NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until June 30
Jenn Grant
Jenn Grant
Music Singer/Songwriter Pop Folk

Jenn Grant believes in, while writing a song, the power of intuition; that she can feel something in the air and has to catch it. This skin-tingling, goosebump-inducing sense shaped her newest record, Love, Inevitable. The peculiar and enthralling magical quality of the Halifax folk-pop singer’s songwriting and performance persists all around Love, Inevitable.

The three-time Juno nominated singer’s seventh record, released in May, establishes this mood of transition; sliding the old back and making room for the new.  What makes Love, Inevitable compelling is its ease, despite the struggle and personal heartache that went into the writing of these songs.

Don Brownrigg, like many of us, was raised on kitchen party Saturday nights and singer-songwriter Sunday mornings in a rural, musical family in Newfoundland. With a polymath’s curiosity about the world’s workings, and a poet’s appreciation of its small details, Brownrigg’s songs dig deeply into what it is to be alive right now, finding a way through love, pain, and questions about the future with “Fireworks”.

This show, originally scheduled for February 28, 2020 in the NAC Babs Asper Theatre, has been moved to November 17, 2020 in the Azrieli Studio. 

video: Oh, Family
Oh, Family
Jenn Grant
Jenn Grant
Jenn Grant
Don Brownrigg © Mo Phung
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.
Jenn Grant
Jenn Grant
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Pop Folk

Lorsqu’elle compose une chanson, Jenn Grant s’en remet au pouvoir de l’intuition, l’idée qu’elle ressent quelque chose dans l’air et qu’elle doit l’attraper. Ce frisson, cette sensation de chair de poule traverse son plus récent album, Love, Inevitable. L’écriture particulière et captivante, pour ne pas dire ensorcelante, de l’auteure-compositrice-interprète est le fil conducteur de Love, Inevitable.

Ce septième album de la chanteuse trois fois finaliste aux JUNO, paru en mai, vient marquer un esprit de transition : on repousse le vieux pour mieux accueillir le nouveau. Ce qui rend Love, Inevitable si accrocheur est sa grande fluidité, malgré les combats et les déchirures personnelles qui ont alimenté l’écriture de ses chansons.

Né dans une région rurale de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Don Brownrigg a grandi au sein d’une famille musicale où les séances d’écriture et de composition de chansons, le dimanche matin, faisaient suite aux enlevantes soirées du samedi. Dans son album Fireworks, il explore en profondeur la condition humaine, alliant esprit universel et poétique souci du détail; il évoque ainsi la quête de l’amour, la douleur et l’inquiétude par rapport à l’avenir.

Le spectacle prévu pour le 28 février 2020 au Théâtre Babs Asper du CNA a été reporté au 17 novembre 2020 au Studio Azrieli. 

video: Oh, Family
Oh, Family
Jenn Grant
Jenn Grant
Jenn Grant
Don Brownrigg © Mo Phung
Menu