This event has passed

Inspired by the traditions of African-American music, critically acclaimed alto saxophonist and composer Darius Jones embraces individuality and innovation. Presented by the TD Ottawa Jazz Festival, fans will have a rare opportunity to see Jones perform live at the NAC Fourth Stage on Tuesday, September 18th, 2018 (his last Festival appearance was in 2014)

A mainstay in the New York Jazz Scene, The New York Times describes Jones as “…The most visceral and distinctive alto saxophonist of this era,”  and dubbed Jones among the Best Live Jazz Performances of 2017.

With a long list of accomplishments and accolades, Darius Jones has also shared the stage and collaborated with some of the world’s top jazz artists, including Branford Marsalis, Gerald Cleaver, Oliver Lake, William Parker, Sun Ra Arkestra, Orrin Evans to name only a few.

For his Ottawa appearance Jones will perform the most recent album from his Man’ish Boy Epic, an ambitious multi-recording of nine albums reflecting his unique aesthetic and cosmology. Le bébé de Brigitte (Lost in Translation) is the fifth album in the series, adding the distinctive talents of French singer and composer, Emilie Lesbros, to sing a rich and varied suite of songs by her and Jones.

By turns introspective, swinging, and searing, the suite – with lyrics in both English and French – is steeped in the histories of jazz and chanson, but reflects a highly personal shared musical language that Jones’s superb ensemble (John Escreet - piano, rhodes, Sean Conly - bass, and Ches Smith - drums) fleshes out evocatively through improvisation.

Duration

Performance is approximately 90 minutes with no intermission.

Menu

Cet événement est passé

Inspiré par les traditions de la musique afro-américaine, le saxophoniste alto et compositeur Darius Jones, acclamé par la critique, joint l’individualité à l’innovation. Dans le cadre d’une présentation du Festival de jazz d’Ottawa TD, les amateurs auront une rare occasion de voir Jones à la Quatrième salle du CNA le mardi 18 septembre 2018 (sa dernière participation au Festival a eu lieu en 2014).

Pilier de la scène de jazz de New York, Jones est « le saxophoniste alto le plus intense et distinctif de notre époque » et son spectacle de l’un des meilleurs concerts de jazz de 2017, selon le New York Times.

Avec une longue liste de réalisations et de récompenses, Darius Jones a également partagé la scène et a collaboré avec certains des meilleurs artistes de jazz du monde, notamment Branford Marsalis, Gerald Cleaver, Oliver Lake, William Parker, Sun Ra Arkestra et Orrin Evans.

Pour sa participation à Ottawa, Jones interprétera son plus récent album de sa suite Man’ish Boy Epic, ambitieux projet de neuf albums exprimant son esthétique et sa cosmologie uniques. Le cinquième album de la série, Le bébé de Brigitte (Lost in Translation), souligne les talents distinctifs de la chanteuse et compositrice française Émilie Lesbros qui chante un enchaînement riche et varié de chansons composées en tandem.

Tantôt introspective, tantôt endiablée et torride, la suite – formée de textes en anglais et en français – plonge dans l’histoire du jazz et de la chanson, mais intègre un langage musical très personnel que le superbe groupe de Jones (John Escreet – piano, piano électrique (Rhodes), Sean Conly – contrebasse, et Ches Smith – batterie) étoffe de manière évocatrice par l’improvisation.

Durée

Durée approximative de 90 minutes sans entracte.

Menu