October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
So Called

Socalled Sings with Strings

Yiddish Folksongs

2021-11-24 20:00 2021-11-24 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Socalled Sings with Strings

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29719

In-person event

Socalled (Josh Dolgin), “the mad wizard of Yiddish Hip-Hop”, goes back to his roots on this ground-breaking, heartbreaking program, Socalled sings Yiddish with Strings. Featuring a string quartet, the program presents songs from the Yiddish Theatre, Hassidic melodies, Klezmer, folksong, songs from the Holocaust, from Israel, and even some original new songs. Through song, so much history and culture can be exposed and given new life. The quartet arrangements give the music the...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Wednesday, November 24, 2021
8 PM EDT
So Called
Music Singer/Songwriter Hip-hop Folk

In-person event

Socalled (Josh Dolgin), “the mad wizard of Yiddish Hip-Hop”, goes back to his roots on this ground-breaking, heartbreaking program, Socalled sings Yiddish with Strings. Featuring a string quartet, the program presents songs from the Yiddish Theatre, Hassidic melodies, Klezmer, folksong, songs from the Holocaust, from Israel, and even some original new songs.

Through song, so much history and culture can be exposed and given new life. The quartet arrangements give the music the harmonic respect it deserves, an integral and often overlooked element in presenting this material.

The program is funny, sad, beautiful, and dark with a diverse range of styles, colours, keys, modes and moods. The Yiddish revival is over, it’s the Yiddish era again; so let’s dig deep, let’s celebrate and explore the riches of this extraordinary culture.

video:
So Called
Menu

So Called

Socalled Sings with Strings

Yiddish Folksongs

2021-11-24 20:00 2021-11-24 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Socalled Sings with Strings

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29719

Événement en personne

Socalled (Josh Dolgin), "le magicien fou du hip-hop yiddish", retourne à ses racines dans ce programme révolutionnaire et déchirant, Socalled sings Yiddish with Strings. Avec un quatuor à cordes, le programme présente des chansons du théâtre yiddish, des mélodies hassidiques, du klezmer, du folklore, des chansons de l'Holocauste, d'Israël, et même de nouvelles chansons originales. Le chant permet d'exposer et de...

Read more

Studio Azrieli,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mercredi 24 novembre 2021
20 h HAE
So Called
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Hip-hop Folk

Événement en personne

Socalled (Josh Dolgin), "le magicien fou du hip-hop yiddish", retourne à ses racines dans ce programme révolutionnaire et déchirant, Socalled sings Yiddish with Strings. Avec un quatuor à cordes, le programme présente des chansons du théâtre yiddish, des mélodies hassidiques, du klezmer, du folklore, des chansons de l'Holocauste, d'Israël, et même de nouvelles chansons originales.

Le chant permet d'exposer et de redonner vie à tant d'histoire et de culture. Les arrangements du quatuor donnent à la musique le respect harmonique qu'elle mérite, un élément intégral et souvent négligé dans la présentation de ce matériel.

Le programme est drôle, triste, beau et sombre, avec une gamme variée de styles, de couleurs, de tonalités, de modes et d'humeurs. Le renouveau du yiddish est terminé, c'est à nouveau l'ère du yiddish ; alors creusons, célébrons et explorons les richesses de cette culture extraordinaire. 

video:
So Called
Menu