All NAC performances and events cancelled until June 14, 2020

Next Generation – Free Lunchtime Concert Series

Inuksuk High School

This event has passed
Family programming Indigenous arts Music

Join us at 12pm noon for our free, concert series showcasing Canada's young talent!

The Inuksuk High School Concert Band, under the direction of Dr. Mary Piercey-Lewis, plays a variety of musical styles such as, classical, jazz, big-band, and contemporary concert band music.  While the band program is oriented toward the teaching and learning of these musical styles, the rich tradition of the music of Nunavut is a legacy which is honoured in its repertoire.  Members of the concert band often accompany the Inuksuk Drum Dancers, giving an innovative and different sound to traditional and contemporary Inuit music.

Inuksuk Drum Dancers

The Inuksuk Drum Dancers, under the direction of Dr. Mary Piercey-Lewis, perform traditional Inuit music, which includes throat singing and drum dancing, and contemporary Inuit songs from across Nunavut. Throat singing—historically a game that was played by women during the long and cold hours spent in the iglu—involves the creation of sounds deep within the throat that usually emulate the sounds of nature, such as the wind, birds, dog teams, snow crunching, polar bears, wolves, and mosquitoes. Drum dancing includes drumming, dancing, and singing songs that carry stories of personal experiences, humourous anecdotes, and traditional Inuit morals and values. At times, the group veers away from tradition to create innovative musical renditions that incorporate traditional and contemporary musical styles.

The Inuksuk Drum Dancers represent Inuit culture from rural Nunavut within the Inuit-Anglo-Franco urban context of Iqaluit. The group chooses to present traditional symbols of their Inuit culture with aspirations of making it visible to a wider audience. Through this commitment to presenting Inuit culture in their performances, the choir members strive to reinforce Inuit traditions and values and advocate the use of Inuktitut.

The Inuksuk Drum Dancers are in constant demand for performances. Each year the group performs regularly at a variety of events including; the opening and closing ceremonies of Toonik Tyme and the Alianait Arts Festival; as an opening act for visiting artists, such as Paul K. Irksak, Elisapie Isaac, Beatrice Deer, Hey Rosetta, and J.P. Cormier; territorial conferences; swearing-in ceremonies; Canada Day events; CBC television and radio shows; Music Monday; federal government ceremonies and conferences; government and office celebrations; the Annual Iqaluit Music Society Choral Festival; and many more. Several members of the Inuksuk Drum Dancers represented Nunavut at the Canada Summer Games held in Prince Edward Island in 2009, the Arctic Winter Games in 2010 (Grand Prairie, Alberta) and 2012 (Whitehorse, Yukon), the Puvirnituq Snow Festival in Puvirnituq, Quebec in 2013, the cultural contingent of the AWG in 2014 (Fairbanks, Alaska) and 2016 (Nuuk, Greenland).  This past summer (2019), the Inuksuk Drum Dancers performed on the International Stage at the Canadian National Exhibition in Toronto, Ontario.

In 2015, the Inuksuk Drum Dancers embarked on a collaborative musical and cultural adventure with Nipiit Katittut-Voices United.  This ongoing multi-year endeavour has connected Inuit youth with young people in Ottawa who, together, engage in in social activism through discussion, performance of traditional and new music, and participation in the decolonization process.

Inuit Inngiqtingit/Inuit Choral Music, produced by Chris Coleman at Nuvu Music in 2016, is the group’s first recording.  A second recording was released this year Inuit Inngiqtingit/Inuit Choral Music II.

BIO: Dr. Mary Piercey-Lewis

Dr. Mary Piercey-Lewis has a Ph.D. in Ethnomusicology from Memorial University of Newfoundland. Her research explored how the Inuit of Arviat, Nunavut, use their musical practices to negotiate what it means to be “inummariit”—“real Inuit” in response to massive sociocultural changes since three distinctive groups were resettled there in the 1950s.  Her study took into consideration earlier moments of dramatic change, such as the histories of missionization, beginning in the 1920s, that led to different denominational affiliations for the three groups, and more recent sociopolitical events such as the establishment of Nunavut as the newest territory of Canada in 1999.

Dr. Piercey-Lewis holds a Masters of Music in Music Education from the University of Toronto where she studied choral conducting with Dr. Doreen Rao and orchestral conducing with Dr. Patricia Shand.  She is the past director of the Bloor Street United Church Youth Choir, the First Unitarian Congregation Senior Choir, and the Hart House Chorus at the University of Toronto.

Dr. Piercey-Lewis has lived and taught music in Nunavut for over nineteen years.  First, she taught at Qitiqliq High School in Arviat.  In 2001 she founded the Arviat Imngitingit Community Choir, a mixed-voiced group specializing in traditional and contemporary Inuit music originating from the Kivalliq region of Nunavut.  This choir travelled extensively throughout Canada and sang at festivals such as Festival 500: Sharing the Voices, held in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador.  In collaboration with Qitiqliq drama teacher, Gordon Billard, and Inuktitut teacher, Maggie Manik, she wrote and directed two musicals in English and Inuktitut.  These musicals were focused on social and cultural themes and issues significant to Inuit students and audiences.

