Artist Talk with Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser

Hosted by Marjolaine Lambert

This event has passed
Talks

Join us for a cinq à sept artist talk with cash bar with Canadian conductor Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser, hosted by NAC Orchestra violinist Marjolaine Lambert. Mr. Bartholomew-Poyser is with us this week to conduct the aBACHcadabra Family Adventures concerts with the NAC Orchestra and with Platypus Theatre.

In this up-close and personal talk, Marjolaine and Daniel will delve deeper into the issues and stories of the CBC/Iron Bay Media documentary in a format that allows you to question both the speakers and yourself. Doors open at 5pm, and the talk will start at 5:30pm.

Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser
From a young age, Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser turned to orchestral music to bring light, beauty, and healing to his personal and professional life. He isn't your typical conductor — Daniel has the vision and process to disrupt the traditional ways orchestral music is experienced.

The CBC/Iron Bay Media documentary Disruptor Conductor captures what has been the biggest year of Daniel’s life, resulting in four concerts that include playing in a women's prison; conducting an Afro-fusion concert with an artist from the blockbuster film Black Panther; putting on the first orchestral drag show with “RuPaul's Drag Race” celebrity contestant, Thorgy Thor; and creating a concert for people on the autism spectrum.

Marjolaine Lambert
Violinist Marjolaine Lambert, a native of Joliette but self-proclaimed Montrealer, started her music studies at the age of four years old. Her passion for new music led her to pursue a Doctorate of Music at McGill University, with the support of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, where she focused on the hyper-violin created by Pierre Boulez in his Anthèmes. Her work with live electronics has introduced her to interesting projects, including the world premiere of Les Gestes, a creation by dance choreographer Isabelle Van Grimde. She is thrilled to be a member of the National Arts Centre Orchestra, as of September 2016.

Menu

Rencontre avec l'artiste : Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser

Animée par Marjolaine Lambert

Causeries

La violoniste de l'Orchestre du CNA Marjolaine Lambert vous propose une causerie avec bar payant avec le chef d'orchestre canadien Daniel Barthlomew-Poyser. M. Bartholomew-Poyser est parmi nous cette semaine pour diriger les concerts famille aBACHcadabra avec l'Orchestre du CNA et le théâtre Platypus.

Cette discussion intime permettra à Marjolaine et à Daniel d'examiner plus profondément les questions et histoires du documentaire CBC/Iron Bay Media dans un format qui vous appelera à remettre en question les intervenants ainsi que vous-mêmes. Les portes s'ouvriront à 17h, et la causerie commencera à 17h30.

Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser
Dès un jeune âge, Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser s’est tourné vers la musique d’orchestre pour introduire la lumière, la beauté et la guérison dans sa vie personnelle et professionnelle. Daniel n’est pas un chef d’orchestre comme les autres; il possède la vision et la démarche pour perturber les moyens traditionnels par lesquels les gens apprécient la musique d’orchestre.  

Le documentaire Disruptor Conductor, réalisé par CBC et Iron Bay Media, capte l’année la plus chargée de la vie de Daniel, qui a donné lieu à quatre expériences inusitées dont : offrir un concert dans une prison pour femmes, diriger un concert afro-fusion avec un artiste du film à succès Black Panther; organiser le premier spectacle de drag avec orchestre avec Thorgy Thor, candidat vedette de l’émission RuPaul’s Drag Race; et créer un concert pour les gens sur le spectre de l’autisme. 

Marjolaine Lambert
La violoniste Marjolaine Lambert, originaire de Joliette mais autoproclamée Montréalaise, a entamé ses études musicales dès l’âge de quatre ans. Sa passion pour la nouvelle musique l’a amenée à entreprendre, à l’Université McGill, des études doctorales en musique axées sur le violon électrique créé par Pierre Boulez dans ses Anthèmes, avec le soutien du Conseil de recherche en sciences humaines du Canada. Son travail avec les dispositifs électroniques lui permet de participer à divers projets très intéressants, notamment la création mondiale de l’œuvre Les Gestes, une création de la chorégraphe de danse Isabelle Van Grimde. Elle est ravie de faire partie de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts depuis septembre 2016.

Menu