Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade
Albert Dumont

Poetry with Albert Dumont

Mòshkamo Noon Hour Public Programming

This event has passed
Albert Dumont
Indigenous arts Festival events

Learn about what defines poetry writing from the perspective of a First Nations spiritual advisor. Discover where, when and how the land and waters can quickly become your inspiration to create poetry you never thought possible. In the forest and at your healing place, words of poetry are waiting to be retrieved. This presentation will assist you in understanding why poetry is medicine for the spirit and can also be healing for human beings in emotional distress.

Albert Dumont is an activist, a volunteer and a poet who has published 6 books of poetry and short stories. In recognition for his work on his ancestral lands (Ottawa and Region) Albert was presented with a Human Rights Award by the Public Service Alliance of Canada in 2010. In January 2017, he received the DreamKEEPERS Citation for Outstanding Leadership. Albert has dedicated his life to promoting Indigenous spirituality and healing and to protecting the rights of Indigenous Peoples particularly those as they affect the young.

This event is part of the exciting all-Indigenous programming taking over the NAC’s performance and public spaces September 11-29, 2019. This premiere Indigenous Arts Festival, Mòshkamo, celebrates the inaugural season of NAC’s Indigenous Theatre and the resurgence of Indigenous Arts. Learn more at MoshkamoFestival.ca.

Approximately 1 hour long

Albert Dumont
Menu

Albert Dumont

Poésie avec Albert Dumont

Programmation publique à l’heure du midi Mòshkamo

Cet événement est passé
Albert Dumont
Arts autochtones Festival

Venez découvrir ce qui distingue la poésie des autres formes d’écriture d’après Albert Dumont, conseiller spirituel des Premières Nations. Vous verrez que la nature peut vous inspirer d’incroyables poèmes : le territoire et les cours d’eau, mais aussi la forêt, sont autant d’espaces de guérison qui regorgent de mots ne demandant qu’à être retrouvés. Grâce à cette conférence, vous apprendrez en quoi la poésie peut être source de guérison pour le cœur et l’esprit et comment elle peut nous aider dans les moments difficiles.

Albert Dumont est un bénévole et un poète engagé, auteur de six recueils de poèmes et de nouvelles. Il a reçu en 2010 le prix des droits de la personne de l’Alliance de la fonction publique du Canada en reconnaissance de son dévouement à ses terres ancestrales (la région d’Ottawa). Il a aussi été cité pour le prix d’excellence en leadership de l’organisation DreamKEEPERS (2017). Albert Dumont consacre sa vie à la promotion de la spiritualité et de la guérison autochtones et à la protection des droits des peuples autochtones, en particulier des jeunes.

Cet événement s’inscrit dans le cadre du Festival Mòshkamo, qui célèbre le réveil des arts autochtones et donne le coup d’envoi à la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone du CNA : une captivante programmation tout autochtone se déroulera à la fois en salle et dans les espaces publics du Centre du 11 au 29 septembre 2019. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site Web festivalmoshkamo.ca.

Durée approximative de 1 heure

Albert Dumont
Menu