Le désert mauve

7:00 pm
Salle Jean-Despréz, Maison du Citoyen 25 Rue Laurier Gatineau
© Julie Charland
The desire for poetry always springs from danger and passion, from a state of personal or collective tension. Nicole Brossard
  • Written by Nicole Brossard and Simon Dumas

How do you construct a story—maybe even a reality? A hybrid of presentation, theatre and film, Le désert mauve tackles Nicole Brossard’s genre-defying novel of the same name. Within the blinding void, the thoughts of a teenager on the run generate a series of images that accumulate like so many distressing mirages.

Fifteen-year-old Mélanie is driving through the Arizona desert, circling the motel where she lives with her mother. Thirsty for the absolute, beset by existential questions, the young woman is desperate to escape boredom and discover who she is in a world gradually losing its humanity.

Nicole Brossard writes about adolescence in all its defiance and intensity, and has published some 40 titles since 1965. An award-winning poet, she periodically returns to the novel form to gauge its relationship to the real. The stage direction and visual elements of this adaptation of her iconic novel are the result of an artistic encounter between the author and Simon Dumas of Rhizome, which produces multidisciplinary projects based on literary works.

As they talk about creative issues and unfold the story of Le désert mauve, images pile up on the walls and furniture of what looks like a motel room. Within the theatre space, new layers of fiction are taking shape.

Performance is approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes with no intermission.

© Julie Charland
© Rhizome
© Rhizome
© Rhizome
© Rhizome
© Marc Dubé

Artists

  • Written by Nicole Brossard and Simon Dumas
  • Directed by Simon Dumas
  • With Nicole Brossard and Simon Dumas
  • Video appearances Nicole Brossard, Evelyne de la Chenelière, Simon Drouin, Valérie Laroche, Todd Picard, Judith Rompré and Arielle Warnke St-Pierre
  • Voices Lise Castonguay, Marie Gignac and Mélissa Merlo
  • Assistant directors Geneviève Allard, Anne-Marie Desmeules and Lola Tillard
  • Sets, costumes, props, production design (touring) Julie Lévesque
  • Lighting Renaud Pettigrew
  • Sound design Chantal Dumas
  • Technical design and additional sound Marc Doucet
  • Images, video, editing and projections Marco Dubé
  • Tour coordinator Annick Beaulieu
  • Touring assistant Olivier A. Dubois
  • Produced by Rhizome
  • Presented by NAC French Theatre and Salon du livre de l’Outaouais
Menu

Le désert mauve

19 h 00
Salle Jean-Despréz, Maison du Citoyen 25, rue Laurier Gatineau
© Julie Charland
C’est toujours du danger et de la passion, d’un état de tension, personnel ou collectif, que naît le désir de poésie. Nicole Brossard
  • Texte Nicole Brossard et Simon Dumas

Comment bâtir une fiction, voire une réalité ? Au carrefour de la conférence, du théâtre et du cinéma, Le désert mauve est une plongée dans le roman éponyme inclassable de Nicole Brossard. Au milieu du néant aveuglant, les pensées d’une adolescente en cavale génèrent une série d’images qui s’accumulent, comme autant de mirages angoissants.

Mélanie, quinze ans, roule dans le désert de l’Arizona, en faisant des cercles autour du motel où elle vit avec sa mère. Assoiffée d’absolu, taraudée par des questions existentielles, la jeune fille fuit l’ennui et cherche à trouver qui elle est dans un monde en perte d’humanité.

Écrivaine de l’adolescence dans tout ce qu’elle porte de transgression et d’intensité, Nicole Brossard a publié une quarantaine de titres depuis 1965. Poète majeure, elle revient périodiquement au roman pour jauger son rapport au réel. La mise en scène et en images de son roman culte est le fruit d’une rencontre artistique entre l’auteure et Simon Dumas, de Rhizome, qui produit des projets multidisciplinaires dont le cœur est littéraire.

Alors qu’ils discutent sur les enjeux qui sous-tendent la création et nous racontent Le désert mauve, des images s’accumulent sur les murs et les meubles de ce qui ressemble à une chambre de motel. Dans la salle de spectacle, de nouvelles couches de fiction sont en train de naître.

Durée approximative de 1 heure et 30 minutes sans entracte.

© Julie Charland
© Rhizome
© Rhizome
© Rhizome
© Rhizome
© Marc Dubé

Artistes

  • Texte Nicole Brossard et Simon Dumas
  • Mise en scène Simon Dumas
  • Avec Nicole Brossard et Simon Dumas
  • À l’écran Nicole Brossard, Evelyne de la Chenelière, Simon Drouin, Valérie Laroche, Todd Picard, Judith Rompré et Arielle Warnke St-Pierre
  • À l’audio Lise Castonguay, Marie Gignac et Mélissa Merlo
  • Assistance à la mise en scène Geneviève Allard, Anne-Marie Desmeules et Lola Tillard
  • Scénographie, costumes, accessoires et chef décoratrice (tournage) Julie Lévesque
  • Lumière Renaud Pettigrew
  • Conception sonore Chantal Dumas
  • Conception technique et sons supplémentaires Marc Doucet
  • Images, vidéo, montage et projections Marco Dubé
  • Coordination tournage Annick Beaulieu
  • Assistance au tournage Olivier A. Dubois
  • Production Rhizome
  • Présentation Théâtre français du CNA et Salon du livre de l’Outaouais
Menu