Niishzhoowe

Mòshkamo Noon Hour Public Programming

Indigenous arts Music Festival events

Niishzhoowe are a duet who shares songs of pride, healing and resurgence of indigenous identity. Gabrielle and Josh infuse acoustic guitar, hand drum with lyrics about identity and personal healing. Join us for an hour of music!

Niishzhoowe means "two voices" in Anishnaabemowin. Niishzhoowe is made up of partners Gabrielle Fayant-Lewis who is Metis from Fishing Lake Metis Settlement in Alberta and Josh Lewis who is Odawa/Anishinaabe from Wikwemikong First Nation on Manitoulin Island, Ontario. They recently performed at Westfest 2018 and several Indigenous community events on Algonquin Unceded territory.

This performance is part of the exciting all-Indigenous programming taking over the NAC’s performance and public spaces September 11-29, 2019. This premiere Indigenous Arts Festival, Mòshkamo, celebrates the inaugural season of NAC’s Indigenous Theatre and the resurgence of Indigenous Arts. Learn more at MoshkamoFestival.ca.

Performance is approximately 1 hour with no intermission.

Menu

Concert du duo Niishzhoowe

Programmation publique à l’heure du midi Mòshkamo

Cet événement est passé
Arts autochtones Musique Festival

Le duo Niishzhoowe a à cœur de faire connaître son héritage autochtone. La guitare acoustique et les petits tambours de Gabrielle et Josh accompagnent des paroles qui évoquent la fierté, l’identité et l’appartenance autochtones et sont autant de remèdes pour le cœur et l’esprit. Vous êtes conviés à une heure de musique à nulle autre pareille!

Dans la langue anishnaabe, « Niishzhoowe » veut dire « deux voix ». Le duo est ainsi formé de la métisse originaire de Fishing Lake Metis Settlement (Alb.) Gabrielle Fayant-Lewis et de Josh Lewis, Odawa/Anishnaabe de la Première Nation de Wikwemikong (île Manitoulin, Ont.). Le groupe s’est produit dans le cadre de WestFest en 2018 et dans de nombreux événements communautaires autochtones tenus en territoire algonquin non cédé.

Cet événement s’inscrit dans le cadre du Festival Mòshkamo, qui célèbre le réveil des arts autochtones et donne le coup d’envoi à la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone du CNA : une captivante programmation tout autochtone se déroulera à la fois en salle et dans les espaces publics du Centre du 11 au 29 septembre 2019. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site Web festivalmoshkamo.ca

Durée approximative de 1 heure sans entracte.

Menu