Dr. Piercey-Lewis presently lives in Iqaluit, Nunavut where she teaches music at Inuksuk High School. Her teaching strategies incorporate a premise of “music education as social justice: a means to promote social activism.”  She is an Inuit music education consultant with many agencies where she works with multicultural teams (which include tradition bearers, Inuit singer/songwriters, drum makers, throat singers, story tellers, etc.) who are working together to produce and implement music education curricula and programs that promote Inuit identity, Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit, youth leadership, and social activism through the study and performance of music.   She writes choral arrangements of Inuit songs for her choir the Inuksuk Drum Dancers.  Several of these arrangements can be heard on the choir’s two compact discs, Inuit Inngiqtingit/Inuit Choral Music (2016) and Inuit Inngiqtingit/Inuit Choral Music II (2018) produced by Chris Coleman at Nuvu Music.

Dr. Piercey-Lewis’ most recent publication, Inuit Inngiusingit: A Collection of Inuit Choral Music (Inhabit Media 2016), is a songbook for students, teachers, and musicians who are interested in learning Inuit music. There are fifteen songs transcribed from Inuit musicians who originate from Nunavut and Nunavik (Northern Quebec). Students and teachers will find the musical arrangements and the accompanying compact disc useful in encouraging the singing of Inuktitut songs in the classroom and at home. It is her hope that Inuit Inngiusingit: A Collection of Inuit Choral Music “empowers students to develop musicianship, to enjoy the opportunities to perform great music, and to participate in Inuit culture through singing.”

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.

La nouvelle génération – Les midis musicaux - Gratuit

Inuksuk High School

Cet événement est passé
Famille Arts autochtones Musique

Rejoignez-nous à midi pour notre série de concerts mettant en vedette l'harmonie des écoles secondaires de Canada.

L’harmonie de l’école secondaire Inuksuk, sous la direction de Mary Piercey-Lewis, interprète une variété de styles, du classique au jazz, du big band au contemporain. Le programme du groupe est axé sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage de ces styles, tout en rendant hommage à la riche tradition musicale du Nunavut. Des membres de l’harmonie accompagnent souvent les Inuksuk Drum Dancers, apportant de nouvelles sonorités à la musique inuite traditionnelle et contemporaine.

Inuksuk Drum Dancers

Les Inuksuk Drum Dancers, sous la direction de Mary Piercey-Lewis, interprètent de la musique inuite traditionnelle, qui comprend des chants de gorge, des danses de tambour, et des chansons inuites contemporaines provenant du Nunavut. Les chants de gorge, originalement un jeu auquel s’adonnait les femmes pendant les longues heures froides dans l’igloo, impliquent la création de sons au creux de la gorge qui s’apparentent à ceux de la nature, tels le vent, les oiseaux, les traîneaux à chiens, le crissement de la neige, les ours polaires, les loups et les moustiques. Les danses de tambour sont un mélange de tambours, de danse et de chansons traitant d’expériences personnelles, d’anecdotes humoristiques et de valeurs inuites traditionnelles. Par moments, le groupe rompt avec la tradition pour créer des interprétations créatives qui fusionnent les styles traditionnels et contemporains. 

Les Inuksuk Drum Dancers représentent la culture inuite du Nunavut rural dans le contexte urbain inuit-anglo-franco d’Iqaluit. Le groupe choisit de présenter des symboles traditionnels de sa culture inuite afin de les faire connaître auprès d’un plus vaste public. Par cet engagement à faire connaître la culture inuite à travers leurs spectacles, les membres du groupe cherchent à promouvoir les valeurs et traditions inuites, ainsi que l’utilisation de l’Inuktitut.

Les Inuksuk Drum Dancers sont constamment sollicités pour des spectacles. Chaque année, le groupe participe à une variété d’événements, dont : les cérémonies d’ouverture et de clôture de Toonik Tyme et de l’Alianait Arts Festival; en première partie d’artistes de passage tels que Paul K. Irksak, Elisapie Isaac, Beatrice Deer, Hey Rosetta, et J.P. Cormier; les conférences territoriales; les cérémonies d’assermentation; les célébrations de la fête du Canada; des émissions radio et télé de CBC; Music Monday; les cérémonies et conférences du gouvernement fédéral; les fêtes de bureau ou de gouvernement; l’Annual Iqaluit Music Society Choral Festival; et bien d’autres. Plusieurs membres des Inuksuk Drum Dancers ont représenté le Nunavut aux Jeux d’été du Canada à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard en 2009, aux Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique en 2010 (à Grande Prairie, en Alberta) et en 2012 (à Whitehorse, au Yukon), au Festival des neiges de Puvirnituq à Puvirnituq, au Québec en 2013, au sein de la délégation culturelle de l’AWG en 2014 (à Fairbanks, en Alaska) et 2016 (à Nuuk, au Groenland). L’été dernier (en 2019), les Inuksuk Drum Dancers se sont produits sur la Scène internationale de l’Exposition nationale canadienne à Toronto, en Ontario.

