Curator Tour of the “Breaking Ground” Exhibitions

Mòshkamo Noon Hour Public Programming

Indigenous arts Visual Arts Festival events

A tour of the Breaking Ground: Freda Diesing, Helen Kalvak, Janet Kigusiuq, Rita Letendre, Four exhibitions produced by Carleton University Art Gallery with the curators Krista Ulujuk Zawadski and Danielle Printup.

Krista Ulujuk Zawadski was raised in Igluligaarjuk (Chesterfield Inlet) and currently calls Rankin Inlet, Nunavut, her home. Zawadski completed a Master’s Degree in Anthropology at the University of British Columbia in 2016, and has focused her education and career in the heritage sector in Nunavut and in the fields of Arctic anthropology, museology and collections-based research, with an emphasis on fostering accessibility to collections for Inuit. Zawadski is currently working for the Government of Nunavut as a curator. Zawadski is currently studying at Carleton University in an interdisciplinary PhD Program.

Danielle Printup is a Hodinohso:ni / Anishnaabe arts administrator and curator from Kitigan Zibi Anishnabeg, QC, with maternal roots in Ohsweken, ON. She studied Art History at the University of Guelph and went on to intern at the National Gallery of Canada before completing the Aboriginal Training Program in Museum Practices at the Canadian Museum of History. She has held various positions at SAW Gallery, the Indigenous Art Centre, and the City of Ottawa's Public Art Program. She is currently based in Ottawa where she works at the Carleton University Art Gallery. Most recently, she curated the group exhibition, "Inaabiwin" that opened at The Robert McLaughlin Gallery in Oshawa in September of 2018 and will travel to the Ottawa Art Gallery in October of 2019.

This event is part of the exciting all-Indigenous programming taking over the NAC’s performance and public spaces September 11-29, 2019. This premiere Indigenous Arts Festival, Mòshkamo, celebrates the inaugural season of NAC’s Indigenous Theatre and the resurgence of Indigenous Arts. Learn more at MoshkamoFestival.ca.

Approximately 1 hour long

Menu

Visite guidée de l’exposition Avant-gardistes : Freda Diesing, Helen Kalvak, Janet Kigusiuq et Rita Letendre

Programmation publique à l’heure du midi Mòshkamo

Cet événement est passé
Arts autochtones Arts visuels Festival

Visite guidée de l’exposition Avant-gardistes : Freda Diesing, Helen Kalvak, Janet Kigusiuq et Rita Letendre, produite par la galerie d’art de l’Université Carleton, par ses commissaires, Krista Ulujuk Zawadski et Danielle Printup.

Krista Ulujuk Zawadski a grandi à Igluligaarjuk (Chesterfield Inlet) et réside actuellement à Rankin Inlet, au Nunavut. Titulaire d’une maîtrise en anthropologie de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (2016), elle se concentre, tant dans ses études que sa carrière, dans les domaines de l’anthropologie et de la muséologie de l’Arctique; elle s’appuie sur des recherches centrées sur les collections muséales et valorise en particulier l’accessibilité aux collections pour les Inuits. Zawadski est conservatrice du gouvernement du Nunavut; elle est actuellement inscrite dans un programme interdisciplinaire de 3e cycle à l’Université Carleton.

Danielle Printup est une administratrice du monde des arts et conservatrice d’origine hodinohso:ni et anishnaabe, née à Kitigan Zibi (Qc) et ayant des racines maternelles à Ohsweken (Ont.) Après avoir obtenu un baccalauréat en histoire de l’art de l’Université de Guelph, elle a effectué un stage au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et participé au Programme de formation en pratiques muséales destiné aux autochtones du Musée canadien de l’histoire. Elle a œuvré à la Galerie SAW, au Centre d’art autochtone et à la ville d’Ottawa (programme d’art public). Elle est actuellement adjointe à la programmation à la Galerie d’art de l’Université Carleton. Danielle Printup est la commissaire de l’exposition collective Inaabiwin; présentée à la Galerie Robert McLaughlin d’Oshawa à l’automne 2018, cette exposition prendra bientôt l’affiche à la Galerie d’art d’Ottawa (octobre 2019).

Cet événement s’inscrit dans le cadre du Festival Mòshkamo, qui célèbre le réveil des arts autochtones et donne le coup d’envoi à la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone du CNA : une captivante programmation tout autochtone se déroulera à la fois en salle et dans les espaces publics du Centre du 11 au 29 septembre 2019. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site Web festivalmoshkamo.ca.

Durée approximative de 1 heure

Menu