Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

Un conte de l’apocalypse

7:30 pm

January 2020

  1. Jan 28 2020
    Tuesday

    7:30pm

  2. Jan 29 2020
    Wednesday

    7:30pm

  3. Jan 30 2020
    Thursday

    7:30pm

  4. Jan 31 2020
    Friday

    7:30pm

February 2020

  1. Feb 1 2020
    Saturday

    7:30pm

Close
La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins 333 King Edward Ave. Ottawa Canada
© Julie Charland
If life is a play, each of us has a part in it.
  • Written by Robert Marinier
  • Directed by Kevin Orr

Will climate change deniers one day be accused of crimes against humanity? As the environment and climate change make headlines, Robert Marinier’s play draws us into a totalitarian green regime for a Brechtian experience tinged with humour.

In a not-too-distant future, massive floods ravage the Earth; cities are submerged, roads are destroyed, and hordes of migrants converge on the last remaining arable land. In Canada, an extremist faction of the Green Party, brought to power by a coup, imposes the death sentence on anyone who denies global warming. A rebellion starts to gain momentum. Convinced he’s only in a play, Guy Coudonc remains impervious to the impending disaster ... until, in spite of himself, he becomes the main character in this ecological fable.

A light-hearted illustration of our capacity for selective blindness, Un conte de l’apocalypse investigates the impact of our actions on the equilibrium of our planet. This play by Robert Marinier, recipient of the 2017 Nouvel-Ontario Award for his contribution to Franco-Ontarian arts and culture, is directed by Kevin Orr and marks the 40th anniversary of Théâtre de la Vieille 17.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Jan 27
Jan 28
  • 7:30 PM
Jan 29
  • 7:30 PM
Jan 30
  • 7:30 PM
Jan 31
  • 7:30 PM
Feb 1
  • 7:30 PM
Feb 2
© Julie Charland

Artists

  • Written by Robert Marinier
  • Directed by Kevin Orr
  • With Roch Castonguay, Alexandre Gauthier, Magali Lemèle, Andrée Rainville, Anie Richer and Luc Thériault
  • Assistant director and stage manager Lindsay Tremblay
  • Artistic consultant Esther Beauchemin
  • Sets John Doucet
  • Soundscape Martin Dawagne
  • Lighting Guillaume Houët
  • Costumes Angela Haché
  • Produced by Théâtre de la Vieille 17 and NAC French Theatre
Menu

Tous les spectacles et événements sont annulés jusqu’au lundi 27 avril 2020
© Julie Charland

Un conte de l’apocalypse

Cet événement est passé
© Julie Charland
Si la vie est une pièce de théâtre, chacun a un rôle à y jouer.

Les climatosceptiques seront-ils un jour accusés de crime contre l’humanité ? Alors que l’environnement et les changements climatiques font les manchettes, le texte de Robert Marinier nous entraîne dans un régime vert totalitaire, le temps d’une expérience brechtienne teintée d’humour.

Dans un futur pas si lointain, de grandes inondations ravagent la Terre. Des villes sont submergées, des routes sont détruites et les flots de migrants convergent vers les dernières terres arables. Au Canada, une faction extrémiste du Parti vert, qu’un coup d’État a porté au pouvoir, condamne à mort tous ceux qui ont nié le réchauffement climatique. Une rébellion se lève. Persuadé d’être dans une pièce de théâtre, Guy Coudonc reste imperméable à la catastrophe avant de devenir malgré lui le personnage principal de cette fable écologique.

Illustrant avec humour notre capacité d’aveuglement volontaire, Un conte de l’apocalypse interroge l’impact de nos actes sur l’équilibre de notre planète. Cette fiction de Robert Marinier, qui a reçu en 2017 le prix du Nouvel-Ontario pour sa contribution au milieu des arts et de la culture franco-ontarienne, marquera les quarante ans du Théâtre de la Vieille 17 et sera mise en scène par André Perrier.

Durée approximative de 1 hour 45 minutes sans entracte.

© Julie Charland
© Marianne Duval

Artistes

  • Texte Robert Marinier
  • Mise en scène  André Perrier
  • Avec Roch Castonguay, Alexandre Gauthier, Magali Lemèle, Andrée Rainville, Anie Richer, Luc Thériault et la participation de Joshua Carroll, Virginie Charland, Emmanuelle Gingras, Zackari Gosselin, Sophie Legault, Maxim Racicot-Doucet et Aryane Roberge (étudiants au Département de théâtre de l’Université d’Ottawa)
  • Assistance à la mise en scène et régie Lindsay Tremblay
  • Conseils artistiques Esther Beauchemin
  • Scénographie John Doucet
  • Environnement sonore Martin Dawagne
  • Lumière Guillaume Houët
  • Vidéographe Christopher Payne
  • Costumes Judith de Boer
  • Assistante aux costumes Erika Lynne Scrivens
  • Production Théâtre de la Vieille 17 et Théâtre français du CNA
Menu