Ottawa Jazz Orchestra: Wes’ Coast Vibes

This event has passed
Music Jazz

In the fourth concert of its 2017-2018 season, the Ottawa Jazz Orchestra presents an eclectic menu of musical feasts served up by a full big band. We’ll begin with an entrée of sublime selections from the Vibes on Velvet and More Vibes on Velvet albums that featured vibraphonist Terry Gibbs and the unique arranging style of Manny Albam. We’ll follow with a main course of hard-swinging, high-energy musical meat and potatoes inspired by Wes Montgomery’s outings with a big band on the albums Movin’ Wes and Goin’ Out of My Head. The evening will conclude with a selection of sweet musical treats.

The Ottawa Jazz Orchestra (OJO), based in Ottawa and founded in 2006, brings together many of Canada’s finest professional jazz and symphony orchestra musicians under the direction of bassist Adrian Cho. This unique ensemble has garnered kudos from both critics and audiences for its highly entertaining, innovative and educational presentations of seminal jazz-centric music performed by a diverse range of small and large ensembles.

Purchase tickets for all five season concerts for $140 (regular price $165).
Purchase tickets for any three season concerts for $89 (regular price $99).
Offer available in person at the NAC Box Office or by phone at 613 947-7000 x620.

One lucky audience member at this concert will win a dinner for two at Madisons New York Grill & Bar where a trio from the OJO performs each Saturday night. Details of the weekly lineup of musicians at Madisons can be found at the OJO website at ottawajazzorchestra.com/#madisons.

Menu

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra: Wes’ Coast Vibes

Dans le quatrième concert de sa saison 2017-2018, l’Ottawa Jazz Orchestra présente un menu éclectique de délices musicales, servi par un big band complet. En entrée, on pourra déguster de sublimes extraits des albums Vibes on Velvet et More Vibes on Velvet, marqués par la présence du vibraphoniste Terry Gibbs et les arrangements caractéristiques de Manny Albam. En plat de résistance, la musique substantielle et énergisante inspirée des incursions de Wes Montgomery dans l’univers des big bands, sur les albums Movin’ Wes et Goin’ Out of My Head, saura combler les appétits les plus voraces. La soirée s’achèvera avec un choix de délicieuses confiseries musicales.

Basé à Ottawa et fondé en 2006, l’Ottawa Jazz Orchestra (OJO) réunit bon nombre des meilleurs musiciens de jazz et de musique symphonique du Canada, sous la direction du contrebassiste Adrian Cho. Cet ensemble hors du commun s’est attiré les éloges de la critique et les vivats du public pour ses présentations très divertissantes, à la fois novatrices et instructives, d’œuvres musicales de référence dans la sphère du jazz, interprétées par un éventail d’ensembles de différentes tailles.

Achetez vos billets pour les cinq concerts de la saison pour 140 $ (prix à l’unité : 165 $).
Achetez vos billets pour trois concerts de la saison pour 89 $ (prix à l’unité : 99 $).
Offert en personne à la Billetterie du CNA ou par téléphone au 613 947-7000, poste 620.

Un membre de l’auditoire de ce concert aura la chance de remporter un repas pour deux au Madisons New York Grill & Bar, où un trio de l’OJO se produit tous les samedis soirs. Pour savoir quels sont les musiciens qui se produisent chaque semaine au Madisons, consultez le site web de l’OJO : ottawajazzorchestra.com/#madisons.

Menu