“The Call” Dr. Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine and #Life Ottawa Speaker Series

Talks

In this hour-long talk, Dr. Horton will set the stage for the series, reflecting on her own journey through medicine, as well as ways in which the arts have helped her deal with both professional and personal experiences with deep suffering.  Dr. Horton will also share her challenges navigating the medical system as the sibling of a person with a profound disability, grounding her story in everything from medical genetics to art history to the life and death of Sir William Osler, and ultimately encouraging all practitioners to see their own lives as part of a bigger picture. 


Dr. Jillian Horton is a general internist, writer, musician (on the Marquis Classics label), former Associate Dean, Associate Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine, and Director of the Alan Klass Health Humanities Program  at the Max Rady College of Medicine in Winnipeg, Manitoba, where she has won numerous awards for undergraduate teaching and mentorship. 

In her writing for the Canadian Medical Association Journal, Dr. Horton explores the emotions, unanswered questions and complexities of the human side of medicine. In the Dear Dr. Horton column, she answers anonymous questions from readers. On the Med Life with Dr. Horton podcast, she interviews a wide range of experts, with a view to deepening national conversation about physician health.  She has recently completed a book about mindfulness, burnout, and how experiences growing up with a profoundly disabled sibling shaped her view of what it means to be a doctor.

Arts, Medicine and #Life is a series, hosted by internist, writer, musician and award-winning medical educator Dr. Jillian Horton, that features world-renowned doctors speaking about their area of interest and expertise on as far-ranging topics as mindfulness, work-life balance and social accountability. Join us for an intimate look at the deeply human and arts-related aspects of being a physician, where we will be offering hopeful personal narratives that can help us find a way forward.

Each event will feature interviews with Dr. Horton and the invited doctors followed by a Q& A session with the audience. Approximately one hour with no intermission.

Admission is free, no tickets required, available on a first-come first-served basis.

Bring your curiosity and an open mind!

Menu

“L’appel” Dr. Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine and #Life Série de conférences

Cet événement est passé
Causeries

Dans cette discussion d’une heure, Dre Horton donnera le ton pour la série à travers une réflexion sur son propre parcours en médecine, ainsi que les façons dont les arts l’ont aidé à composer avec des souffrances profondes, tant sur le plan personnel que professionnel. Dre Horton partagera également ses défis à naviguer le système médical en tant que sœur d’une personne ayant un handicap grave, ancrant son récit dans des éléments aussi variés que la génétique médicale, l’histoire de l’art et la vie et mort de Sir William Osler, pour ultimement encourager tous les praticiens à voir leur propre vie comme faisant partie d’un plus grand tout.
 

Dre Jillian Horton est spécialiste de médecine interne, auteure, musicienne (signée à l’étiquette Marquis Classics), ancienne doyenne associée, chaire de recherche associée du département de médecine interne, et directrice du programme des sciences humaines de la santé Alan Klass à la Faculté de médecine Max Rady à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, où elle a remporté de nombreux prix pour son enseignement de premier cycle et son mentorat.

Dans ses publications pour le Journal de l’Association médicale canadienne, Dre Horton explore les émotions, les questions sans réponses et les complexités du côté humain de la médecine. Dans sa rubrique Dear Dr Horton, elle répond aux questions anonymes des lecteurs. Dans son balado Med Life with Dr Horton, elle s’entretient avec une vaste gamme d’experts dans l’optique d’approfondir la conversation nationale autour de la santé des médecins. Elle a récemment terminé l’écriture d’un livre sur la pleine conscience, l’épuisement professionnel, et comment ses expériences en tant que sœur d’une personne ayant un handicap grave ont façonné sa vision de ce que c’est d’être docteur.

Arts, Medicine and #Life est une série d’entretiens, animée par l’interniste, auteure, musicienne et éducatrice médicale primée Dre Jillian Horton, mettant en vedette des médecins de renommée internationale qui discutent de leurs champs d’intérêt et d’expertises, allant de la pleine conscience à l’équilibre entre le travail et la vie privée à la responsabilité sociale. Soyez des nôtres pour une exploration intime des aspects humains et artistiques liés à être médecin, où nous présenterons des récits personnels optimistes qui offriront des pistes de solution pour l’avenir.  
 

Chaque événement présentera des entrevues entre Dre Horton et les médecins invités, suivis d’une foire aux questions avec le public. La durée est d’environ une heure, sans entracte.  

L’entrée est gratuite, sans billet, sur une base du premier arrivé, premier servi.

Vous n’avez besoin que de votre curiosité et d’un esprit ouvert!

**Veuillez noter que les événements se dérouleront uniquement en anglais.**

Menu