Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade

Pen and Ink Painting with Inuk Artist Heather Campbell

Móshkamo Workshop

3:30 pm
Atelier Shenkman Smith
This event has passed
Indigenous arts Workshop Festival events

In this workshop, Heather Campbell will give a short presentation about her life and work, followed by instruction in her ink wash technique. You can create your own washes to draw on top of later, and a background created by Heather will be provided to draw on top of with pen and nibs.

Heather Campbell is an Inuk artist originally from Rigolet, Nunatsiavut, now based in Ottawa. Heather is primarily a painter and draws on top of ink washes to create dream-like images filled with Inuit imagery. She is also working on her first short documentary film with the NFB about her grandmother, one of the first Inuit teachers. Heather’s work was featured in Resilience, art of Indigenous women displayed on billboards all across Canada. In addition, her piece Methylmercury is part of the exhibition SakKijâjuk: Inuit Fine Art and Craft from Nunatsiavut that will open at the Art Gallery of Windsor in October.

The Art of Storytelling exists in many different cultural practices. We are hosting multidisciplinary artists who offer a range of artistic processes that we know will inspire creative ideas and form new relationships.  Follow us on Facebook to find out more and join us during Mòshkamo: Indigenous Arts Rising.

This workshop is part of the exciting all-Indigenous programming taking over the NAC’s performance and public spaces September 11-29, 2019. This premiere Indigenous Arts Festival, Mòshkamo, celebrates the inaugural season of NAC’s Indigenous Theatre and the resurgence of Indigenous Arts. Learn more at MoshkamoFestival.ca.

Approximately 2 hours long

Menu

Peinture à l’encre avec l’artiste inuite Heather Campbell

Atelier Móshkamo

15 h 30
Atelier Shenkman Smith
Arts autochtones Atelier Festival

Dans cet atelier, Heather Campbell parlera de sa vie et de son œuvre, et présentera sa technique de lavis. Les participants seront invités à essayer cette technique avec de l’encre de Chine et des plumes à partir d’images fournies par l’artiste.

Heather Campbell est une artiste inuite originaire de Rigolet (Nunatsaviut, T.-N-L.) résidant actuellement à Ottawa. En tant qu’artiste peintre, elle utilise la technique du lavis pour créer des œuvres oniriques d’inspiration inuite. En collaboration avec l’ONF, elle prépare aussi un court-métrage documentaire portant sur sa grand-mère, laquelle est au nombre des premières personnes d’origine inuite à avoir obtenu un brevet d’enseignement au Labrador. Les œuvres d’Heather Campbell ont été exposées sur des panneaux d’affichage à travers le Canada dans le cadre du projet Resilience. Sa toile Methylmercury figure à l’exposition « SakKijâjuk »: Inuit Fine Art and Craft from Nunatsiavut, qui sera à l’affiche à la Galerie d’art de Windsor en octobre.

L’art du conte fait partie d’un grand nombre de pratiques culturelles. Nous avons invité des artistes pluridisciplinaires qui sauront, grâce à une variété de processus artistiques, inspirer votre créativité et cultiver les nouvelles rencontres. Suivez-nous sur Facebook pour tous les détails, et soyez des nôtres pour le festival Mòshkamo : Le réveil des arts autochtones.

Cet événement s’inscrit dans le cadre du Festival Mòshkamo, qui célèbre le réveil des arts autochtones et donne le coup d’envoi à la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone du CNA : une captivante programmation tout autochtone se déroulera à la fois en salle et dans les espaces publics du Centre du 11 au 29 septembre 2019. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site Web festivalmoshkamo.ca.

Durée approximative de 2 h

Menu