Bruce Liu Plays Rachmaninoff

NACO Live

Music Classical music Masterworks Piano

Watch more in this series

  • NAC Orchestra

  Sep 9, 2022 - 8 PM EDT

R. Strauss Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks Rachmaninoff Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini DINUK WIJERATNE Polyphonic Lively R. Strauss Suite from Der Rosenkavalier

Less than a year after his resounding First Prize win at the internationally prestigious Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw, Montreal pianist Bruce Liu makes his debut with the NAC Orchestra in our season opener, bringing one of Rachmaninoff’s most popular and romantic works to Southam Hall. Joyful, playful, and just plain fun: this is Rachmaninoff’s delightful Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini.  

Two contrasting works by Richard Strauss bookend the concert, one full of comic delight and the other filled with some of music’s most tender and heartbreaking passages. First, the composer’s lively and comical Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks recounts the misadventures of an irrepressible peasant folk hero who exposes the constant skirmishes between the forces of repression and the lust for freedom. About the work, Strauss said, “I only wanted to give the people in the concert hall a good laugh for once.”  

The sublime beauty of Strauss’s Suite from Der Rosenkavalier, from his opera Der Rosenkavalier, travels in a contrasting but equally rewarding direction, evoking both the wonder and turbulence in the struggles of love.  

Canadian composer Dinuk Wijeratne was inspired to write his Polyphonic Lively by Paul Klee’s painting of the same name. The work is a kaleidoscope of orchestral timbres (much like the vibrant colours in the Swiss-German artist’s style). Wijeratne describes his work as “character-driven—through sharp turns and decisive action, its ‘journey’ is simply what the characters make of it. Its musical fabric is a multiplicity of voices, lines, and themes that decide—on a whim—when to coalesce and coexist.” 

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Bruce Liu joue Rachmaninov

L'OCNA en direct

Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Piano
  • l'Orchestre du CNA

  9 sep 2022 - 20 h HAE

R. Strauss Les Joyeuses Facéties de Till l’Espiègle Rachmaninov Rhapsodie sur un theme de Paganini DINUK WIJERATNE Polyphonic Lively R. Strauss Suite de Der Rosenkavalier

Moins d’un an s’est écoulé depuis la victoire retentissante du pianiste montréalais Bruce Liu, qui a remporté le premier prix au Concours international de piano Chopin, à Varsovie. Le voici maintenant qui collabore pour une première fois avec l’Orchestre du CNA, et ce, pour le concert d’ouverture de la saison. Il viendra jouer, dans la Salle Southam, l’une des œuvres les plus romantiques et les mieux connues de Rachmaninov. Une œuvre joyeuse, ludique et tout simplement remplie de gaieté : Rhapsodie sur un thème de Paganini

Le concert s’ouvre et se conclut sur des pièces de Richard Strauss qui proposent un contraste : l’une est légère et amusante, alors que l’autre est on ne peut plus mélancolique. L’assistance aura d’abord droit à des airs vivants et rigolos. Till l’Espiègle relate les mésaventures d’un héros du folklore, un paysan qui raconte l’éternelle bataille entre répression et désir de liberté. Strauss a déjà dit à propos de cette pièce : « J’avais envie de faire rire les spectateurs pour une fois. » 

D’une beauté sublime, la suite du Chevalier à la rose, tirée de l’opéra Le Chevalier à la rose de Strauss, évoque aussi une certaine victoire, mais sous un angle tout autre, celui des merveilles et des tourments de l’amour. 

Pour Polyphonic Lively, le compositeur canadien Dinuk Wijeratne s’est laissé inspirer par une peinture du même nom de l’artiste suisse allemand Paul Klee. La pièce propose un kaléidoscope de timbres orchestraux qui n’est pas sans rappeler le style vibrant et coloré de Klee. Voici comment Wijeratne décrit son œuvre : « Tout part des personnages. Les grands revirements comme les gestes décisifs. Le parcours, ce sont les personnages qui le définissent. Le tissu musical est composé d’une multitude de voix, de répliques et de thèmes qui – comme par caprice – fusionnent et défusionnent à l’envie. » 

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu