NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31
Dervish
This event has passed
Dervish
Music World music Folk

As one of the world's most renowned and imaginative interpreters of Irish folk music, Dervish have devoted the last three decades to gently reinventing the traditional songs of their homeland.

Their new album, The Great Irish Songbook, encompasses everything from lovelorn ballads to traditional dance music to songs customarily sung at funerals, its moods continually shifting from longing to joy to delicately rendered heartache.

As they approach their 30th anniversary, Dervish again prove the enduring significance of even the most timeworn songs. And in a way not unlike the folk revival of the 1960s, much of The Great Irish Songbook celebrates a spirit of togetherness, with a conviction that's gracefully understated but powerfully felt. For Dervish, that sense of community and connection is both an ideal takeaway for the album and the driving force of its creation.

Anna Ludlow Anna Ludlow is from Antigonish, Nova Scotia, and has played her fiddle to captivated audiences throughout North America and Europe for over twenty years. She just finished a 15 month run with the hit and award-winning show ‘COME FROM AWAY’ the Toronto production.  Anna is influenced by her working-class Celtic ancestry, and fuses the traditional Cape Breton music of the Scottish Gàidhealtachd with a modern percussive vibe. This multi-instrumentalist, vocalist, and song-writer uses her dynamic performances to give listeners a modern taste of history and culture.

video: Dervish - The West Coast of Clare (feat. David Gray)
Dervish - The West Coast of Clare (feat. David Gray)
Dervish
Dervish © Collin Gillen
Dervish © Collin Gillen
Dervish
Dervish
Anna Ludlow
Anna Ludlow
Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août
Dervish
Cet événement est passé
Dervish
Musique Musique du monde Folk

En tant qu’un des groupes de musique folklorique irlandaise les plus renommés et les plus créatifs au monde, Dervish a consacré les trois dernières décennies à doucement réinventer les chansons traditionnelles de sa patrie.

Son nouvel album, The Great Irish Songbook, regroupe tout, des ballades mélancoliques à la musique dansante traditionnelle aux chansons réservées pour les funérailles, le ton passant continuellement du désir à la joie aux chagrins d’amour.  

À l’aube de son 30e anniversaire, Dervish prouve une fois de plus la pertinence des chansons, même les plus usées. Et à l’instar de la renaissance folk des années 1960, une grande partie de The Great Irish Songbook célèbre un esprit de rassemblement avec une conviction subtile, mais bien sentie. Pour Dervish, ce sentiment de communauté et d’union est à la fois une leçon à tirer de l’album, et la force motrice qui a mené à sa création.

Anna Ludlow est originaire d'Antigonish, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et joue de son violon depuis plus de vingt ans devant des publics captivés à travers l'Amérique du Nord et l'Europe. Elle vient de terminer une série de 15 mois avec le spectacle à succès et primé "COME FROM AWAY".  Anna est influencée par ses ancêtres celtiques de la classe ouvrière et fusionne la musique traditionnelle du Cap Breton du Gàidhealtachd écossais avec une vibe percussive moderne. Cette multi-instrumentiste, chanteuse et compositrice de chansons utilise ses performances dynamiques pour donner aux auditeurs un goût moderne de l'histoire et de la culture.

video: Dervish - The West Coast of Clare (feat. David Gray)
Dervish - The West Coast of Clare (feat. David Gray)
Dervish
Dervish © Collin Gillen
Dervish © Collin Gillen
Dervish
Dervish
Anna Ludlow
Anna Ludlow
Menu