great American Songbook, is something entirely different. The enduring familiar melodies of “Laura” and the jam-session warhorse “All the Things You Are” are there, rendered with great spirit. But just about every other facet of the music undergoes vivid, sometimes startling reimagining.

“Armenian-born, US-resident Tigran Hamasyan is a pianist and composer of rare distinction.” - Jazzwise

“Hamasyan is shining his own unique light on his homeland's ancient traditions.” - NPR

video: Tigran Hamasyan - De-Dah (Official Video)
Tigran Hamasyan - De-Dah (Official Video)
Tigran Hamasyan © Davide Monteleone
Menu

Perturbations à la circulation - Fête du Canada
Tigran Hamasyan © Davide Monteleone

Tigran Hamasyan

2022-11-18 20:00 2022-11-18 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Tigran Hamasyan

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31127

Événement en personne

S’attaquer au Grand répertoire américain de la chanson relève du défi. Bon nombre d’interprètes et d’instrumentistes de jazz s’y sont risqués ces dernières années, et il faut bien se rendre à l’évidence que ces chansons sont sacrées, intouchables. Toute personne souhaitant reprendre Laura ou Body and Soul se doit de signer un pacte de non-agression, en promettant de conserver les...

Read more

Studio Azrieli ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
vendredi 18 novembre 2022
20 h HAE
Tigran Hamasyan © Davide Monteleone
Musique Jazz
  • Événement en personne

S’attaquer au Grand répertoire américain de la chanson relève du défi. Bon nombre d’interprètes et d’instrumentistes de jazz s’y sont risqués ces dernières années, et il faut bien se rendre à l’évidence que ces chansons sont sacrées, intouchables. Toute personne souhaitant reprendre Laura ou Body and Soul se doit de signer un pacte de non-agression, en promettant de conserver les éléments essentiels des chansons.

Avec StandArt, son premier album de reprises des standards américains, Tigran Hamasyan a pris quelques libertés. Le thème mélodique familier de Laura est respecté, tout comme les moments d’improvisation de All the Things You Are, rendus à la perfection. Pour tout le reste, Tigran Hamasyan propose des arrangements vibrants, parfois même surprenants.

« Installé États-Unis, Tigran Hamasyan est un pianiste et un compositeur arménien d’une rare élégance. » – Jazzwise

« Hamasyan pose un regard unique sur les traditions de sa terre natale. » – NPR

video: Tigran Hamasyan - De-Dah
Tigran Hamasyan - De-Dah
Tigran Hamasyan © Davide Monteleone
Menu