September 21, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Leith Ross

Leith Ross

Fridays at the Fourth

2021-09-17 20:30 2021-09-17 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Leith Ross

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29211

In-person event

Leith Ross is a singer-songwriter and performing artist born and raised in the outskirts of Ottawa,  Ontario. Struck by a culmination of inspiration sourced from their celtic roots, and potentially the High School Musical series, Leith Ross became a vessel for their very own distinctive musical style. As a young person, songwriting quickly became Leith’s most dependable method of processing their identity and lived experiences. Like a metaphorical beating heart on a sleeve,...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, September 17, 2021
8:30 PM EDT
This event has passed
Leith Ross
Music Singer/Songwriter Pop Folk

In-person event

Leith Ross is a singer-songwriter and performing artist born and raised in the outskirts of Ottawa,  Ontario. Struck by a culmination of inspiration sourced from their celtic roots, and potentially the High School Musical series, Leith Ross became a vessel for their very own distinctive musical style. As a young person, songwriting quickly became Leith’s most dependable method of processing their identity and lived experiences. Like a metaphorical beating heart on a sleeve, Ross’ music is raw, vulnerable and often received with a deep sense of catharsis. 

Leith Ross’s debut EP Motherwell is an incredibly honest and intimate collection of songs.  The music was inspired by their own coming of age story, and written in hopes of providing the soundtrack to a shaping moment for someone else. Motherwell was humbly recorded live off the floor in one afternoon with college mates, and released in October 2020 on Birthday Cake.

Songs from Ross’s debut EP have been played on CBC Radio 2 as well as editorial playlists on Spotify, Amazon Music, and Apple Music. The EP received critical acclaim from Exclaim!, Stylus Magazine, Red Guitar Music, and indie blog If It’s Too Loud. 

“The phrase "wise beyond their years" implies that young people don't experience the world as deeply or intellectually as older people, but the wisdom that Ross applies to their music pierces on each song.” - Exclaim!

As they transition into the next phase of life, Leith Ross is using their new music to dive deeper into themes of identity,  finding a sense of self, and growing into understanding one’s relationship with the world around them.  With plans to share more with the world in the second half of 2021. Leith Ross will embark on their debut international tour in spring of 2022, supporting management and label mates The Bros. Landreth across the UK and Europe. 

Limited tickets, physically distanced

video:
Leith Ross
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 21 septembre 2021.
Leith Ross

Leith Ross

Vendredis à la Quatrième

2021-09-17 20:30 2021-09-17 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Leith Ross

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29211

Événement en personne

Artiste de scène qui compose et interprète ses propres chansons, Leith Ross est originaire de la région d’Ottawa et y a grandi. Son style musical distinctif s’inspire de ses racines celtiques et peut-être de la série High School Musical. Dans sa jeunesse, l’écriture de chansons est rapidement devenue son outil par excellence pour exprimer son identité et réfléchir à ses expériences. Comme un livre...

Read more

Quatrième Salle,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
vendredi 17 septembre 2021
20 h 30 HAE
Cet événement est passé
Leith Ross
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Pop Folk

Événement en personne

Artiste de scène qui compose et interprète ses propres chansons, Leith Ross est originaire de la région d’Ottawa et y a grandi. Son style musical distinctif s’inspire de ses racines celtiques et peut-être de la série High School Musical. Dans sa jeunesse, l’écriture de chansons est rapidement devenue son outil par excellence pour exprimer son identité et réfléchir à ses expériences. Comme un livre ouvert, sa musique est crue, pleine de vulnérabilité et comprend souvent une profonde dimension cathartique pour ses auditoires.

Leith Ross a fait paraître son premier minialbum, intitulé Motherwell, qui rassemble des chansons intimes et d’une grande authenticité. S’inspirant de son passage à l’âge adulte, celles-ci ont été écrites dans l’espoir de former la bande-son de moments importants de la vie de son public. Enregistré en direct en un après-midi avec des camarades de classe, Motherwell a été lancé sur la plateforme Birthday Cake en octobre 2020.

On a pu entendre les chansons de cet album sur les ondes de CBC Radio 2 ainsi que dans les sélections de la rédaction de Spotify, Amazon Music et Apple Music. L’album a d’ailleurs été salué par la critique, y compris dans Exclaim!, Stylus Magazine, Red Guitar Music et le blogue indie It’s Too Loud.

« L’expression avoir une sagesse étonnante pour son âge laisse entendre que les jeunes n’ont pas une expérience du monde aussi approfondie ou intellectuelle que leurs aînés, mais la sagesse musicale de Ross transparaît dans chacune de ses chansons. » - Exclaim!

Entamant une nouvelle phase dans sa vie, Leith Ross fait appel à la musique pour approfondir des thèmes d’identité et de quête de soi, et mieux comprendre sa relation avec le monde qui l’entoure. Souhaitant faire connaître sa musique à l’échelle internationale dès la deuxième partie de l’année 2021, Leith Ross entreprendra une première tournée internationale au printemps 2022 en appui à The Bros. Landreth, ses partenaires de gestion et d’étiquette, au Royaume-Uni et en Europe.

Nombre de billets limité, avec la distanciation physique

Leith Ross
Menu