En 2015, les Inuksuk Drum Dancers ont entrepris une collaboration musicale et culturelle avec Nipiit Katittut-Voices United. Ce projet, qui se poursuit à ce jour, a tissé des liens entre de jeunes Inuits et des jeunes d’Ottawa afin qu’ensemble ils fassent l’expérience de l’activisme social par des discussions, l’interprétation de musique traditionnelle et contemporaine, et leur participation au processus de décolonisation.  

Inuit Inngiqtingit/Inuit Choral Music, réalisé par Chris Coleman de Nuvu Music en 2016, marque le premier enregistrement du groupe. Un deuxième enregistrement, Inuit Inngiqtingit/Inuit Choral Music II, est paru cette année.

BIO: Mary Piercey-Lewis

Mary Piercey-Lewis détient un doctorat en ethnomusicologie de l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Ses recherches explorent comment les Inuits d’Arviat, au Nunavut, utilisent leurs pratiques musicales pour négocier ce que c’est d’être « inummariit » — « véritablement inuit » — en réponse aux changements socioculturels importants depuis que trois groupes distincts y ont été déportés dans les années 1950. Son étude a tenu compte des moments précédents de changement radical, tel que l’historique d’évangélisation entrepris dans les années 1920 qui a mené à de différentes confessions chrétiennes pour les trois groupes, et des événements sociopolitiques plus récents tels que l’inauguration du Nunavut comme nouveau territoire canadien en 1999.

Piercey-Lewis détient une maîtrise en éducation musicale de l’Université de Toronto où elle a étudié la direction chorale auprès de Doreen Rao et la direction d’orchestre auprès de Patricia Shand. Par le passé, elle a dirigé Bloor Street United Church Youth Choir, First Unitarian Congregation Senior Choir, et Hart House Chorus à l’Université de Toronto.

Piercey-Lewis habite au Nunavut et y enseigne la musique depuis plus de dix-neuf ans. Elle a d’abord enseigné à l’école secondaire Qitiqliq à Arviat. En 2001, elle a fondé Arviat Imngitingit Community Choir, une chorale communautaire qui se spécialise en musique inuite traditionnelle et contemporaine provenant de la région de Kivalliq au Nunavut. Cette chorale a beaucoup voyagé à travers le Canada et chanté lors de festivals tels que Festival 500: Sharing the Voices , qui a eu lieu à St. John’s, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. En collaboration avec l’enseignant d’art dramatique de Qitiqliq, Gordon Billard, et l’enseignante d’inuktitut, Maggie Manik, elle a composé et mis en scène deux comédies musicales en anglais et en inuktitut. Ces comédies musicales sont axées sur des thèmes et des enjeux sociaux et culturels pertinents pour les élèves et publics inuits.

Piercey-Lewis habite aujourd’hui à Iqaluit, au Nunavut, où elle enseigne la musique à l’école secondaire Inuksuk. Ses stratégies d’enseignement intègrent un principe d’éducation musicale comme outil de justice sociale et moyen de promouvoir l’activisme social. Elle est consultante en éducation musicale inuite pour de nombreuses agences, où elle travaille au sein d’équipes multiculturelles (composées de porteurs de traditions, d’auteurs-compositeurs-interprètes inuits, de fabricants de tambours, de chanteuses de gorge, de conteurs, etc.) qui travaillent ensemble pour produire et mettre en œuvre des programmes et curriculums d’éducation musicale qui promeuvent l’identité inuite, Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit, le leadership des jeunes, et l’activisme social par l’étude et l’interprétation de la musique. Elle compose des arrangements chorals de chansons inuites pour sa chorale Inuksuk Drum Dancers. Plusieurs de ses arrangements se retrouvent sur les deux albums du groupe, Inuit Inngiqtingit/Inuit Choral Music (2016) et Inuit Inngiqtingit/Inuit Choral Music II (2018) réalisés par Chris Coleman de Nuvu Music.

La plus récente publication de Piercey-Lewis, Inuit Inngiusingit: A Collection of Inuit Choral Music (Inhabit Media 2016) , est un livret de chansons pour les élèves, enseignants et musiciens qui s’intéressent à apprendre la musique inuite. On y retrouve les transcriptions de quinze chansons de musiciens inuits originaires du Nunavut et du Nunavik (dans le nord du Québec). Élèves et enseignants trouveront utiles les arrangements musicaux et le disque compact qui les accompagnent pour chanter des chansons inuites en salle de classe et à la maison. Piercey-Lewis espère que Inuit Inngiusingit: A Collection of Inuit Choral Music « motivera les élèves à développer leurs talents musicaux, à profiter des occasions d’interpréter de la grande musique, et à participer à la culture inuite en chantant. »

Menu