November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
© Kaha:wi Dance Theatre / Ian R. Maracle

Continuance: Yonkwa'nikonhrakontáhkwen - our consciousness continues unchanged

Kaha:wi Dance Theatre (Six Nations, ON)

This event has passed
© Kaha:wi Dance Theatre / Ian R. Maracle
Indigenous arts Theatre Dance
  • Creative Producer, Director, Performer Santee Smith

Continuance is the state of remaining in existence.

Continuance as a Grand Act is an embodiment of resilience. A celebration of Indigenous continuance the drive-in theatre shines light, 3D mapping on the dark oppressiveness of the Mohawk Institute Residential School.

With an immersive interplay with live intergenerational Haudenosaunee performers, the new media incorporates ancient-future imagery illuminating that the 142 year history of the school did not destroy cultural perpetuity. Disintegrating the facade of the school into images portraying cultural strength, beauty and iconic Haudenosaunee imagery. Coded within our iconographies are meaningful ways to live in the world with balanced harmony. 

Presentation Partner: Woodland Cultural Centre


As the performing arts sector continues to face unprecedented challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the National Arts Centre has responded with Grand Acts of Theatre, an initiative to bring Canadian artists and audiences together. Eleven of Canada’s most innovative theatre companies have been engaged to create and perform large-scale, new works in response to these times, which will be performed outdoors in front of live audiences in various Canadian locations, filmed, and later shared online.

This event will be photographed and recorded, with excerpts being presented online at a later date, so we are advising all attendees that by attending the event, individuals are deemed to consent to the recording of their image and use of their image in connection with recordings and photographs of the event, which may be published. All video recordings and images of the event captured by the organizers shall be the sole property of organizers and all rights of personality, publicity, privacy, or other rights of participants in recordings or photographs shall be deemed to have been waived.

© Kaha:wi Dance Theatre / Ian R. Maracle

Artists

  • Production Kaha:wi Dance Theatre
  • Creative Producer, Director, Performer Santee Smith
  • Performers Julianne Blackbird, Ascension Harjo, Raelyn Metcalfe, Montana Summers
  • 3D Mapping Design AVA - Animation & Visual Arts: Emma Lopez and Pedro Narvaez, Co-Directors
  • Lighting and Staging Design Lindy Kinoshameg
  • Cinematographer, Editor Jon Elliott
  • Score Composition, Arrangement Adrian Dion Harjo
  • Songwriters/Singers Jennifer Kreisberg, Semiah Smith
  • Singers Ascension Harjo, Lindyn Hill, Biine Kwe Elijah, Blayze Longboat, Imani Mitten, Santee Smith
  • Opening Address and Singer Biine Kwe Elijah
  • Green Screen Videographer Thru The Red Door - Shane Powless
  • Costume Designer Adriana Fulop
  • Production Stage Manager Candace Scott Moore
  • Advisor Roberta Hill
  • Kanienʼkéha Translator Tehahenteh Miller
  • Production Stage Manager Mentee Donika Stonefish
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.
© Kaha:wi Dance Theatre / Ian R. Maracle

Continuance: Yonkwa'nikonhrakontáhkwen - our consciousness continues unchanged

Kaha:wi Dance Theatre (Six Nations, ON)

© Kaha:wi Dance Theatre / Ian R. Maracle
Arts autochtones Théâtre Danse
  • Metteure en scène, créatrice de contenu et interprète Santee Smith

La continuité est l’état de demeurer en existence.

La continuité en tant qu’envolée théâtrale est une incarnation de la résilience et une célébration de la continuité autochtone. Le ciné-parc multimédia vient éclairer l’obscurité de la Mohawk Institute Residential School grâce à une cartographie en 3D et une interaction immersive avec des artistes Haudenosaunee intergénérationnels en direct.

Les nouveaux médias intègrent des images anciennes et futures pour mettre en lumière le fait que les 142 ans d’histoire de l’école n’ont pas détruit la perpétuité culturelle. La façade de l’école se désintègrera en images représentant la force culturelle, la beauté et l’imagerie iconique des Haudenosaunee. Nos iconographies codifient des façons significatives de vivre dans le monde en harmonie équilibrée.

Heure et lieu de cet évènement sont à confirmés. Veuillez consulter le lien pour les mises à jour.

Partenaire présentateur : Woodland Cultural Centre


Tandis que le secteur des arts du spectacle continue de faire face à des défis sans précédent en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, le Centre national des Arts lance Envolées théâtrales, une initiative visant à réunir artistes et auditoires canadiens. Onze des compagnies de théâtre les plus novatrices du pays ont été recrutées pour concevoir et interpréter de nouvelles œuvres de grande envergure en réponse à cette période difficile, qui seront présentées à l’extérieur devant public, en direct, en différents endroits au Canada. Ces créations seront aussi filmées et diffusées en ligne. 

Ce spectacle sera photographié et filmé, et des extraits vidéo seront ultérieurement publiés en ligne. En y assistant, les membres de l’auditoire sont réputés consentir à ce que leur image soit filmée ou photographiée et utilisée dans le cadre des enregistrements et photographies du spectacle, qui peuvent être rendus publics. Tous les enregistrements vidéo et toutes les images du spectacle effectués par les organisateurs sont la propriété exclusive de ceux-ci. Les participants sont réputés renoncer à faire valoir tous droits relatifs à la personnalité, à la publicité, à la vie privée ou tout autre droit qu’ils sont susceptibles d’avoir en ce qui a trait aux enregistrements ou aux photos.

© Kaha:wi Dance Theatre / Ian R. Maracle

Artistes

  • Production Kaha:wi Dance Theatre
  • Metteure en scène, créatrice de contenu et interprète Santee Smith
  • Performeurs Julianne Blackbird, Olivia Cooke, Ascension Harjo, Raelyn Metcalfe, Montana Summers
  • Conception infographique tridimensionnelle AVA - Animation & Visual Arts : Emma Lopez et Pedro Narvaez, Codirecteurs
  • Conceptrice des éclairages et scénographe Lindy Kinoshameg
  • Chef opérateur et éditeur vidéo Jon Elliott
  • Composition de la partition et arrangements Adrian Dion Harjo
  • Auteurs-compositeurs-interprètes Jennifer Kreisberg, Semiah Smith
  • Interprètes Ascension Harjo, Lindyn Hill, Biine Kwe Elijah, Blayze Longboat, Imani Mitten, Santee Smith
  • Vidéaste, écran vert Thru The Red Door - Shane Powless
  • Costumes Adriana Fulop
  • Régie de production Candace Scott Moore
  • Conseillère Roberta Hill
  • Traducteur (Kanienʼkéha, langue mohawk) Tehahenteh Miller
  • Mentorée de la régie de production Donika Stonefish
Menu