William Prince © J. Senft

William Prince

with Amanda Rheaume

2022-03-30 19:30 2022-03-30 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: William Prince

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29368

In-person event

For his eagerly-awaited sophomore album, songwriter William Prince begins with single word, Reliever, which informs a collection of exceptionally rendered explorations of what, who and how peace is found. Relievers come in all forms; for Prince, it is song. With its emphasis on words and confidently unfussed accompaniment, Reliever puts Prince’s gift for sparking powerful emotions of both personal and communal relevance at the fore. A masterclass in skillful simplicity, Reliever works a...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
7:30 PM EDT
This event has passed
William Prince © J. Senft
William Prince © J. Senft
Amanda Rheaume © Jen Squires
Music Vocal Singer/Songwriter Blues Folk
  • In-person event

For his eagerly-awaited sophomore album, songwriter William Prince begins with single word, Reliever, which informs a collection of exceptionally rendered explorations of what, who and how peace is found. Relievers come in all forms; for Prince, it is song. With its emphasis on words and confidently unfussed accompaniment, Reliever puts Prince’s gift for sparking powerful emotions of both personal and communal relevance at the fore. A masterclass in skillful simplicity, Reliever works a generous and profound kind of magic.

Prince’s influences and references, from the gospel of his childhood to Christopher Wallace’s sermonsof a different sort, the pantheon of classic outlaw country singers, baseball and the great beyond, shape Reliever into a collection that approaches the big questions with humility and curiosity. At the edge of the ocean, between father and son, from stranger to lover, the album flows through the places and moments where real connections and healing happen.

To make Reliever, Prince reconvened with producers Dave Cobb in Nashville and Scott Nolan in Winnipeg, the team behind his JUNO Award winning debut and subsequent Glassnote Records reissue, Earthly Days. With the song “Breathless,” Earthly Days introduced Prince’s poignant philosophy and rich baritone to the world. Prince’s trajectory from Peguis First Nation in Manitoba, Canada, to opening for Neil Young, has seen the relative newcomer find esteem and career-changing opportunity wherever he performs.

Amanda Rheaume’s rootsy, guitar-driven ballads introduce crucial dimensions to the world of Heartland Rock. In a genre characterized by anthems of underdogs, assumptions and unfair advantages, Rheaume’s sound and story crucially and radically expand the boundaries, geographic and cultural, to make space for new perspectives on resistance and resilience. A Citizen of the Métis Nation, and an active and proud member of the 2SLGBTQ+ community, Rheaume’s music is indeed from the heart, and the land. 

William Prince © J. Senft
William Prince © J. Senft
Amanda Rheaume © Jen Squires
Menu

William Prince © J. Senft

William Prince

avec Amanda Rheaume

2022-03-30 19:30 2022-03-30 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : William Prince

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29368

Événement en personne

Pour son deuxième album très attendu, l'auteur-compositeur William Prince commence par un seul mot, Reliever, qui informe une collection d'explorations exceptionnellement rendues sur ce que, qui et comment on trouve la paix. Les soulageurs se présentent sous toutes les formes ; pour Prince, c'est la chanson. En mettant l'accent sur les mots et en s'accompagnant avec confiance et simplicité, Reliever met en avant le don de Prince pour susciter des...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mercredi 30 mars 2022
19 h 30 HAE
Cet événement est passé
William Prince © J. Senft
William Prince © J. Senft
Amanda Rheaume © Jen Squires
Musique Voix Auteur-compositeur-interprète Blues Folk
  • Événement en personne

Pour son deuxième album très attendu, l'auteur-compositeur William Prince commence par un seul mot, Reliever, qui informe une collection d'explorations exceptionnellement rendues sur ce que, qui et comment on trouve la paix. Les soulageurs se présentent sous toutes les formes ; pour Prince, c'est la chanson. En mettant l'accent sur les mots et en s'accompagnant avec confiance et simplicité, Reliever met en avant le don de Prince pour susciter des émotions puissantes, tant sur le plan personnel que collectif. Chef-d'œuvre de simplicité habile, Reliever opère une sorte de magie généreuse et profonde.

Les influences et références de Prince, du gospel de son enfance aux sermons d'un autre type de Christopher Wallace, en passant par le panthéon des chanteurs de country outlaw classiques, le baseball et l'au-delà, font de Reliever un recueil qui aborde les grandes questions avec humilité et curiosité. Au bord de l'océan, entre père et fils, d'étranger à amoureux, l'album traverse les lieux et les moments où les vraies connexions et la guérison se produisent.

Pour réaliser Reliever, Prince a retrouvé les producteurs Dave Cobb à Nashville et Scott Nolan à Winnipeg, l'équipe derrière son premier album, Earthly Days, qui a remporté un prix JUNO et a été réédité par Glassnote Records. Avec la chanson " Breathless ", Earthly Days a fait découvrir au monde la philosophie poignante et le riche baryton de Prince. De Peguis First Nation au Manitoba, au Canada, à la scène de Neil Young, Prince, qui est relativement nouveau, a trouvé l'estime et l'occasion de changer sa carrière partout où il s'est produit.

Les ballades roots à la guitare d'Amanda Rheaume introduisent des dimensions cruciales dans le monde du Heartland Rock. Dans un genre caractérisé par des hymnes aux outsiders, aux suppositions et aux avantages injustes, le son et l'histoire d'Amanda Rheaume repoussent radicalement les frontières, géographiques et culturelles, pour faire place à de nouvelles perspectives sur la résistance et la résilience. Citoyen de la nation métisse et membre actif et fier de la communauté 2SLGBTQ+, la musique de Rhéaume vient vraiment du cœur et de la terre.

William Prince © J. Senft
William Prince © J. Senft
Amanda Rheaume © Jen Squires
Menu