NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31
© Paul Couvrette

BIG BANG Festival

NOMAD : Mushkiki Nibi

All ages

This event has passed
© Paul Couvrette
Family programming Indigenous arts Music Dance Children Festival events

Tumbling, the water flows on stage...

Tumbling, the water flows on stage with the energy of Indigenous youth, a dancer-choreographer from the Algonquin First Nation and the soundtrack of a DJ-musician… That’s what happens when multidisciplinary artist and movement virtuoso Josée Bourgeois, her multi-talented accomplice, and a group of local children come together to create a unique performance.

Josée and her troupe draw us into the currents and the source of all life: from the sound produced by the first drop of water to the one we hear as babies in the womb. In music and rhythm, they celebrate this element we are made of and surrounded by; they embody this substance, constantly shifting and moving, that exists in multiple forms. This creation is also an opportunity to point out that not everyone on Turtle Island has access to this essential resource. The title of the performance means “medicine water” in Algonquin.

The NOMAD project proposes an encounter between a group of teenagers or children and a guest artist, who work together to develop a musical performance that’s presented as part of the BIG BANG program. Every edition of the festival, whether it takes place in Portugal, Greece, Belgium or Canada, includes a show based on this artistic concept. The young people who take part in the adventure are thus offered a space to express their creativity and share the richness of their cultural background.

Performance is approximately 30 minutes with no intermission.

© Paul Couvrette
© Paul Couvrette
© Paul Couvrette

Artists

  • Created by Josée Bourgeois (Pikwakanagan), in collaboration with Rise Ashen
  • With Josée Bourgeois (Pikwakanagan) and young students from Pierre Elliott Trudeau Elementary School (Gatineau)
  • Produced by : Festival BIG BANG Ottawa
Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août
© Paul Couvrette

Festival BIG BANG

NOMAD : Mushkiki Nibi

Pour tous

Cet événement est passé
© Paul Couvrette
Famille Arts autochtones Musique Danse Enfance Festival

Quand l’eau palpite et frissonne...

Quand l’eau palpite et frissonne grâce à l’énergie vibrante de jeunes Autochtones, d’une chorégraphe-danseuse de la première nation algonquine et de la bande-son d’un DJ-musicien… Voilà ce que promet la rencontre de Josée Bourgeois, artiste multidisciplinaire et virtuose du mouvement, de son complice touche-à-tout, et d’un groupe d’enfants de la région, réunis autour de la création d’une performance unique.

Josée et ses troupes nous emportent dans les courants et à la source de toute vie : de l’onde produite par la première goutte d’eau à celle qu’on entend, bébé, dans le ventre maternel. Ils célèbrent en musique et en rythme cet élément qui nous entoure et nous constitue. Ils incarnent cette matière, toujours multiple et mouvante, capable d’adopter toutes les formes. Cette création est aussi l’occasion de rappeler que tous sur l’Île de la Tortue n’ont pas accès à cette ressource essentielle. En algonquin, le titre de la performance signifie « l’eau qui guérit ».

NOMAD est un projet qui met en contact un groupe d’adolescents ou d’enfants avec un ou une artiste invité.e. Ensemble, ils travaillent à la réalisation d’une prestation musicale présentée dans le cadre de la programmation du BIG BANG. Chaque édition du Festival, qu’elle se déroule au Portugal, en Grèce, en Belgique ou au Canada, propose un spectacle basé sur l’idée d’une telle rencontre. Les jeunes qui prennent part à l’aventure se voient ainsi offrir un espace pour exprimer leur créativité et partager la richesse de leur bagage culturel.

Durée approximative de 30 minutes sans entracte.

© Paul Couvrette
© Paul Couvrette
© Paul Couvrette

Artistes

  • Conception : Josée Bourgeois (Pikwakanagan), en collaboration avec Rise Ashen
  • Avec Josée Bourgeois (Pikwakanagan) et des jeunes de l’école primaire Pierre Elliott Trudeau (Gatineau)
  • Production : Festival BIG BANG Ottawa
Menu