October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Whitehorse

Whitehorse

2022-03-19 19:30 2022-03-19 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Whitehorse

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29262

In-person event

Since their debut in 2011, Toronto’s Whitehorse has evolved from magnetic folk duo to full-blown rock band. In truth, Whitehorse is never fully either one or the other, but an ever-evolving creative partnership between Melissa McClelland and Luke Doucet.   As five consecutive JUNO nominations in four categories attest, whether it be a holiday album or reworked blues covers or pop noir album, Whitehorse rises to every challenge with guitar wizardry and magnetic harmonies. With...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, March 19, 2022
7:30 PM EDT
Whitehorse
Music Rock

In-person event

Since their debut in 2011, Toronto’s Whitehorse has evolved from magnetic folk duo to full-blown rock band. In truth, Whitehorse is never fully either one or the other, but an ever-evolving creative partnership between Melissa McClelland and Luke Doucet.  

As five consecutive JUNO nominations in four categories attest, whether it be a holiday album or reworked blues covers or pop noir album, Whitehorse rises to every challenge with guitar wizardry and magnetic harmonies. With The Northern South Vol. 2, Whitehorse returned to their JUNO Blues Album of the Year nominated project, which reimagines the early days of electric blues. For the second instalment, The Northern South Vol. 2deals 1950s blues bops, sexed-up cuts and hellfire gospels to meld the grooves and melodies of the original selections with the band’s steamy, swampy, squalling approach. Both snapshot and slingshot, with an eye on the end-of-days and Whitehorse’s ear for blues grooves, The Northern South Vol. 2expanded the universe of the Northern South with foreplay, foreboding, fever and Fenders --plenty of them --on cuts from Howlin’ Wolf, Willie Dixon, Jimmy Reed, Slim Harpo and more. 

Whitehorse
Menu

Whitehorse

Whitehorse

2022-03-19 19:30 2022-03-19 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Whitehorse

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29262

Événement en personne

Depuis ses débuts en 2011, le groupe torontois Whitehorse est passé du statut de duo folk magnétique à celui de groupe rock à part entière. En vérité, Whitehorse n'est jamais complètement l'un ou l'autre, mais un partenariat créatif en constante évolution entre Melissa McClelland et Luke Doucet.   Comme en témoignent les cinq nominations consécutives aux JUNO dans quatre...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 19 mars 2022
19 h 30 HAE
Whitehorse
Musique Rock

Événement en personne

Depuis ses débuts en 2011, le groupe torontois Whitehorse est passé du statut de duo folk magnétique à celui de groupe rock à part entière. En vérité, Whitehorse n'est jamais complètement l'un ou l'autre, mais un partenariat créatif en constante évolution entre Melissa McClelland et Luke Doucet.  

Comme en témoignent les cinq nominations consécutives aux JUNO dans quatre catégories, qu'il s'agisse d'un album de vacances, de reprises de blues retravaillées ou d'un album de pop noir, Whitehorse relève tous les défis avec des guitares magiques et des harmonies magnétiques. Avec The Northern South Vol. 2, Whitehorse revient à son projet nommé Album de blues de l'année aux JUNO, qui réimagine les premiers jours du blues électrique. Pour le deuxième volet, The Northern South Vol. 2 traite des blues bops des années 1950, des morceaux sexués et des gospels de l'enfer pour fusionner les grooves et les mélodies des sélections originales avec l'approche torride, marécageuse et criarde du groupe. À la fois instantané et frondeur, avec un œil sur la fin des temps et l'oreille de Whitehorse pour les grooves du blues, The Northern South Vol. 2 élargit l'univers du Nord du Sud avec des préliminaires, des pressentiments, de la fièvre et des Fenders - en quantité - sur des morceaux de Howlin' Wolf, Willie Dixon, Jimmy Reed, Slim Harpo et plus encore. 

Whitehorse
Menu