October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Dance Contemporary Film

A rare opportunity to watch one of the world’s greatest dance works.

In this stunning film, Pina Bausch’s iconic choreography The Rite of Spring is danced in an extraordinary setting, on the beach in Toubab Dialaw, Senegal.

In spring 2020, Pina Bausch’s 1975 seminal work, The Rite of Spring, was due to tour the world. Performed  by a specially assembled company of 38 dancers from 14 African countries, this international co-production between Sadler’s Wells (UK), Pina Bausch Foundation (Germany), and École des Sables (Senegal), should have opened in March 2020 in Dakar as part of a double bill with a new work created and performed by Malou Airaudo and Germaine Acogny, common ground[s]. However, just days before the premiere, performances were cancelled as governments around the world banned public gatherings and began shutting their borders due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Before disbanding and going into lockdown, the company seized the moment by performing a last rehearsal on a beach near their base at École des Sables, Senegal.

Filmmaker Florian Heinzen-Ziob and his crew were able to capture this unique moment in a stunning film.

The show is preceded by a historical overview of The Rite of Spring hosted by dance specialist Valérie Lessard and featuring guest artists.  It will also be followed by an interview with Germaine Acogny, artistic director of École des Sables, and Jorge Puerta Armenta, former member of Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch and a re-stager of The Rite of Spring at Ecole des Sables.

This project is an initiative of Danse Danse (Montreal) in collaboration with Canadian Stage (Toronto), DanceHouse (Vancouver), Harbourfront Centre (Toronto), National Arts Centre (Ottawa), and Springboard Performance (Calgary).

Filmed before social distancing requirements were in place.

DETAILED PROGRAM

PRE-SHOW DOCUMENTARY CLIP
Les multiples visages du Sacre du printemps (The Many Faces of The Rite of Spring). With Valérie Lessard, professor of dance history, and guest artists (10 minutes).

Pause (1 minute)

FILMS
Dancing at Dusk – A moment with Pina Bausch’s The Rite of Spring (40 minutes) 
Pina Bausch The Rite of Spring - Rehearsals at École des Sables (7 minutes)

Pause (1 minute)

POST-SHOW INTERVIEWS
Valérie Lessard talks with Germaine Acogny, artistic director of École des Sables, and Jorge Puerta Armenta, former member of Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch and a re-stager of The Rite of Spring at Ecole des Sables. (12 minutes)

Note: Once you have purchased your access to the film, the link to watch will be available from 8 AM (EDT) on October 21 to midnight (EDT) on October 28. You can view the film as many times as you wish with your link.

video:
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.
Danse contemporaine Cinéma

Une occasion unique de visionner l’une des plus grandes œuvres de danse du monde! 

Dans ce film inédit, voyez la chorégraphie emblématique de Pina Bausch, Le Sacre du printemps, dansée dans un décor extraordinaire, sur la plage de Toubab Dialaw, au Sénégal.

Au printemps 2020, Le Sacre du printemps de Pina Bausch, œuvre phare créée en 1975, devait tourner sur la scène mondiale. Interprétée par une compagnie, mise sur pied pour l’occasion, de 38 danseurs provenant de quatorze pays d’Afrique, cette coproduction internationale du Sadler’s Wells (R.-U.), de la Fondation Pina Bausch (Allemagne) et de l’École des Sables (Sénégal) devait prendre l’affiche en mars 2020 à Dakar, dans le cadre d’un programme double avec une nouvelle création de Malou Airaudo et Germaine Acogny, common ground[s]. Toutefois, à quelques jours de la première, les représentations ont dû être annulées, alors que partout dans le monde, les autorités interdisaient les rassemblements publics et commençaient à fermer leurs frontières en raison de la pandémie de coronavirus.

Avant de se démanteler et de se confiner, la compagnie a profité du moment pour exécuter un dernier enchaînement sur une plage située près de sa base, l’École des Sables. Le réalisateur Florian Heinzen-Ziob et son équipe étaient sur place pour capter ce moment unique dans un film saisissant.

Le spectacle proprement dit est précédé d’un rappel historique sur Le Sacre du printemps animé par Valérie Lessard, spécialiste de la danse, avec des artistes invités. Il est également suivi d’un entretien avec Germaine Acogny, directrice artistique de l’École des Sables, et Jorge Puerta Armenta, ancien membre du Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch, qui a remonté Le Sacre à l’École des Sables.

Ce projet est une initiative de Danse Danse (Montréal) en collaboration avec Canadian Stage (Toronto), la DanceHouse (Vancouver), le Harbourfront Centre (Toronto), le Centre national des Arts (Ottawa) et Springboard (Calgary).

Filmé avant la mise en place des mesures d’éloignement sanitaire.

PROGRAMME DÉTAILLÉ 

DOCUMENTAIRE PRÉ-SPECTACLE
Les multiples visages du Sacre du printemps. Avec Valérie Lessard, professeure d'histoire de la danse, en compagnie d’artistes invités (10 minutes).

Pause (1 minute)  

FILMS
Dancing at Dusk – Un moment avec Pina Bausch’s Le Sacre du printemps (40 minutes)
Pina Bausch The Rite of Spring - Rehearsals at École des Sables (7 minutes) 

Pause (1 minute)  

ENTREVUES POST-SPECTACLE
Valérie Lessard s'entretient avec Germaine Acogny, directrice artistique de l’École des sables, et Jorge Puerta Armenta, ancien membre du Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch et répétiteur (restager) du Sacre du printemps à l’Ecole des sables. (12 minutes) 

à noter: Une fois que vous aurez sécurisé l'accès au film, le lien de visionnement sera disponible dès 8 h (HAE) le 21 octobre jusqu'à minuit (HAE) le 28 octobre. Vous pourrez visionner le fim autant de fois que vous le désirez au cours de cette période.

video:
Menu