Moskitto Bar © Zahra Saleki
Moskitto Bar © Zahra Saleki
Music World music Roots music

Moskitto Bar is a fresh and unique sound created in the multi-cultural hub of Toronto, Canada. Their sound combines a beautiful and original mix of Ukrainian, Balkan, Iraqi Middle-Eastern and French Celtic music.

The project was initiated by Tangi Ropars when he met newcomers Yura, from Ukraine, and Ahmed, from Iraq.  In June 2016, during a gathering in Northern Ontario, they met every day in the woods to share and teach each other their respective melodies and rhythms. As they were playing, the rural Ontario mosquitos, were joyfully feasting on the multicultural group inspiring their eponymous name.

Almost two years later, the trio connected with the notable violin player, Fethi Nadjem freshly landed for Algeria, adding his oriental flavour to the sound mix.
More than the music, despite their diverse traditions, political and social stories, they share a deeper connection, a mutual love and respect for each other and a common desire to spread messages of unity.

video:
Moskitto Bar © Zahra Saleki
Moskitto Bar © Zahra Saleki
Moskitto Bar © Zahra Saleki
Menu

Moskitto Bar © Zahra Saleki
Moskitto Bar © Zahra Saleki
Musique Musique du monde Roots rock

Moskitto Bar possède un son unique et rafraîchissant forgé dans la plaque tournante multiculturelle de Toronto, au Canada. Ce son est une combinaison originale de musique ukrainienne, balkanique, iraquienne, et celtique française.

Le projet a été lancé par Tangi Ropars suite à sa rencontre avec Yura, d’Ukraine, et Ahmed, d’Iraq, tous deux fraîchement arrivés au pays. En juin 2016, lors d’un rassemblement dans le nord de l’Ontario, ils se rencontraient dans les bois chaque jour pour partager et apprendre leurs mélodies et rythmes respectifs. Pendant qu’ils jouaient, les moustiques ontariens s’abreuvaient gaiement auprès de ce buffet multiculturel, ce qui leur a inspiré le nom du groupe.

Presque deux ans plus tard, le trio s’est associé au violoniste réputé Fethi Nadjem, tout juste arrivé d’Algérie, intégrant ses influences orientales au son du groupe.

Au-delà de la musique et des traditions, politiques et récits propres à chacun, les musiciens partagent un lien plus profond, un amour et un respect mutuel et un désir commun de répandre un message d’unité.

video:
Moskitto Bar © Zahra Saleki
Moskitto Bar © Zahra Saleki
Moskitto Bar © Zahra Saleki
Menu