50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it! (Starting in:
)
© Julie Charland
© Julie Charland
Slam, rap, and fight choreography with testosterone
  • Based on Homère, Iliade by Alessandro Baricco
  • Adapted and directed by Marc Beaupré
  • Music designer and director Stéfan Boucher assisted by Olivier Landry-Gagnon

In the hands of director Marc Beaupré and music designer Stéfan Boucher, The Iliad becomes a choreography of fights, a chant with haunting rhythms. The millennial story of the Trojan War takes on new life, conveyed through the sharp and elegant performances of ten remarkable artists.

Paris’s love for Helen wreaks havoc. The Greeks lay siege to the Trojans to take back the legendary beauty. Achilles, the brave warrior, who an oracle has predicted will either die a hero’s death or grow old in oblivion, is torn between his desire for glory and his fear of death.

Freely adapting Alessandro Baricco’s modern rewrite of Homer’s epic poem, Marc Beaupré populates the stage with a chorus of soldiers, men and women. Reinforcing their dialogue with codified movements, they evoke powerful, all-engulfing images. As for Stéfan Boucher, he steps in as the conductor of the battle, deploying his full arsenal of sound to build this new version of The Iliad.

With Caligula_remix, Dom Juan_uncensored and Hamlet_director’s cut, recently presented by NAC French Theatre, the Terre des Hommes theatre company tackles the classics head-on, rekindling their power through eminently contemporary dramatic writing.

Performance is approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes with no intermission.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Mar 9
Mar 10
Mar 11
  • 7:30 PM
Mar 12
  • 7:30 PM
Mar 13
  • 7:30 PM
Mar 14
  • 7:30 PM
Mar 15
© Julie Charland
© Gunther Gamper
© Gunther Gamper
© Gunther Gamper
© Gunther Gamper
© Gunther Gamper

Artists

  • Based on Homère, Iliade by Alessandro Baricco
  • Adapted and directed by Marc Beaupré
  • With Stéfan Boucher, Maya Kuroki, Olivier Landry-Gagnon, Justin Laramée, Catherine Larochelle, Louis-Olivier Mauffette, Jean-François Nadeau, Emile Schneider, Emmanuel Schwartz and Guillaume Tremblay
  • Music designer and director Stéfan Boucher assisted by Olivier Landry-Gagnon
  • Assistant director and stage manager Julien Véronneau
  • Dramaturg Marie-Claude Verdier
  • Sets François Blouin
  • Lighting Étienne Boucher
  • Sound design and operation Frédéric Auger
  • Costumes Sarah Balleux
  • Makeup and hair Florence Cornet
  • Props Julie Measroch
  • Movement Simon-Xavier Lefèbvre
  • Sign language Sarah Turbide
  • Production assistance Xavier Inchauspé
  • Produced by Terre des Hommes and Théâtre Denise-Pelletier
Menu

© Julie Charland
© Julie Charland
Slam, rap et chorégraphie guerrière sous testostérone
  • D’après Homère, Iliade d’Alessandro Baricco
  • Adaptation et mise en scène Marc Beaupré
  • Musique et direction musicale Stéfan Boucher assisté d’Olivier Landry-Gagnon

Entre les mains du metteur en scène Marc Beaupré et du concepteur musical Stéfan Boucher, L’Iliade devient une chorégraphie de combats, un chant scandé aux rythmes obsédants. Le récit millénaire de la guerre de Troie se gonfle d’un nouveau souffle, porté par les gestes élégants et acérés de dix interprètes redoutables.

L’amour de Pâris pour Hélène sème le chaos. Les Grecs assiègent les Troyens pour reprendre la belle. Achille, le valeureux guerrier, à qui un oracle a prédit qu’il mourrait en héros ou vieillirait dans l’oubli, est déchiré entre son désir de gloire et sa crainte de la mort.

Adaptant librement la réécriture moderne du poème épique d’Homère par Alessandro Baricco, Marc Beaupré déploie sur scène un chœur de soldats, d’hommes et de femmes. En appuyant leurs mots d’une gestuelle codifiée, ils font naître de puissantes images, qui avalent tout. Stéfan Boucher, lui, agit comme chef d’orchestre de la bataille et déploie tout son arsenal sonore pour édifier cette nouvelle version de L’Iliade.

Avec Caligula_remix, Dom Juan_uncensored et Hamlet_director’s cut, lequel a récemment été présenté au Théâtre français du CNA, la compagnie Terre des Hommes prend les classiques à bras le corps pour en faire rayonner la force grâce à une écriture scénique éminemment contemporaine.

Durée approximative de 1 heure et 30 minutes sans entracte.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
mar 9
mar 10
mar 11
  • 19 h 30
mar 12
  • 19 h 30
mar 13
  • 19 h 30
mar 14
  • 19 h 30
mar 15
© Julie Charland
© Gunther Gamper
© Gunther Gamper
© Gunther Gamper
© Gunther Gamper
© Gunther Gamper

Artistes

  • D’après Homère, Iliade d’Alessandro Baricco
  • Adaptation et mise en scène Marc Beaupré
  • Avec Stéfan Boucher, Maya Kuroki, Olivier Landry-Gagnon, Justin Laramée, Catherine Larochelle, Louis-Olivier Mauffette, Jean-François Nadeau, Emile Schneider, Emmanuel Schwartz et Guillaume Tremblay
  • Musique et direction musicale Stéfan Boucher assisté d’Olivier Landry-Gagnon
  • Assistance à la mise en scène et régie Julien Véronneau
  • Dramaturgie Marie-Claude Verdier
  • Scénographie François Blouin
  • Lumière Étienne Boucher
  • Sonorisation et régie son Frédéric Auger
  • Costumes Sarah Balleux
  • Maquillages et coiffures Florence Cornet
  • Accessoires Julie Measroch
  • Mouvement Simon-Xavier Lefèbvre
  • Langage des signes Sarah Turbide
  • Soutien à la production Xavier Inchauspé
  • Production Terre des Hommes et Théâtre Denise-Pelletier
Menu