Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade

Noon-hour Concerts: October 3

NAC Orchestra 50th Anniversary Celebration

This event has passed
Music Classical music

The last of our four noon-hour concerts celebrating the NAC Orchestra and its education and outreach programs showcases three more outstanding artists with ties to the Orchestra’s high-level artist training.

In this performance of flute, harp and tenor, the program reflects repertoire performed throughout the NAC Orchestra’s inaugural season. The 1969 program was rich in operatic, Baroque and newly-commissioned Canadian works, demonstrating the centre’s devotion to artistic diversity. The trio will present works by Applebaum, Ravel, Corigliano and Beecroft among others.

Up-and-coming tenor Yanik Gosselin was a 2018 and 2019 participant in the NAC Young Artist Program (YAP). In 2016, Ottawa-born flutist Lindsay Bryden took part in YAP and was also featured on the NAC’s Rising Star recital series in February 2016. Natalie Hoffmann is professor of harp at the University of Ottawa and part of the Ottawa Youth Orchestra Academy faculty, both significant education partners with the NAC Orchestra.


The NAC’s 50th anniversary events and programs are made possible with support from Gail Asper, O.C., O.M., LL.D. and Michael Paterson, Bonnie and John Buhler, Alice and Grant Burton, Margaret Fountain, C.M., DFA (h) and David Fountain, C.M., Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LL.D. (hc). Janice and Earle O’Born, Gail O’Brien, LL.D. and David O’Brien, O.C., and Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM.
 

Performance is approximately 1 hour including intermission

Menu

Concerts sur l’heure du midi : 3 Octobre

Célébration du 50e anniversaire de l'Orchestre du CNA

Cet événement est passé
Musique Musique classique

Le dernier de nos quatre concerts offerts gratuitement sur l’heure du dîner pour célébrer l’Orchestre du CNA et ses programmes d’éducation et de rayonnement met en vedette trois autres artistes exceptionnels qui ont bénéficié de la formation de haut calibre offerte aux artistes par l’Orchestre.  

Dans ce concert pour flûte, harpe et ténor, le programme reflète le répertoire interprété par l’Orchestre du CNA lors de sa saison inaugurale. Le programme de 1969 était riche en œuvres opératiques et baroques, ainsi qu’en créations canadiennes nouvellement commandées, preuve de l’engagement du centre envers la diversité artistique. Le trio présentera des oeuvres d'Applebaum, de Ravel, Corigliano et Beecroft, parmi d'autres.

Le ténor émergent Yanik Gosselin a participé au Programme des jeunes artistes (PJA) du CNA en 2018 et 2019. En 2016, la flûtiste ottavienne Lindsay Bryden a participé au PJA, et a également fait partie de la série de récitals Étoiles montantes du CNA en février 2016. Natalie Hoffmann est professeure de harpe à l’Université d’Ottawa et fait partie du corps professoral de l’Académie des Orchestres des jeunes d’Ottawa, deux partenaires indispensables en éducation de l’Orchestre du CNA.


Les activités et la programmation du 50e anniversaire du CNA ont été rendues possibles grâce au soutien de Gail Asper, O.C., O.M., LL.D., et Michael Paterson; Bonnie et John Buhler; Alice et Grant Burton; Margaret Fountain, C.M., DFA (h), et David Fountain, C.M.; Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LL.D. (hc); Janice et Earle O’Born; Gail O’Brien, LL.D., et David O’Brien, O.C.; et Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM.

Durée approximative de 1 heur avec entracte

Menu