This event has passed
“The high-velocity trio expresses an intuitive freedom in its approach with savvy interaction and youthful vigour” BBC Radio 2

There’s a reason, beyond their dazzling musicianship and wildly entertaining live shows, that The East Pointers have connected with audiences right across the globe, making new, original roots music the hippest, most vibrant thing going.

The reason? The East Pointers - fiddler/singer Tim Chaisson, banjoist Koady Chaisson and guitarist Jake Charron – write about real life, sketching out its joys and sorrows in vivid strokes. That palpable authenticity makes their instrumental tunes practically cartwheel and infuses their lyric-driven songs with poignancy.

And it’s why listening to The East Pointers’ brilliant and hotly anticipated second album What We Leave Behind – produced by superstar East Coast-bred songwriter/producer Gordie Sampson – is akin to meeting up with an old friend.

As a follow-up to 2015’s internationally acclaimed, JUNO Award-winning debut Secret Victory, What We Leave Behind shares stories previously unheard but framed by a familiar context. With a captivating balance between their traditional-sounding instrumental tunes, and catchy radio-ready songs, The East Pointers reach out with open arms to a wide range of listeners, inviting them to discover a new love of folk music.

Duration

Performance is approximately 3 hours with no intermission.

video: The East Pointers - Meals by Maurice
The East Pointers - Meals by Maurice
The East Pointers © Jen Squires
Menu

The East Pointers © Jen Squires

Au-delà de leurs impressionnantes habiletés musicales et de leur sens aigu du spectacle, il y a une raison pour laquelle The East Pointers conquièrent les auditoires dans le monde entier avec leurs compositions originales, faisant de la musique traditionnelle le courant le plus branché de l’heure.

La raison? Les East Pointers – le violoniste et chanteur Tim Chaisson, le banjoïste Koady Chaisson et le guitariste Jake Charron – écrivent sur la vraie vie, esquissant à traits vifs ses joies et ses chagrins. Cette authenticité palpable est ce qui rend leurs pièces instrumentales si irrésistiblement entraînantes et les paroles de leurs chansons si poignantes.

Voilà pourquoi quand écoute le brillant et très attendu deuxième album des East Pointers, What We Leave Behind – produit par le célèbre auteur-compositeur et producteur de la Côte est Gordie Sampson – on a l’impression de renouer avec un vieil ami.

Succédant à Secret Victory, leur premier album paru en 2015, couronné d’un prix JUNO, qui les a propulsés sur la scène mondiale, What We Leave Behind offre des histoires inédites mais qui s’inscrivent dans un cadre familier. Avec un fascinant équilibre entre leurs pièces instrumentales à caractère traditionnel et leurs chansons accrocheuses taillées pour la radio, The East Pointers ouvrent grand les bras à un vaste auditoire qu’ils invitent à redécouvrir la musique folk sous un nouveau jour.

video: The East Pointers - Meals by Maurice
The East Pointers - Meals by Maurice
The East Pointers © Jen Squires
Menu