September 21, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Kris Davis © Mardok

Kris Davis

2021-04-30 20:00 2021-04-30 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Kris Davis

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/28489

Facebook Live event

Watch this concert on Facebook! A special concert co-presented by the National Arts Centre and the Canada Council for the Arts for jazzahead! and Canada's Guest of Honour presentation at the Frankfurt Book Fair in 2021. Canadian Pianist-composer Kris Davis was voted pianist of the year in the 2020 Downbeat Critics Poll and in the 2019 Jazz Times Critics Poll. She won both composer and pianist of the year in 2020 by the Jazz Journalists Association. The New York Times dubbed her...

Read more

Friday, April 30, 2021
8 PM EDT
Facebook Live
This event has passed
Kris Davis © Mardok
Music Jazz

Facebook Live event

Watch this concert on Facebook!

A special concert co-presented by the National Arts Centre and the Canada Council for the Arts for jazzahead! and Canada's Guest of Honour presentation at the Frankfurt Book Fair in 2021.

Canadian Pianist-composer Kris Davis was voted pianist of the year in the 2020 Downbeat Critics Poll and in the 2019 Jazz Times Critics Poll. She won both composer and pianist of the year in 2020 by the Jazz Journalists Association. The New York Times dubbed her as one of the top up-and-comers, saying: “One method for deciding where to hear jazz on a given night has been to track down the pianist Kris Davis.”

To date, Davis has released 12 recordings as a leader. Her newest release, Diatom Ribbons, was voted jazz album of the year in the New York Times and NPR critic's poll. Davis works as a collaborator and side person with artists such as John Zorn, Terri Lyne Carrington, Craig Taborn, Tyshawn Sorey, Eric Revis, Johnathan Blake, Michael Formanek, Tony Malaby, Ingrid Laubrock, Mary Halvorson, Stephan Crump, Eric McPherson and Tom Rainey.

Davis received a Doris Duke Impact award in 2015 and multiple commissions to compose new works from The Shifting Foundation, The Jazz Gallery/Jerome Foundation, and the Canada Council for the Arts. She is currently the Associate Director for the Berklee Institute of Jazz and Gender Justice and runs her music label, Pyroclastic Records.   

Kris Davis © Mardok
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.
Kris Davis © Mardok

Kris Davis

2021-04-30 20:00 2021-04-30 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Kris Davis

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/28489

Événement Facebook Live

Visionnez ce concert sur Facebook Un concert spécial coprésenté par le Centre national des Arts et le Conseil des Arts du Canada pour jazzahead! et la présentation de l'invité d'honneur du Canada à la Foire du livre de Francfort en 2021. Le pianiste-compositeur canadienne Kris Davis a été élu pianiste de l'année dans le sondage 2020 des Downbeat Critics et dans le sondage 2019 des Jazz Times Critics....

Read more

vendredi 30 avril 2021
20 h HAE
Facebook Live
Cet événement est passé
Kris Davis © Mardok
Musique Jazz

Événement Facebook Live

Visionnez ce concert sur Facebook

Un concert spécial coprésenté par le Centre national des Arts et le Conseil des Arts du Canada pour jazzahead! et la présentation de l'invité d'honneur du Canada à la Foire du livre de Francfort en 2021.

Le pianiste-compositeur canadienne Kris Davis a été élu pianiste de l'année dans le sondage 2020 des Downbeat Critics et dans le sondage 2019 des Jazz Times Critics. Elle a également été élue compositrice et pianiste de l'année en 2020 par l'Association des journalistes de jazz. Le New York Times l'a surnommée l'une des meilleures jeunes talents : "Une méthode pour décider où écouter du jazz un soir donné a été de retrouver le pianiste Kris Davis".

À ce jour, Davis a sorti douze enregistrements en tant que leader. Son dernier album, Diatom Ribbons, a été élu album de jazz de l'année dans le sondage du New York Times et de la critique de NPR. Kris Davis travaille en tant que collaborateur et accompagnateur d'artistes tels que John Zorn, Terri Lyne Carrington, Craig Taborn, Tyshawn Sorey, Eric Revis, Johnathan Blake, Michael Formanek, Tony Malaby, Ingrid Laubrock, Mary Halvorson, Stephan Crump, Eric McPherson et Tom Rainey.

Davis a reçu un prix Doris Duke Impact en 2015 et de multiples commandes de nouvelles œuvres de la Shifting Foundation, de la Jazz Gallery/Jerome Foundation et du Conseil des Arts du Canada. Elle est actuellement directrice associée du Berklee Institute of Jazz and Gender Justice et dirige son label de musique, Pyroclastic Records.    

Kris Davis © Mardok
Menu