Indigenous arts Music Pop

Riit, from majestic Panniqtuq, Nunavut, is a new artist making space for herself in the electropop world with Inuktitut lyrics and deep rhythmic vocals layered over gemological synth cuts and sticky, staticky electronic textures.

Throughout her debut full-length album, produced by Graham Walsh (Holy Fuck) and recorded in Iqaluit, Nunavut and Toronto, Riit sings about the clarity of forgiveness, the imprint of the past on the present, and personal disconnection. Riit also nods to Nunavut’s rich yet underappreciated legacy of songwriters, with covers of Inuktitut classics included on the record.

Riit is one of the faces of a Nunavut youth movement, a group of remarkable, driven and increasingly high-profile individuals. Her performance in London for The Duke and Duchess of Sussex and a sold out show in Paris are highlights of her young career.

Now signed to Six Shooter Records, Riit will release her debut full-length album in 2019.

video: Qaumajuapik [Official Audio]
Qaumajuapik [Official Audio]
Menu

Cet événement est passé
Arts autochtones Musique Pop Festival

Riit, originaire de Panniqtuq, au Nunavut, est une nouvelle artiste qui se taille une place dans le monde de l’électro-pop avec des paroles en inuktitut et des chants rythmiques posés sur des pistes de synthé gemmologiques et des textures électroniques collantes et statiques. 

Dans son premier album complet, réalisé par Graham Walsh (Holy Fuck) et enregistré à Iqaluit, au Nunavut, et à Toronto, Riit aborde la lucidité du pardon, l’empreinte du passé sur le présent, et la déconnexion personnelle. Riit fait également un clin d’œil à l’héritage riche, mais méconnu des auteurs-compositeurs du Nunavut en interprétant des classiques du répertoire inuktitut sur son album.

Riit est l’une des figures du mouvement jeunesse du Nunavut, un groupe d’individus remarquables et déterminés à la notoriété croissante. Parmi les moments forts de sa jeune carrière, notons sa prestation devant le duc et la duchesse de Sussex, ainsi qu’un spectacle présenté à guichet fermé à Paris.  

Riit fera paraître son premier album complet en 2019 sur l’étiquette Six Shooter Records.

video: Qaumajuapik [Official Audio]
Qaumajuapik [Official Audio]
Menu