May 20, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Clara Hughes in Conversation with Dr. Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine & #Life

6 PM EDT
Facebook Live
Authors Talks

Facebook Live event

Let's talk...but who goes first?

Clara Hughes, a dual-season Olympian, is the only athlete in history to win multiple medals at both the summer and winter Olympic Games. She also knows what it’s like to weather more than one season when it comes to mental health. She joins Dr. Horton to talk about her decision to pursue public advocacy, and to discuss why performance-driven cultures like medicine and sport need personal narratives to help us get past stigma and back to health.

Six-time Olympic medalist and mental health Advocate, Clara Hughes is the only athlete in Olympic history to win multiple medals in both summer and winter Games, representing Canada in both speed skating and cycling. In addition, she served as Team Canada’s flag-bearer at the 2010 Vancouver Olympic Games.

As the founding spokesperson for Bell Let’s Talk, a campaign designed to end the stigma attached to mental illness, Hughes helped jumpstart the conversation on mental wellness. In 2014, she completed a 110-day national bicycle tour through every province and territory in Canada called “Clara’s Big Ride”. She covered more than 11,000 kilometres, visited 105 communities, and hosted over 235 events to raise awareness for mental health. She is also the author of the bestselling memoir, Open Heart, Open Mind.

Over the course of her distinguished career, Hughes has won countless awards and accolades. She was awarded the International Olympic Committee’s Sport and Community Trophy, honoured with a star on Canada’s Walk of Fame, inducted into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame, and named a member of the Order of Manitoba and an Officer of the Order of Canada.

JILLIAN HORTON, M.D., is an award-winning medical educator, writer, musician and podcaster. A former Associate Dean at the University of Manitoba, she has cared for thousands of patients in an inner-city hospital, and now works to provide care to people living with addiction.  She is the winner of the prestigious 2020 AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism award, recognizing her as a national thought leader in medical education and the delivery of compassionate and humane care. As a teacher of mindfulness, she is sought after by doctors at all stages of their careers, and she leads the development of national programming in physician health for Joule, a subsidiary of the Canadian Medical Association. Her writing about medicine appears frequently in the LA Times, the Globe and Mail, and the Toronto Star, and her first book, We Are All Perfectly Fine, now a national best seller, was released by HarperCollins Canada in Feb 2021.
 

*You can find all previous Arts, Medicine & #Life talks as podcasts here.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 20 mai 2021.

Clara Hughes en conversation avec Dr. Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine & #Life

18 h HAE
Facebook Live
Littérature Causeries

Événement Facebook Live

Parlons-en.. mais qui commence? 
 

Clara Hughes, qui a participé aux Jeux olympiques pendant deux saisons, est la seule athlète de l'histoire à avoir remporté plusieurs médailles aux Jeux olympiques d'été et d'hiver. Elle sait aussi ce que c'est que d'affronter plus d'une saison lorsqu'il s'agit de santé mentale. Elle rejoint le Dr Horton pour parler de sa décision de se lancer dans la défense des intérêts publics et pour expliquer pourquoi les cultures axées sur la performance, comme la médecine et le sport, ont besoin de récits personnels pour nous aider à dépasser la stigmatisation et à retrouver la santé.

Six fois médaillée olympique, CLARA HUGHES, défenseure de la santé mentale, est la seule athlète de l'histoire olympique à avoir remporté plusieurs médailles aux Jeux d'été et d'hiver, représentant le Canada en patinage de vitesse et en cyclisme. De plus, elle a été le porte-drapeau de l'équipe canadienne aux Jeux olympiques de Vancouver en 2010.

En tant que porte-parole fondatrice de Bell Let's Talk, une campagne conçue pour mettre fin à la stigmatisation de la maladie mentale, Hughes a contribué à lancer la conversation sur le bien-être mental. En 2014, elle a effectué un tour national à vélo de 110 jours à travers chaque province et territoire du Canada, appelé "Clara's Big Ride". Elle a parcouru plus de 11 000 kilomètres, visité 105 communautés et organisé plus de 235 événements pour sensibiliser à la santé mentale. Elle est également l'auteure d'un best-seller intitulé Open Heart, Open Mind.

Au cours de sa brillante carrière, Mme Hughes a remporté d'innombrables prix et distinctions. Elle a reçu le Trophée Sport et Communauté du Comité international olympique, a été honorée d'une étoile sur l'Allée des célébrités canadiennes, a été intronisée au Temple de la renommée des sports du Canada et a été nommée membre de l'Ordre du Manitoba et Officier de l'Ordre du Canada.

Dre JILLIAN HORTON est une éducatrice médicale, autrice, musicienne, et baladodiffuseuse primée. Ancienne doyenne associée de l’Université du Manitoba, elle a soigné des milliers de patients dans un hôpital du centre-ville et fournit maintenant des soins aux personnes vivant avec une dépendance. En 2020, elle reçoit le prestigieux prix AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism Award, qui la reconnaît comme chef de file nationale en éducation médicale et en soins prodigués avec bienveillance et compassion. Comme enseignante de méditation axée sur la pleine conscience, elle est consultée par des médecins à toutes les étapes de leurs carrières, et dirige l’élaboration de la programmation nationale en santé des médecins pour Joule, une filiale de l’Association médicale canadienne. Ses textes sur la médecine sont souvent publiés dans le LA Times, le Globe and Mail et le Toronto Star, et son premier livre, We Are All Perfectly Fine, maintenant un best-seller national, a été publié par HarperCollins Canada en février 2021.

*Vous pouvez trouver tous les balados précédents sur Arts, Medicine & #Life ici (en anglais seulement).

Menu