© Mathew Borrett

By Lisa Jackson, Mathew Borrett, Jam3 and the National Film Board of Canada

Biidaaban: First Light

VR Experience

This event has passed
© Mathew Borrett
Indigenous arts Exhibitions & installations Film Storytelling Festival events

Toronto’s Nathan Phillips Square is flooded. Its infrastructure has merged with the local fauna; mature trees grow through cracks in the sidewalks and vines cover south-facing walls. People commute via canoe and grow vegetables on skyscraper roofs. Urban life is thriving.

Rooted in Indigenous futurism, Biidaaban: First Light asks users to think about their place in history and their role in a possible future. As they move through a highly realistic future Toronto reclaimed by nature, they hear the languages of the place originally known as Tkaronto. Through gaze-based interactions, users engage with the written text of the Wendat, Kanien’kehá:ka (Mohawk) and Anishinaabe (Ojibway) and gain insight into the complex thought systems of this land’s first peoples.

Biidaaban: First Light is part of the exciting all-Indigenous programming taking over the NAC’s performance and public spaces September 11-29, 2019. This premiere Indigenous Arts Festival, Mòshkamo, celebrates the inaugural season of NAC’s Indigenous Theatre and the resurgence of Indigenous Arts. Learn more at MoshkamoFestival.ca.

Biidaaban: First Light is an interactive VR time-jump into a highly realistic—and radically different—Toronto of tomorrow. As users explore this altered city now reclaimed by nature, they must think about their place in history and ultimately their role in the future.

The Exhibit will be open from 10am to 2pm and 3pm to 7pm daily from September 17th through September 26th. Patrons are asked to join the wailing list available next to the exhibit and be admitted on a first come, first served basis. The experience is about 8 minutes in duration and the total time of 15 minutes includes the adjustment of the equipment for individuals.

© Mathew Borrett
Menu

© Mathew Borrett

Lisa Jackson, Mathew Borrett, Jam3 et l'Office national du film du Canada

Biidaaban : Première lueur

Expérience de réalité virtuelle

septembre 2019

  1. sep 20 2019
    Aujourd'hui

    10 h 00

  2. sep 21 2019
    Demain

    10 h 00

  3. sep 22 2019
    dimanche

    10 h 00

  4. sep 23 2019
    lundi

    10 h 00

  5. sep 24 2019
    mardi

    10 h 00

  6. sep 25 2019
    mercredi

    10 h 00

  7. sep 26 2019
    jeudi

    10 h 00

Fermer
© Mathew Borrett
Arts autochtones Expositions Cinéma Conte Festival

La place Nathan-Phillips de Toronto est inondée et son infrastructure, noyée dans la flore locale. De grands arbres ont poussé dans les fissures des trottoirs et des vignes couvrent les murs orientés plein sud. Les gens se déplacent en canot et cultivent des légumes sur le toit des gratte-ciel. La vie urbaine s’épanouit.

Ancré dans le futurisme autochtone, Biidaaban : Première lueur invite les utilisateurs à réfléchir à la place qu’ils occupent dans l’histoire et au rôle qui leur reviendra dans l’avenir. Tout en parcourant un Toronto de demain des plus réalistes où la nature a repris ses droits, ils entendent les langues parlées en ce lieu qu’on appelait à l’origine Tkaronto. Des interactions dirigées par le regard les amènent à se pencher sur des textes wendats, kanien’kehá:ka (mohawks) et anichinabés (ojibwés) et à mieux comprendre les systèmes de pensée complexes des premiers occupants de ce territoire.

Cet événement s’inscrit dans le cadre du Festival Mòshkamo, qui célèbre le réveil des arts autochtones et donne le coup d’envoi à la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone du CNA : une captivante programmation tout autochtone se déroulera à la fois en salle et dans les espaces publics du Centre du 11 au 29 septembre 2019. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site Web festivalmoshkamo.ca.

La création interactive de RV Biidaaban : Première lueur projette les utilisateurs dans le temps pour les plonger au cœur d’un Toronto de demain des plus réalistes — et radicalement transformé. En explorant cette ville méconnaissable où la nature a repris ses droits, ils doivent réfléchir à la place qu’ils occupent dans l’histoire et au rôle qu’ils auront à jouer dans l’avenir.

Cette installation est ouverte au public de 10 h à 14 h et de 15 h à 19 h tous les jours du 17 au 26 septembre. Pour participer, il suffit de s’inscrire sur la liste placée près de l’installation. L’entrée se fait selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. L’expérience de réalité virtuelle est d’une durée d’environ 8 minutes; avec l’ajustement de l’équipement pour chaque personne, il faut prévoir un total de 15 minutes.

Horaires

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
  1. sep 21 2019
    Aujourd'hui

    10 h 00

  2. sep 22 2019
    Demain

    10 h 00

  3. sep 23 2019
    lundi

    10 h 00

  4. sep 24 2019
    mardi

    10 h 00

  5. sep 25 2019
    mercredi

    10 h 00

  6. sep 26 2019
    jeudi

    10 h 00

© Mathew Borrett
Menu